We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome helpful staff and good food”
Review of The French Horn - CLOSED

The French Horn
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Warm welcome helpful staff and good food”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We reviewed this pub restaurant earlier in the year when we were on the look out a venue for a large family celebration dinner. We were going to be staying in the area and had chosen this on the recommendation of the owner of the place where we would be staying and because of the TA reviews. Although the food hadn't been perfect on our earlier visit, the venue and service had been very good and we thought our slight hesitation on the food could be a one off. So we booked it, 16 of us went for dinner in early May and it was all really very good. The pub sent us the menu some weeks before so that we could place our orders, and although it was pretty busy when we arrived, we hardly had to wait any time for our starters The rest of the meal followed at a sensible pace with time for us to enjoy the evening and the food. All in all a good choice and one to be recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, good service and reasonable food”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were scouting this area for a place for a large family do later in the year. The owner of the place we will all be staying in had given us the name of this pub as one of a list of possibilities, it had good reviews on TA and so we decided to book for Sunday lunch. It's a quirky place very close to the Kennet and Avon canal, more restaurant than pub with low ceilings and a mixed jumble of dining furniture. The varied menu - on a wall chalk board rather than printed - provided a good range of choice for most tastes. We went for the roast and only had to wait about 15 minutes before it arrived. The potatoes, veg and gravy tasted fresh with no hint of re-heat but the beef was a little dissppointing as it was very well done. When we mentioned this to one of the staff we were told that we could have requested the meat less well done, which would have been good to know before we ordered as normally. However, disappointing though that was, it is better than average and just a pity that there is not a "good" rating on this site. We will try again before the family do.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
599 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“A consistently warm welcome”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have eaten here on several occasions in recent years, usually on a Sunday lunchtime when the place is bustling and the atmosphere convivial. The menu is varied and of a high standard for pub food but we can never resist the roasts. Portion sizes are average but they are happy to provide extra veg and gravy etc for no extra charge. The meat is always cooked to perfection and the wine list extensive. Staff are friendly and efficient, even under pressure when it gets busy. The pudding menu is slightly more limited although their sponge pudding and creme brûlée is highly recommended. Would definitely recommend and will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StelucLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Birthday Lunch”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Took an elderly lady here for her birthday lunch. We were a table of 5 and the food was very good and at an acceptable price.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family outing”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Coming from Bath and its offerings, The Frech Horn is a natural stop that meets all to be expected for ambience, service and food.
On every occasion they have been 100%

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank derek c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Horn also viewed

 
Pewsey, Wiltshire
 
Pewsey, Wiltshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing