We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kennebec Whitewater - The Forks”

Crab Apple Whitewater
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in The Forks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Family owned and operated since 1983, Crab Apple Whitewater, Inc. offers over twenty different whitewater rafting adventures on rivers in Maine, Massachusetts, and Vermont. Our whitewater rafting trips range from mild, family rafting, geared for kids ages 5 and older, to WILD river adventures. Whitewater rafting, inflatable kayaking, and paintball offer great options to craft a unique and outstanding adventure experience. Comfortable overnight lodging, pub and restaurant complete the amenities at our Maine location. Join us as we celebrate over 30 years of whitewater outfitting in New England.
Baraboo, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kennebec Whitewater - The Forks”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our first trip with Crab Apple- a great all around experience. The feel of the family run business was there all the way from the reservation process through checkout. We had a great trip with guide Luke, who was a pro all the way. Robert and Chuck regaled us with stories as well, and put on a great post-rafting lunch. The setting is perfect- just check in and relax, as everything you need is close at hand. Looking forward to our next trip!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleraft, Owner at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thanks for the great review. So happy that our family business was what you were looking for - relaxed atmosphere with a great staff. You were lucky to have Luke as your guide - he is a 20+ year veteran of the Kennebec River and knows how to deliver a great ride!

Thanks again - see you in 2014 for the next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    5
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Pass this Up!!!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We just returned from a FAMILY vacation in Vermont with a full day stop at Crab Apple Rafting on Saturday 8/3/13. I can't so enough about how great the day was there as all of my family members wanted to stay another day and go again. Crab Apple is a class organization that is well run from top to bottom. We felt at home from the moment we drove into the parking lot, to obtaining the equipment, to the class held to go over the logistics of the ride. Then as the excitement rose, in steps Cheetos, aka Ginger aka Travis. We could not have asked for anyone better. If you choose to come here I would strongly ask for him if he is available yet all of the guides seemed to be fun loving people but Travis took us over the top. His excitement, energy, reassurance and commands were second to none as we paddled forward yet his whit was what set him apart. Travis kept everyone in the boat involved and we just hope he enjoyed it as much as we did. To top it off they have a great dinner after the tour back at the base camp to relive the great experience you just had

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lookingforDonHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleraft, Owner at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thanks for the great and thorough review. We try hard to make every interaction and contact of high quality and it sounds like you were pleased. To top it off, your river guide Travis is excellent. You were lucky to have him and I see that he gave you a great ride on the river.

Thanks again for the review. See you next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Family fun”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was the best time we had so far, we went there Saturday the 13 of July 2013, Sarah was our guide and she was absolutely great. My daughter was scared at first but not only did she make my daughter feel great, my daughter loved the time and wants to go back. Thank you for the great memory.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jrlastres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleraft, Owner at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
So glad you came back and had a great time on the river with your daughter. We know the first time can be intimidating in the big rapids, but sounds like your guide, Sarah, made everyone feel comfortable and excited. She does a great job for our family business and we're glad you got to spend the day with her.

Thanks for the review and see you next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“James is the best guide!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We planned a family/friend group to head up north. The drive was amazing and the trip only got better when we arrived at Crab Apple in The Forks, Maine. We checked in, checked out our rooms, about a million times better than I had imagined. It was quiet cozy and peaceful and far from roughing it. Next stop the bar at Crab Apple! What a great group of guys, polite, funny and knowledgeable, we were even more excited to find out the guides are there almost 24-7, bartenders, to breakfast, to the river then back for the cookout. This was great because we were really able to get to know our guide James. Great guy, great sense of humor and I have rafted before other places. Crab Apple and James are at the top!! If you go (which is a a must!) request James, tell him his Massachusetts fans sent you! -Marianne and crew!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleraft, Owner at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thanks for writing about "Big James". He is a great guy and our family business is lucky to have him and others that love what they do! Crab Apple Whitewater is run by family and our guide staff is our extended family. Glad you enjoyed your trip - tell your friends and we'll see next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahoo, Nebraska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We had a blast with this well run organization!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed over and white water rafted with this well run outfit. Rooms were cabin like but very clean with very comfortable beds. They served a great buffett breakfast the next morning. We were fitted for wetsuits and instructed with valuable information before we started. ur ride was fantastic and Our guide Jmaes took good care of us. we had a tasty grilled lunch after rafting and enjoyed reviewing the photos and film of our trip. alsonthe night we arrived on of our party had come down with a reaction to a bad clam and the staff was helpful and caring. it meant a lot to us! Chuck, his family and staff run a great operation!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleraft, Owner at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to tell others about our family business, Crab Apple Whitewater.
You were lucky to have James as a guide - he is exceelent at what he does.
Glad you appreciated and mentioned the organization and preparedness of our trips and staff. We work hard to be a well oiled machine.

See you next trip!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Apple Whitewater also viewed

 

Been to Crab Apple Whitewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing