We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Estrella del Alemar
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loredo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We have been to region a couple of times before but this is the first time we stayed here. It is a lovely hotel. The staff are friendly and the rooms are comfortable and squeaky clean!
Our room looked out onto fields and in the distance, mountains - it was very quiet. There is a bar and a TV (seemed permanently tuned to football).
Breakfast is of the "continental" variety - toast croissants coffee fruit cereal orange juice but at 2.50 Euros - well worth it and served at civilised times 8-11am.
It is a short walk to the beach at Loredo which is lovely, there are some restaurants and bars but better to walk along beach to Somo where there are much more and the ferry to Santander- which is fun - We will definitely go back there when we are in the region!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julieomaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 127 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2009

Excellent hotel built 3 years ago, spotlessly clean, lovely rooms and nice quiet location. The breakfast is basic, fruit juice tea/coffee toast and fruit. Couldn't fault the hotel, the owner/barman/receptionist is Alessandro is a lovely man who goes out of his way to be helpful. It is a very quiet area with a couple of bars and bistros about 100mtrs away. The beach is magnificent and only a short stroll away with fabulous crashing surf. You can be a bit isolated though as when we enquired about a taxi non were available . The buses run about every hour apart from siesta when they are off the road for two hours. The bus stop is about 500mtrs from hotel but a trip to Santander is recommended. It costs about 3.50euro one way. Better still catch the ferry to Santander from Somo. Walk along the fab beach to Somo (about 2 kilometres) it takes around 25 minutes to get to Santander and is slightly cheaper around 2.20euro each way. Somo has more bars and restaurants than Loredo but if you miss the last bus back to the hotel and you cant get a taxi then it's the walk along the beach again. You need to brush up on your Spanish when staying here as hardly anyone speaks English, you can get by though.I think we have become too accustomed to expect everyone to speak English. Alessandro back at the hotel can speak a little English and is more than happy to advise on where to go and what to see. When over in Santander walk along to Sardinero (about 2Km) there are plenty of places to eat and drink here, such a beautiful place and a really picturesque walk along the seafront. All in all I would return to the Estrella Del Alemar nut maybe next time I would hire a car. Thanks for a lovely couple of days Alessandro, I really enjoyed my Spanish lessons with you.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

I stayed here for 3 nights. It is about 10mins walk from the gorgeous beach of Loredo.Very quiet location, it has an outdoor pool and seating area. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the hotel is newly built. Breakfast is available in the hotel and is very good, fresh fruit, tea or coffee and juice plus fresh toast and croissonts. The service is exceptional and you really feel like you are the only guest!!Highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank deeom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La mía estaba en la primera planta y no tenia terraza, pero vi que en la última tenían terraza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Idoia193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marcooo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Domin1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Begoña M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loredo
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bemon Playa
Hotel Bemon Playa
#3 of 3 in Somo
97 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Pasiega
Hotel Villa Pasiega
#1 of 4 in Hoznayo
414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Torres de Somo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Apartamentos Villa Pasiega
7.8 mi away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
304 reviews
3.5 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estrella del Alemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estrella del Alemar

Address: Calle Abajo, 11 | Ribamontan al Mar, 39160 Loredo, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Loredo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loredo
Price Range: $58 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Estrella del Alemar 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Estrella del Alemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing