We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, Maine
2 reviews
“Great service!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food and brews are fantastic!! The hot tub side service was just awesome!! Andy, the restaurant manager made our visit memorable took great care of our group. I wish I could give them a sixth star!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    58
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
84
60
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The whole family enjoyed our trip down the river and our stay in the hotel. All of the staff was very fun and helpful, rooms were nice, brewery and food was great, loved the hot tub. Would highly recommend this place to Anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaysmartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

You can feel safe and cared for as the Northern Outdoors Staff really makes the unique once in a lifetime experiences of rafting kayaking hiking etc., that much more enjoyable. Food was outstanding. Cell phone reception may be a big problem, but Wifi is available in main pavilion and if you have Skype that will work. Would recommend rental of the wet suite for rafting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFCARR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbardston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Northern Outdoors was wonderful. We went with a Boy Scout group and it turns out, booked our trip for the most busy day so far. Over 140 people on rafts! Northern handled it with finesse and even was able to pull off a fabulous meal for all of us along the River midway of our Rafting Trip. Our raft guide, "Nick" was great and he even went out of his way with one of older Boy Scouts to talk about earning the Eagle Scout Award and went on to give him advice on possible being a guide someday, complete with some cool paddling tricks! Very very pleased. I guess my only not so great, was that the outhouse near our site , was dirty and the light did not work. (I know, gasp!, but I am a mom) and there was a LOT of drinking going on at the lodge itself where the boys were enjoying the pool, hot tub and arcade area. But I suspect that had a lot to do with the extra large number of people there. Over all, the kids want to go back next year. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chickenlady184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2014

the staff was amazing and the guides were out of this world. I would recommend these guys to everyone. Thank you for a wonderful and unforgettable experience. The lunch on the rafting trip was unbelievable. Steak and rice.. The cowboy coffee and hot chocolate topped off the break. The wetsuits are recommend early in the year. The equipment was top of the line. And my video of the rafting trip was awesome... Can't wait to return again with the family

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armydad78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2014

There are better rivers to raft, there are more intense rapids, there are more convenient locations, and there are cheaper rafting trips, but Northern outdoors is consistently the most FUN rafting trip I do every year. The staff they are are friendly, fun, and professional at the same time. They get you your rafting video and photos immediately after your trip, and they know how to give you a good time. My group of friends from college has been going for three years now, we've been rafting together for a long time, but we all agree, northern outdoors is the best.

Really, it's the staff that work here that make it fun. The environment at the lodge and on the river is just a blast. The food is fantastic. The guides are hilarious. The experience is wonderful. This year my guide was Ashley, but I have been with Mark and Chris before (they were both on our rafting caravan though). They have all been great. I'll be back next year, along with all of us from UMD.

--Eric

Room Tip: Book early with a big group, get yourself a log cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell W, Owner at Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks Eric, for the review yesterday. We all try very hard to provide a top quality Resort & Rafting experience and it's always nice to receive recognition for our efforts.

I'll be sure to pass your comments on to Ashley.

We look forward to seeing you on the river again in 2015

Best,
Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed in one of the Lakeside Cabins, which was very clean and comfy. It had a beautiful view of the lake and was very quiet and peaceful, which was just what we were looking for. My only recommendation would be to come prepared with all the groceries you need if you plan to make use of the cabin kitchen as there are no stores anywhere nearby.

The full day rafting trip on the Kennebec was fantastic! The rapids were big enough to be exciting, but not so big to be scary, especially considering we had our two kids with us (ages 12 and 14). The guides were very fun and personable and the trip was very well organized and planned out - the lunch was great. I also appreciated the inflatable kayaks they provided for tooling around the calmer sections of the river - that was a nice bonus. This was our first trip to Maine and we would definitely come back to Northern Outdoors.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Forks
22.7 mi away
Herbert Grand Hotel
Herbert Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingfield
214 reviews
16.2 mi away
Bingham Motor Inn & Sports Complex
21.2 mi away
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carrabassett Valley
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
66 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
#2 of 2 in West Forks
15 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Sterling Inn
The Sterling Inn
#1 of 1 in Caratunk
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort

Property: Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort
Address: 1771 US Rte 201, The Forks, ME 04985-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > The Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in The Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Outdoors is a year-round adventure resort located in The Forks, Maine, only four hours from Boston. The company pioneered Maine whitewater rafting on the Kennebec, Penobscot, and Dead Rivers. Groups, families, and individuals enjoy affordable, fantastic adventure getaways. Relax at the big main lodge, onsite microbrewery, full service restaurant, 28 trailside and lakeside cabins and cottages year-round. Enjoy whitewater rafting, hiking, fishing, ATV trails, team building retreats, university programs, camping, snowmobile rentals and tours, and direct access to miles of trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Outdoors Hotel The Forks
Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort The Forks, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing