We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magoebaskloof
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed at this establishment for 2 nights . The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is good value. The rooms could do with an update. They are however very spacious.
I would recommend this hotel for anybody who wants to get away from the city and wants value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magoebaskloof, Manager at Magoebaskloof Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Belinda,

Thank you so much for your kinds words.

I will pass your wonderful compliments on to the staff members involved in making your stay a pleasant one.

We look forward to having you back at our hotel soon.

Warm Regards
The Magoebaskloof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    42
    28
    12
    8
See reviews for
41
70
1
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Polokwane, Limpopo, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

vey good weekend away in this hotel with my coleques. I enjoyed it
We arrived to a great dinner on friday, joined by Jacques Slabbert the General Manager and other staff menbers.We were like 1 happy family like we always knew each other. A great service at the bar.
I had a peacefull goodnight sleep and i woke up to a wonderful breakfast with viriety of food.We took a tour to the waterfall, very challenging for fitness,but worth it.
The rest of the weekend went all excellent, I love it

Room Tip: very adventurous and has a very scenic and their room area is quieter and cool. I enjoyed the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kgadi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Magoebaskloof Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Kgadi,

It is with great happiness that we could invite you to be apart of our "Magoebaskloof family"... Your compliments will be passed onto all staff involved in making your stay a pleasant one.

We look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
The Magoebaskloof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 misty days. The room and bathroom were spacious with a balcony overlooking the swimmingpool. We were spoiled with heated rooms and a small nougat on our bed every night. Excellent breakfast/buffet dinners were served in the restaurant. The checkout was however real slow and frustrating - but overall we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJVDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Magoebaskloof Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your kind review, your compliments will be passed onto the restaurant and kitchen staff. We apologise for the slow check out process and will make sure this is dealt with accordingly.

We hope to see you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
The Magoebaskloof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a weekend getaway with my kids. I have to say that with the positive reviews I read before we checked in, my mind was at ease and I was not anxious. The biggest joy for me was the absolutely wholesome service and attention we received upon arrival and throughout our stay. We were checked into a small room and in which we just dropped off the bags as my kids were rushing to swim in the crisp looking pool. A gentleman from the hotel approached me whilst I was sitting at the pool to offer us a bigger room to accomodate us seeing that there were three of us. This was highly appreciated.

The buffet dinners in the restaurant were good South African dishes prepared in a very stunning and wholesome way.
The light meals during the day were of very good quality and taste even though it took a bit of time to receive the food after ordering.

We hired bicycles for a reasonable fee which kept the kids nicely and actively entertained.

All in all we had a lovely weekend surrounded by stunning views and hotel staff that understands and knows how to deliver quality service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSH010GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magoebaskloof, Manager at Magoebaskloof Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy to here that you enjoyed your stay we us.
We will pass your compliments on to our staff members as well as the kitchen staff.

We look forward to seeing you and your kids again soon.

Warmest Regards,
The Magoebaskloof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

What more to say than to agree with the glowing reviews of this hotel?! It was recommended to us by a friend, who said it was a must to stay there, even if for one night only. The hotel more than lived up to expectations: the setting, the charming style of the buildings, the rooms with wonderful views, the good food, the friendly staff - one couldn't ask for more. As the hotel was not very busy, we were upgraded to superior rooms, so that was an additional bonus. All in all, a great place we will recommend to our friends and to which we will return when we travel to this part of the country again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magoebaskloof, Manager at Magoebaskloof Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Danielle,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of our warm little country hotel. I will be sure to pass your compliments on to all of our wonderful staff.

We hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards,

The Magoebaskloof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I decided to write a review on Magoebaskloof hotel for the ... "whats the word"...
oh yes there isn't any to decribe the weekend we had at this exquiste hotel.
In absolute enjoyment I close my eyes at the thought of this delightful escape, I have spend with my good friends and amazing husband, with heart warming and friendly hosts and hostesses at Magoebaskloof hotel.
I would like to take this oppertunity to thank all the personelle for a wonderful weekend away. I would recommend to anyone looking for a escape from the busy city life.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magoebaskloof, Manager at Magoebaskloof Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Christa,

Thank you for your wonderful, heart-warming review. Your compliments and thanks will be passed onto all staff at the Magoebaskloof Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you and your friends back soon.

Warmest regards,

The Magoesbaskloof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

A sincere thanks to Jacques and his wonderfull team for making our weekend breakaway unforgettable. The rooms are spacious and the service execllent. A special thanks to the restaurant staff for the wonderfull meals. We hope to see you soon !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magoebaskloof, Manager at Magoebaskloof Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Lina,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review... We have spent a lot of time on our restaurant and the staff that make it stand out, we will pass on your compliments to the head chef and all the way down to the kitchen assistant, as after all it takes a whole team to make a fantastic customer experience.

We hope to see you back at Magoebaskloof soon.

Warm regards,

The Magoebaskloof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magoebaskloof
10.5 mi away
Coach House Hotel & Spa
20.0 mi away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tzaneen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 6 in Tzaneen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen
1.0 mi away
Bramasole Luxury Guest House
Bramasole Luxury Guest House
#1 of 1 in Magoebaskloof
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.8 mi away
Magoebaskloof Ruskamp The Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magoebaskloof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magoebaskloof Hotel

Property: Magoebaskloof Hotel
Address: R71 between Polokwane and Tzaneen, 0731, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Magoebaskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magoebaskloof
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magoebaskloof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the dramatically beautiful Magoebaskloof area, this charming country hotel offers guests a chance to enjoy an idyllic and relaxing break in the countryside. Arriving guests are welcomed by an attractive entrance square with a magnificent mural and bronze bust of King Makgoba. Beyond the square lies the expansive view of the legendary leader's famous valley. The Coffee Bean coffee shop has outdoor seating, as well as a comfortable indoor lounge with cosy fireplace. It serves all-day light snacks and meals, tempting cakes, gourmet coffees and freshly squeezed juice (in season). Walk through to the impressive Tlou Restaurant, where an extensive à la Carte menu will whet your appetite. The expansive balconies offer al fresco dining, with views over the fertile valley. The Phoenix & Fireman Pub has an impressively long cedar bar, and huge fireplace for those chilly winter evenings. Relax and enjoy the warm and inviting ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magoebaskloof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing