We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chez Jallot
Nearby Hotels
Le Bellerive(Peyrat-le-Chateau)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Beauze(Aubusson)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de France(Aubusson)
$134
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Auclair(Gueret)
$61
$55
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$36
$32
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
135
12
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
12
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostsb bbeautiful countrysidemade us feelwarm hospitalityrelaxing stayrural franceevening mealadded bonuslocal arearestored housemany yearslarge roomwonderful placefrom australiathank you so muchcountry road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 149 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Fabulous rural location
Amazing weather
Beautiful beaches
Unctuous food
Lovely lovely hosts
Outstanding scenery
unparalleled relaxation
Superb holiday

In May 2006 we stayed in the B&B as a couple and vowed to go back.
In August 2013 we returned to stay in one of the gites with our 2 children and we vow to go back. Thanks Doug & Deni

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our first visit to chez Jallot was in September 2010, inspired by the Grand Designs Abroad series.
We had a wonderful stay on that occasion - and again in July 2013.

The house has been beautifully restored and is furnished, very appropriately, with French antiques. It also has all the modern touches we appreciate - ie great bathrooms and showers - and everywhere is spotlessly clean.

Deni is a keen artist and several of her lovely paintings and ceramics are displayed throughout the house. Doug is a musician and we enjoyed hearing him practice on his acoustic guitars, one of which he made himself last winter. Seriously impressive.

For anyone who missed it and wants to have an appreciation of the huge amount Deni and Doug have achieved, the original tv programme is still available via YouTube.

We were also welcomed by Jogi, a huge, benevolent dog who will bark to announce your first arrival and then treat you like family. There are also five cats who have an unobtrusive presence.

On our first visit we stayed in the Forest room and this time we were in the Hummingbird suite which has a copper bateau bath on a raised area within the bedroom - and a separate shower room/loo.

Deni and Doug are the perfect hosts and great company. Nothing is too much trouble.
Breakfast and dinner are served en famille, which is delightfully convivial, and the food is delicious, much of it being grown in their own potager.


The house is situated in a tiny hamlet, several kilometres away from the main road, and the whole area is peaceful and verdant.

Nearby Lac du Vassiviere provides opportunities for water sports, walking and cycling - and if you really want to visit a city, Limoges is within easy distance.
Aubusson is a pleasant town to wander around and there's an interesting museum devoted to the history of tapestry, for which the town is famous.
The area is dotted with gallo-roman sites and we found an amazing place at Cars, up on the Plateau de Millevaches at a height of 850m above sea-level.

We were lucky to be there at a time when there was a brocante fete in nearby Pontarion, with more than a hundred stalls selling a huge variety of goods. I managed to haggle in French and brought home a lovely pressed glass vase.
Also, in the nearest village, Vidaillat, we were privileged to attend a community dinner one night, with our hosts and other guests and friends. It was great fun; good company, delicious lamb and chicken - followed by fireworks.



The title of this review really sums it up for us - and we hope to visit again in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully appointed. See their website for details. There are also two gites for those who prefer to self-cater.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Like so many others, I saw this lovely B&B (the definition does not do the place credit!) on Grand Designs and was enchanted by it. When the opportunity to stay there came up on a trip through France I jumped at the chance. Deni and Doug were excellent hosts; very friendly and welcoming. The room was great, with a view over the countryside and the evening meal well worth the extra cost. Overall, I would definitely recommend Chez Jallot and will go again.

Room Tip: Email them with your requirements and they will recommend one
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Framfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Chez Jallot is in a great location - very rural (you definitely need a car to visit) and tranquil but not far from Bourganeuf, Aubusson, Lac Vassiviere and the wolf park near Gueret, all of which I visited during my 3 nights there. If you were staying longer and wanted to visit further afield there would be quite alot of driving involved due to the slow roads. Deni and Doug were very friendly and welcoming - as was Jogi the dog! People scared of dogs might be a bit wary of staying though as he is big and noisy, although a complete softy. The house and grounds were lovely and the rooms and rest of the house decorated and maintained to a very high standard. Breakfast was included and very good, evening meals optional but highly recommended - excellent food and very relaxed atmosphere chatting with the hosts and other guests - I liked this social aspect as I was travelling on my own. The other people staying were all British when I was there and I think the clientele are mostly British, Australian and Americans who have seen the place on Grand Designs. Overall good value for money for such high standard accommodation and a very enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: The Forest Room was lovely, overlooking the terrace at the back of the house, and very comfortable with a luxurious shower room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at this beautiful house which has been lovingly restored by Deni and Doug, they made us very welcome and provided lovely meals in the evening it was so nice to sit with them in the evenings along with fellow guests and hear all about the fascinating journey they have been on to make this house so special, I am sure that most people who visit ask the same questions but not once did we feel that it was a chore to them. We met some lovely people who were fellow guests some from as far away as Australia. Our room was the Master bedroom and it was beautiful I dont think I have ever seen a bigger bathroom, all in all a great place to stay thank you Deni and Doug.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews