We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food, great friendly family run bar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gielty's Clew Bay Bar & Restaurant

Gielty's Clew Bay Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Dooagh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great friendly family run bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

You would be hard pressed to find such a warm welcoming atmosphere as you get in Gieltys. The food exceeded our expectations, was fresh, tasty and delivered swiftly by friendly staff. It was very child friendly and my 5 and 8 year old were happily included in all the interactions and fun making the day especially enjoyable. A special mention must be given to Alan who was welcoming and friendly and so lovely with the children. I'm looking forward to visiting Gieltys again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank coug77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    50
    27
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Came to have a birthday lunch for my wife. Food and service excellent. Kids menu very good and great prices for what they got. Irish coffees were excellent too.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Thank goodness for Gieltys!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Virtually the only place on the island serving food while we were there - but the food was excellent, and the welcome warm.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Nice location, nice food, excellent concerts. Sometime there are trad sessions there. Been there at the Scoil Aacla week and it was very busy place. People came rhere to meet each other, eat, play at sessions and listening excellent concerts.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dalia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
303 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stopped off at Gielty's Clew Bay for some lunch.

We settled at a table in the bar after I got some menus from the bar. I went back up to the bar with the menus to order and was told to sit back at the table, someone would be over to take our order. No problem.

We waited 15 mins for order to be taken, then we left. It wasn't busy with people. At one stage after being told to wait at our table, the man behind the bar spotted us, I looked expectantly at him to see if this would help with getting our order taken, but no joy.

We then went to The Beehive up the road, where we were served immediately.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gielty's Clew Bay Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Keel, Achill Island
Keel, Achill Island
 
Dugort, Achill Island
Achill Island, County Mayo
 

Been to Gielty's Clew Bay Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing