We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chez Jallot
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Vidaillat
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
L'Air du Temps(Pontarion)
View Hotel
Le Bellerive(Peyrat-le-Chateau)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
La Beauze(Aubusson)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de France(Aubusson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auclair(Gueret)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
135
12
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
12
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostsb bbeautiful countrysidemade us feelwarm hospitalityrelaxing stayrural franceevening mealadded bonuslocal arearestored housemany yearslarge roomwonderful placefrom australiathank you so muchcountry road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 149 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed for 1 night before going fishing for a week.
Like pretty much all the guests that stay here we saw it in Grand Designs - we thought it was amazing from the show but the reality is so much better. Deni & Doug have renovated to such a high quality and make you feel very welcome.
We stayed in the master bedroom, views from the front of the house and a massive bathroom - absolutely stunning room and I would recommend this to anyone.
We also had dinner at the B&B rather than go out and were not disappointed, it was served in the living room / dining room as was a little chilly for alfresco, there were 13 of us for dinner all around 1 big table - some prefer privacy but i loved it, everyone chatting and sharing experiences, I don't see there would ever be a problem with this unless there was anything wrong with any of the guests. It was a four course meal and I couldn't have expected better from a restaurant - the food was wonderful, it is obvious that no expense is spared with the quality of ingredients.
The B&B really is in the middle of nowhere which was exactly what we wanted.
This B&B is well worth a stay and i'm sure that we will be back at some point.
Well done to Deni and Doug - they have produced something truly special.

Room Tip: Mater Bedroom was lovely with a huge bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppies96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Just arrived home after a week at Chez Jallot which we had wanted to visit since we first saw it on Grand Designs six years ago. It did not disappoint. A truly beautiful house with a comfortable relaxed atmosphere. We stayed in the Master Bedroom. A huge room with an impressive bathroom and beautiful views. Deni and Dougs evening meals were varied and delicious and we sat round the table with other guests enjoying good food,good wine and good company. Our hosts appeared to have the patience of saints as they answered questions every night from new guests about the house and Grand Designs, which presumably they have done since they opened! And all with good humour. The house is situated in heavily forested countryside, a bit of a challenge to find without a satnav, but so worth the effort, and Deni and Dougs local knowledge seems to know no bounds! If you are looking for peace and tranquility in and unspoiled setting, this is it. Rural France with little concession for tourists! Cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenandPaul-NYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We, like many others, have viewed Grand Designs and watched Deni and Doug's hard work to restore a beautiful property. It has been on our list of places to stay for some time and in June we booked the Hummingbird Suite for an overnight stay. Deni and Doug were wonderful hosts, the dinner was superb and the room was just out of this world. We hadn't visited the Creuse department of the Limousin and it is a real hidden gem. We can definitely recommend Chez Jallot - thank you Deni and Doug for making us feel so welcome. Roy and Paula B

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but the Hummingbird Suite has a French copper batch on a plinth in the bedroom.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Unfortunately we only stayed one night at Chez Jallot in May, on our way to Italy, as we would have loved to stay longer. Doug and Deni were perfect hosts and we were made to feel more like family than paying guests. Highly recommend the evening meal option, fantastic food and great company. In beautiful surroundings the location is perfect for escaping from the crowds. We stayed in the Forest room, the bed was so comfy and the shower amazing. We are planning on returning with friends and have already chosen the gite we want to stay in!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyandTonyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Amongst the nicest B&B experiences we've ever had. The peaceful setting, luxurious accommodations, and INCREDIBLE hosts, Doug and Deni, made our visit all we could have asked for and more. For anyone wanting to explore a slice of "real" rural France (hamlets of traditional stone houses, farmland and forests, rolling hills, and a beautiful lake nearby for cycling/walking/picnicking) we simply couldn't recommend Chez Jallot more highly.

Room Tip: The "Hummingbird Suite" is gorgeous - windows with pretty views at either end, spacious, quiet, beautifully decorated, and the copper bathtub in the centre - nicest B&B room we've ever stayed in.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews