We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Kinloch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grogarry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kinloch
Ranked #1 of 1 Grogarry B&B and Inns
Tadley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from Home”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My second visit to Wegg's very comfortable and perfectly run home in an idyllic setting on the edge of Loch Druidibeg ( a National Nature reserve ). Its a guest house where one is fed like a King ( or Queen ) and the perfect place to stay if visiting South Uist . On arrival one is greeted by Maxi, Wegg's tail-wagging Labrador who is no less enthusiastic than her owner who ( Wegg not Maxi !) can tell you all you need to know about the Islands. The beds are very comfortable, there is always plenty of hot water, the breakfasts set one up for the day ahead and Wegg's keenly anticipated dinners in the evening are delicious and a perfect end to the day. I have booked again for next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
44
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Never been to The Western Isles before but it is a must! Kinloch was our home for a couple of days and we were looked after admirably. An excellent loch at the bottom of the garden teeming with brownies against the backdrop of a magnificent hill.We were fortunate to see 3 stags come within 150 yards of the house and swim across the loch to the high ground!
Most comfortable bedroom and bathroom, with excellent locally produced food and all washed down by magnificent Chilean merlot! What more can you want....go for it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

A very comfortable room in a beautiful location. Wegg is a gregarious and generous host and meal times are very entertaining. Pick your own eggs for breakfast and take Maxi, the resident Labrador, for an evening walk to play with the Shetland ponies.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GuidoGallini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Another of my yearly trips to Kinloch and the high standards I have come to expect remain. This really is a B&B of the highest quality and I have no hesitation in recommending it, either as a fisherman as in my case, or as a great place to stay why ever you find yourself in the Outer Hebrides. The 5lb 4oz brown trout didn't do any harm to this years stay either!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROBTROUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Wegg had had a cancellation which worked in our favour as we only needed a one night stopover en route to Harris. This place is a gem, one of the few houses on the island surrounded by trees, which sets it apart from the rest. Wegg's home is very comfortable and full of interest and charm which reflects the well travelled, welcoming and agreeable host he is. Wegg's cooking and service was very good indeed and it was enjoyable to sit around the table chatting with him and his other guests. Maxi got along well with our dog...so all our party were contented. The view from the windows over the Loch towards the Three Peaks was dramatic and tempting.....if only we had had the time to walk them. We'll just have to come back then won't we!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamdora53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights at Kinloch in the middle of a tour of the Hebrides and were glad we hadn't used it as a quick stopover. The house is easy to find whilst retaining the feeling of being in the middle of nowhere. Our room was large and extremely comfortable with lovely views over Loch Druidibeag to the mountains (Thacla, Beinn Choradail and Beinn Mhor).
Wegg turned out to be an excellent and charming host and conversations with him could range far and wide (and late). We were assured of an excellent and filling breakfast, self-assembly packed lunches and a top quality evening meal (always welcome after a long day on the hills). Wegg's dog Maxi is also charming and well-mannered, refusing to enter the dining room when guests are eating.
Wegg is a keen fisherman and does much to accommodate other like-minded souls. However, if fishing isn't your thing, you will still be made very welcome and there should be plenty to engage you in the area if you appreciate nature, dramatic landscapes and local history.
You are definitely advised to spend more than a night here.

Room Tip: The large double room upstairs has the better facilities and views. However, a couple who only staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Quiet and clean. Very private. Wegg, the proprietor, is a most interesting conversationalist and his meals, both breakfast and dinner are truly world class. You have to experience it!!!!!!!!! Take him up on offers to provide dinner meals. They are well worth it. The quality, presentation and options are unbeatable. If you have any difficulty finding Kinloch, just ask a local. They will quickly give you the final directions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kinloch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinloch

Property: Kinloch
Address: Grogarry, Grogarry HS8 5RR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist > Grogarry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grogarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing