We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
76
56
38
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
56
38
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteakunderfloor heatinga la cartehotel groundsroad tripfamily roomthe hotel receptionloved our staypicturesque valleybeautiful positiondeluxe roomsuperb viewscomfortable accommodationbad weatherdining roompleasant experiencean update
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 194 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2016

One of the most dirtiest unkempt hotels we ever had to stay in. The walls and ceilings are blacken by mildew, the bedding, curtains and carpets are stained and filthy. The plumbing are terrible all 4 rooms we battled with taps not working properly. The one night we had to change rooms in the middle of the night due to a bath-tap that could not close. Hats-off for Jonas one of the Hotel staff members you tried his best to assist us as the manager was busy with a fishing competition and could not assist us.
Eating at the restaurant is also not advisable.
In the end we did get a partial refund

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Magoebaskloof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Magoebaskloof Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously when your needs have not been met as our aim is to ensure customer satisfaction.

We are concerned to learn of your disappointment with certain aspects of our service. Your comments have been forwarded to the Line Manager concerned for review. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience that you may have encountered on this occasion. You can be rest assured that we are constantly doing maintenance on the property. We are glad that Jonas our staff member where able to assist you.

We can only express the hope that it will not deter you from using the Orion Hotels and that your future stay will exceed your expectations.

Warm Regards,

Staff and Management
Magoebaskloof Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile

We were put up in the older part of the hotel. The room was very dirty, I found biscuits under the bed. An ashtray full of cigerettes outside our door. We were eventually moved to a family suite after complaints from our own family. The room was massive however we were disappointed to find that all the hair dryer were falling apart. Some even showing Live wires. The food was okay, they unfortunatly could not accomadate me with my nut allergy. Just about all the deserts had nuts in them. I wouldnt recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank JustinK1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016

We stopped at this hotel on a whim and found an excellent room with great views. The hotel felt tranquil, even though they were quite full. The bathroom amenities were great and I just loved the feeling of the room. The dinner however was dreadful and I complained to all the waiters and managers available. It was a buffet and people had to wait for food quite often to be replaced. The breakfast of the other hand was absolutely wonderful. The food tasted good and everything looked fresh.

Room Tip: The "houses" are a bit further away from the main hotel, but the views are great and it feels like you are in your own little apartment.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PierreDorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Magoebaskloof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Magoebaskloof Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously as it helps us to improve our services and customer experience. Your feedback is important to us as it helps us to maintain the standards we aim to achieve. Your comments will be reviewed by the Line Manager concerned.

We hope that when you revisit you will see the improvements. We value you as our guest at Magoebaskloof and do hope that you will grant us the opportunity of another visit to improve you experience with us.

Warm Regards Staff and Management
Magoebaskloof Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

Our arrival was welcoming and we received a friendly greeting from every member of staff we encountered. Friendly and efficient reception staff. We only stayed one night and I can only comment on the standard room we were staying in. There are several room types. Our room was spacious but unfortunately no view. Room was dated but spotlessly clean. Small safe provided in room. Nice guest amenities provided. In room coffee making facilities available.
The bar is cosy with a fireplace and live music. WiFi available in public areas only. Beautiful view over the valley from the pool area. Most rooms will have this view – be sure to ask for a room with a view.

Room Tip: Best views are the hotel rooms overlooking the pool and valley. There are rooms with no view, so be sure to ask.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Boschie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Magoebaskloof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review of Magoebaskloof Hotel. We are glad that you found our staff to be friendly and efficient. Excellence in customer care is extremely important to us.

We valued your feedback as it helps us to maintain the standards we aim to achieve and where improvement is required. Your comments will be reviewed by the Line Manager concerned.

We do hope to see you return in the near future for another wonderful stay.

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Magoebaskloof Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

We booked through booking.com and specifically asked for a room with a bath. We were shoved into some back buildings that you can see is atrocious. Regardless if they are doing renovations, this room was not at all up to par. The only thing that looked the same as in photos was the main building.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Arina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Magoebaskloof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

Dear Arina,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Magoebaskloof Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously when your needs have not been met as our aim is to ensure customer satisfaction.

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations with regards to the actual room standard. Your comments have been forwarded to the Line Manager concerned for review.

I can only express the hope that it will not deter you from using the Orion Hotels and that your future stay will exceed your expectations.

Warm Regards,

Staff and Management
Magoebaskloof Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews