We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Hotel - Captive Clientel”
Review of Admiral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Admiral Hotel
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Geoje
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I'm not sure that I can add much to the previous reviews.
The hotel is dated but clean and the staff helpful.
On the positive side, there is good, free (unsecured) wifi throughout the hotel.
The breakfast is adequate.
Other than breakfast, I did not eat in the restaurants I either went to the Foreigners Club next door or to one of the many good restaurants a short walk away.
The professional photos on the review site must have been of a different hotel to the one I stayed in; mine was small with about a 300mm (1ft) between the bottom of the bed and the TV cabinet. I managed to gather a nice series of bruises on my thigh on the furniture due to the cramped space.
During the week I was there, the TV was relocated from the cabinet and attached to the wall and the suitcase stand removed and my case dumped on the floor. I went back one lunch time and found that, while this work was going on, all of the bedroom doors were left open - not very secure.
Typical for Korea, the A/C was switched on three times a day (I don't know what these times were). As a result, I slept OK for four hours then woke up soaked in sweat. The bed covering is a duvet with no top sheet so I'm hoping that this is changed at some time between residents (although I'm not confident of this).
I'm hoping to find another hotel for my next business trip which has A/C on demand but I'm not too confident.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Twristiaeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 70 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2012

A short walk to DSME makes this hotel ideal for business. I only ever ate in the bar restaurant once and this was just above average. The rooms are good and spacious albeit a little tired - good free and fast wifi and the beds are comfortable.

Disappointed that guests had to pay extra to use the well equipped Gym - 5000 Korean Won per day (about £2.75).

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the4poles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I've been staying a week on business at this hotel. Clean, no frills, but adequately furnished. Nestled among trees and hills in the background, the outlook is marred by the nondescript apartment buildings of DSME shipyard that are strewn around.

No concierge, bellman, or even a lift for that matter, but let that not deter you. The dining and cafe areas are spotlessly clean. Wireless internet in the rooms. If you need a taxi, you don't wait more than 5 minutes. There is a baking school in the basement and health club, though no swimmig pool.

The staff are all polite and well dressed. I wouldn't hesitate to come here again.

Room Tip: You can ask for a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YakobKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel around 10 times, on occasions haven't been able to check in owing to the hotel being fully booked. 3 great Restaurants , which caters for all tastes

Room Tip: Avoid the South side if possible. the cooling fans and generators are close. anywhere no p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken_taylor_Shields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This hotel needs a upgrade. Great friendly staff, ok breakfast for $ 15 but no elevator, some very loud rooms above kitchen, and they do not turn A/C early/late summer and rooms are quite hot.
I stayed here 5-6 years before and it wasn't quite as run down then as it is now.

Room Tip: stay away from rooms above kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airspeed_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This hotel is located near the DSME shipyard which is probably the only reason you would visit Okpo in South Korea. It is located close to the Okpo nightlife with lots of "foreigner bars" and English speaking restaraunts within walking distance. Next door is the DSME foreigner's compound with a supermarket for day to day supplies.
The hotel is clean but getting on in age. It does not have any elevators so ensure you are physically capable of carrying your luggage up a couple of flights of stairs. It has free wireless internet which fades in and out so skype calls are impossible to maintain. The deluxe rooms are large and clean. Standard rooms are tiny with no room to move around the bed. Pay the extra money and get a deluxe room!! The hotel also has a business centre and gym and three restaraunts to choose from.
If you have a spare day take a hike up the mountain track at the back of the hotel. At the top you get a great view of the mountainous terrain as well as both the DSME and Samsung shipyards in the distance.

Room Tip: Pay for the deluxe rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The rooms are small but clean. Close to many restarants and night life. Good place to stay for short term, but the rooms are too small for extended stays.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwstnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geoje
4.3 mi away
Samsung Hotel Geoje
Samsung Hotel Geoje
#1 of 30 in Geoje
122 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radiance Hotel
Radiance Hotel
#10 of 30 in Geoje
6 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Stanford Hotel & Resort
Stanford Hotel & Resort
#1 of 8 in Tongyeong
7 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Riviera Geoje
Hotel Riviera Geoje
#7 of 30 in Geoje
9 reviews
0 mi away
Artnouveau Suite Hotel
Artnouveau Suite Hotel
#4 of 30 in Geoje
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Hotel

Address: 16, Seogando-gil, Geoje, Gyeongsangnam-do 53227, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gyeongsangnam-do > Geoje
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Geoje
Price Range: $91 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing