We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Finchingfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Three Tuns Public House
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really lovely”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a beautiful Pub in Finchingfield. We booked the room with en suite, which was very large, with a comfortable seated area, Sky TV, tea/coffee making facilities. The Landlord and his Lady Wife, could not do more for you if they tried. They were very attentive, without being overbearing. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were a really lovely couple.

We had an evening meal and breakfast. The cooked breakfast was really good, as was the smaller breakfast of toast and tea, which I opted for, having eaten a large evening meal at the Pub the night before!

I would thoroughly recommend this lovely pub for, the location, the warm atmosphere and the generosity of the Landlord and his Wife. The acid test ... would I return? most definitely!

Room Tip: I would always pay the little extra for the En Suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 99wallaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    3
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
19
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Three Tuns earlier in the year. We booked the room which faced onto the main room as it had an ensuite bathroom. The room was very large with a seating area and had Sky TV and was comfortable. Unfortunately the windows were only single glazed which made the room draughty and you could hear every car go by. The road is fairly busy which meant we woke up frequently and so had two disturbed nights. The breakfast was, however, excellent and the evening meal we had was also very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoshiMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had a lovely meal at The Three Tuns. The owners were very helpful taking a last minute booking for 4pm on a Sunday afternoon and gave us great service even though they had stopped serving food for the day- we were a bit apprehensive as we had a long drive to get here to meet up with friends but we needn't have worried. The food was delicious, with lots of fish dishes available, and very reasonably priced with the entire 3 course meal, drinks and coffee for 4 people coming to just over £90. Lovely clean place, tasteful decoration and good music created a great atmosphere. Will be sure to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We greatly enjoyed our stay at The Three Tuns.
A cheery welcome from a proper landlord.
A bar with great atmosphere and local beer.
Fish and chips as they should be
and what ginger cake!
The"Full English"-cooked just as we like it
which "set us up for the day".
A comfortable,traditional room (with Sky of course).
A shower that works well.
And all in such an English setting.
The village is very pretty -old fashioned
but with updates to everything.
We recommend the Tuns highly
and we will call in again next time we are in Essex

Room Tip: go for the en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ceepeebeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Just love the food, always hot, cooked to perfection and fantastic service.
Always made to feel welcome, my husband just loves the mixed grill, I love the chicken and Pork.
Looking forward to our next visit. this will be September and end October too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yorkshirerose1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My brother & I held our Mothers suprise 80th birthday party at the Three Tuns on 18th Feb. What a fantastic evening we had, there were approx 52 people in attendance and everyone had a wondeful time. Maria really did us proud with the food it was superb, and both Mike and Maria were wonderful hosts and of course we cannot forget Tina she did a marvellous job behind the bar-well done Tina you were great. Thanks again to all of you we cannot recommend you and your pub highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MintyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at the Three Tuns for a friends surprise birthday. On arrival we had a warm welcome. Mike and Maria have a lovely place, very comfortable, food is fantastic, bedrooms very clean and we all slept really well (or maybe it was the Guiness) Maria and Mike are great hosts and as we had elderly parents with us they were extremely considerate and attentive to our needs. Sharon,Danny,Val & Harry.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrs001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Finchingfield
4.9 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
395 reviews
7.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 4 in Braintree
374 reviews
4.9 mi away
Steepleview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#1 of 1 in Great Yeldham
209 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Three Tuns Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Tuns Public House

Property: The Three Tuns Public House
Address: Wethersfield Road, Finchingfield CM7 4NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Finchingfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Finchingfield
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing