We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Finchingfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Three Tuns Public House
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Popped in here for lunch and was immediately impressed. Pleasant surroundings, warm log fire, superb pint of Deuchars IPA (well kept and not too strong for the middle of the day) and a definitive plate of battered haddock and chips. Friend had the cod - equally fresh and delish. Polite, agreeable young man serving us and a decent cup of coffee to finish.

Not the most thorough road test but quite enough to mark this out as an excellent pub in one of England's prettiest villages.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank PaulHowardCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 52 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night at the Three Tuns and we could not rate it high enough

On arrival we received a very warm and sincere welcome from our hosts Mike & Maria, and during our stay nothing was too much trouble. From the start we were made to feel totally at home, Mike was a great source of knowledge regarding the very pretty village and it's surrounding area

The bedroom was very clean, well equipped and comfortable and we enjoyed a very peaceful nights sleep, our evening meal was a delight, the food was fresh, delicious and plentiful (especially the Eton Mess) and the mornings cooked English breakfast set us both up for the day ahead - all at a very reasonable rate

If you are looking for good old fashioned service with that extra little special touch I would strongly recommend the Three Tuns - You will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sanibelfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I dont understand one reviewer here who said it was unwelcoming...we agree with everyone else in that MIchael wasa great host and we had a great stay for my wife' s birthday. Nice big room, breakfast when we wanted it, and the night before we were invited to join in with the adhoc quiz, and later the kareoke, which neither of ushad done before. We sort odf rose to the challenge! Michael has a great voice and did a few numbers.

Yes, a nice place, with good down to earth folks. And what a lovely village!

Room Tip: To be honest the non ensuite room looked really nice too and the bathroom just opposite was gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in the large en-suite room, which was a very good size. Sadly the room was very noisy, the traffic just outside the window being only a few feet from my head. The bathroom was fine but lacked any complimentary shampoo. When we booked the room, we explained that I would be staying with my daughter, but on arrival found that the second bed had not been made up. When I requested a sheet for the bed, the landlady unwillingly handed me a crumpled and stained sheet whilst complaining about the washing. The breakfast was a traditional English fry up but of poor quality. Overall, I felt unwelcome, uncomfortable and didn't sleep very well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cilla h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a beautiful Pub in Finchingfield. We booked the room with en suite, which was very large, with a comfortable seated area, Sky TV, tea/coffee making facilities. The Landlord and his Lady Wife, could not do more for you if they tried. They were very attentive, without being overbearing. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were a really lovely couple.

We had an evening meal and breakfast. The cooked breakfast was really good, as was the smaller breakfast of toast and tea, which I opted for, having eaten a large evening meal at the Pub the night before!

I would thoroughly recommend this lovely pub for, the location, the warm atmosphere and the generosity of the Landlord and his Wife. The acid test ... would I return? most definitely!

Room Tip: I would always pay the little extra for the En Suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 99wallaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Three Tuns earlier in the year. We booked the room which faced onto the main room as it had an ensuite bathroom. The room was very large with a seating area and had Sky TV and was comfortable. Unfortunately the windows were only single glazed which made the room draughty and you could hear every car go by. The road is fairly busy which meant we woke up frequently and so had two disturbed nights. The breakfast was, however, excellent and the evening meal we had was also very good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoshiMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had a lovely meal at The Three Tuns. The owners were very helpful taking a last minute booking for 4pm on a Sunday afternoon and gave us great service even though they had stopped serving food for the day- we were a bit apprehensive as we had a long drive to get here to meet up with friends but we needn't have worried. The food was delicious, with lots of fish dishes available, and very reasonably priced with the entire 3 course meal, drinks and coffee for 4 people coming to just over £90. Lovely clean place, tasteful decoration and good music created a great atmosphere. Will be sure to visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Three Tuns Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Tuns Public House

Address: Wethersfield Road, Finchingfield CM7 4NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Finchingfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Finchingfield
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing