We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place”
other travelers have booked this property
The front of the manor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of the manor
Private Medieval Garden King Size Master Medieval Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
The front of the manor
Private Medieval Garden
King Size Master Medieval Bedroom
King Size Master Medieval Bedroom
Lounge
King Size Bedroom
12th Century Doorway
Double Bedroom with open fire
Victorian Bathroom
Victorian Claw and Foot Bath
Great Dining Hall
twin bedroom
breakfast room
Private Garden showing the side of the manor
Medieval Kitchen
Evening
Downstairs cloakroom
Double Bedroom
Hallway
Tower Room Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Caldicot, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
mattstran...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with a group of friends . Stunning building with great character.ideal for a large family or group of friends

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irina753
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“medeival accommodation indeed”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

It was a unique experience of staying in this house with amazing history. A lot of appreciation that life in medeival time was not that easy and simple. We had a lot of excersises in carrying trays with food and dishes upstairs to the dining area and then everything back for washing - downstairs to the kitchen. Kitchen is modern and well equipped as well as bathrooms. Apart from that, there was no shortage in various medeival experiences including piles of dust and spider webs in all corners. Area around the house is quiet and nice, and the castle grounds available for walk around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H
Baughurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Medieval 5 star manor”
Reviewed November 8, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I rented the Llanthony secunda manor house for a long weekend to celebrate with friends our joint 60th birthdays. From the tour of the Manor given by Becky the owner on our arrival we knew we would be in for an exciting weekend. The wonderfully restored manor is so interesting in its layout and must be a heaven for kids. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming and the house has all the modern comforts that the Tudors would have died for; lovely showers and bathrooms; a spacious and well kitted out kitchen. The highlight of our weekend was lighting a log fire in the baronial dining hall and having a murder mystery play. I will never forget the look on the poor girl's face who delivered a chinese meal for eight people to a medieval manor and seeing eight adults all dresssed up ready for the murder mystery.
Thanks Becky for making our celebration one to remember.
Ian & Sara Hanson

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: teh spaciousness and quality of the house
Liked least: needs more heating
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliC1970
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An experience not to be missed!”
Reviewed September 12, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We spent our extended family holiday at Llanthony Secunda manor this year and we all had a fantastic time. The house has been lovingly restored and is incredibly well equipped, we really wanted for nothing. The kids absolutely loved staying in such a fascinating place with spiral staircases, sloping floors and four poster beds,and the trampoline just made it extra special. We had a mediaeval evening for my birthday and dined at the long table which was a real experience! Llanthony Secunda is a fantastic base to explore the area. We visited lots of castles, the Roman settlement at Caerwent and also Carleon and St Fagan's museum in Cardiff which were all brilliant! Thanks for providing all the helpful tourist information. I hope we'll come back and stay again and would recommend Llanthony Secunda Manor as an excellent holiday stay or for that extra special weekend away with family or friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in September 2018
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing