We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenshiel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Magoebaskloof
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenshiel Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Magoebaskloof
south africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

What a stunning place! Huge open fire in beautifully decorated bedrooms, the best linen, incredibly comfortable beds. Staff were unbelievably good. Food delightful, epic breakfast. We will be returning soon-we dropped in on the off chance they would have availability and they were so accommodating! Great price-I would have happily paid double! See you soon and big thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathwath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
29
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

If traveling from Pretoria to the Kruger Park area, the Glenshiel Hotel is a nice accommodation along the way. The staff is warm and welcoming. If there is a chill in the air, you will find a roaring fire in your room along with a comfortable bed. There is a nice variety of food and they will even prepare special requests with a little notice (the chef prepared Mopane worms for me). The grounds are set in the rolling hills and are perfect for a short walk.

If the opportunity arises, you will not be disappointed if you choose to spend a day or two at Glenshiel Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have stayed at Glenshiel twice in the last six months and my only disappointment is that it was for only one night each time as I used it as a stop on the way to the Kruger Park. the Hotel is located on a hill with magnificent views over the valley. and it's gorgeous when the mist rolls in. There are also gorgeous walks to be taken through the forest.
The service is impeccable - in fact the staff easily remembered us and we were given the same room we had previously stayed in, which is huge, lovely and quiet. On our second stay we were a large group, arriving at different times and the staff were so friendly and accommodating, waiting patiently until everyone had arrived before serving dinner.
The food is delicious with very generous portions. In fact be careful that you don't burst from all the food you get for breakfast.
I will certainly be back and this time I will stay for much longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Leigh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Glenshiel for one night on our way to the bush and what a treat. We were arriving late but the staff were extremely accommodating. A delicious 4 course dinner was served on arrival in front of a roaring fire. Service was spot on at all times. Comfortable beds with devine log fires. In the morning a delicious breakfast was served overlooking the mountains. I highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

During the long weekend we had a fantastic 3 nights stay at the Glenshield Hotel Great hotel, the hotel did not only had the tranquillity, lovely view, comfortable rooms but also the most professional staff.
Thank you to them for making us feel welcome and for the way they went out of their way to accommodate us and our little boy. The Glenshield Hotel staff proofed that service excellence is possible. The food was also out of this world - compliments to the chef.
You will definitely see us again in the future.
Thank you

Room Tip: The room we stayed in had a fireplace and we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David312583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over a long weekend in winter. Our first night we arrived at 9.30pm. We had phoned ahead to let them know and the excellent staff kept a table and the whole 4 course meal for us and served us in the dining room. Absolutely fantastic service the whole time. Staff were always friendly and helpful.

The rooms are large, clean and very comfortable. A newly laid fire awaited us every evening after dinner, which was amazing and very homely. Very peaceful and quiet surrounds with lots to do in the area.

Easy to find off the R71 a few kilometers past Haerntsberg. We highly recommend this great little gem of a hotel and will definitely be coming back here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Beautiful setting and accommodation. Old country charm. Rooms spacious and neat. Joe and Annanias took good care of us. The food was excellent. A good venue for a private function like a birthday of wedding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilsei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magoebaskloof
3.7 mi away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
12.2 mi away
Coach House Hotel & Spa
23.1 mi away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tzaneen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 6 in Tzaneen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bramasole Luxury Guest House
Bramasole Luxury Guest House
#1 of 1 in Magoebaskloof
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanford Lake Lodge
Stanford Lake Lodge
#3 of 6 in Haenertsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenshiel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenshiel Hotel

Property: Glenshiel Hotel
Address: R71 | PO Box 285, 0730, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Magoebaskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Magoebaskloof
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious 4 star all-inclusive country Getaway. Relax in style in the heart of the misty Magoebaskloof Mountains. 3.5 hours drive from Johannesburg or 30 minutes from Polokwane. 14 luxury rooms each with a romantic log fireplace and upmarket amenities. 4-course dinners and English breakfast included. Mountain and forest views. Outdoor activities include mountain biking, walking & hiking trails, a canopy tour over the Letaba River Gorge, birding, fly fishing, golfing, picnicking, quad-biking and horseback riding. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing