We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Villa Le Ortensie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Villa Le Ortensie
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We were looking for a quiet place for a long week-end on the Como lake with my girl friend and it is difficult not to be overwhelmed by the offer on Internet. This time, we had a great chance to choose this B&B.
- the view is just crazy. If you ask the room "lago", you will have an amazing view on the lake from both the bedroom and the bathroom.
- The couple living here is so nice, the best host we could dream of
- The place is really quiet (not on the main road from Como to Bellagio) and only 15 mn from the centre of Como
- The breakfast is really good and abundant (and we are French ;-)) with ham, cheese, fresh fruit salad, home made cake, yogurt...
- The rooms are clean
- The price are not that high (95€/night end of April) compared to what is seen on the lake.
To be recommended without hesitation!

Room Tip: Room "lago" is top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLEMENT W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seoul13, Proprietario at B&B Villa Le Ortensie, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Hello Clement,
Thank you for your review about our B&B. I wish to remind you that we have just started a new season with many improvements on the house, new floor on the terrace, renovated rooms and new furniture.
Last but not least, we have now 2 very kind ladies managing the B&B and serving delicious breakfasts and dinners.
We hope to see you again sooner or later in B&B Villa Le Ortensie.
Best wishes
Giorgio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    29
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
108
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

A really delightful B & B. Room very clean and spacious with a decent sized bathroom and incomparable views across and along Lake Como. Hosts very friendly and helpful. Cars cannot go to the villa but luggage transfer was arranged very quickly and efficiently by hosts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HELLEN M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holte, Denmark
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had a few problems around administrative stuff. They had lost our reservation done months in beforehand. They solved the problem, but it has an impact on our evaluation.
The price is pretty high as a B&B site compared with small hotels in Northern Italy.

Room Tip: Original furnitured rooms, most of them with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarsKristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

This is a lovely villa overlooking Lake Como in the hamlet of Molina, about 35 minutes south of Bellagio and 20 minutes north of Como. The proprietors, Dino and Bernadette, are delightful and helpful. You really get the feel of being a welcomed guest at an Italian country home. You are not going to get the same fabulous experience at any of the large Como-area hotels. Without a doubt the best aspect of this B&B are the breathtaking views of the lake. Very Italian and tiny, Molina is about 10 minutes up the mountain from the main road. It is a great respite from tourist overrun Bellagio, Como, Tremezzo and Mennagio. There are two small trattorias and not much else, but a terrific atmosphere.There are additional places to eat in Torno and other nearby communities.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandsnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We had a fabulous 4 days in Villa Ortensie. Bernadette and Dino are the most gracious hosts. Bernadett's cooking was wonderful using fresh local produce. The Gorganzola was to die for. It is a 10 min scenic walk from the car park which is good exersise after all the food you eat in Italy. Our room was spacious, clean and blissfully quiet. Breakfast on the terrace with magnificant views over Lake Como is a great way to start the day, why would you want to leave? We stayed as a couple.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaolinaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

The villa Le Ortensie is located in an old village of Molina di Faggeto Lario, which sits app. 3 km off the main tourist track, happily ignoring the passing of time. Everything in Molina seems to be made of stone: the narrow streets, the stairs, the buildings and fences; however, this little village is far from cold or dreary. It is a very quiet, undisturbed, full of character place, and friendly locals make you feel welcome. Make sure to explore Molina, including those luscious hills that surround it.

Molina's remote location means that hiring a car will give you more flexibility. Get the smallest car on offer, because the roads around Lake Como are VERY narrow. Otherwise, take a photo of a bus timetable as soon as you arrive and buy few tickets from Bar Itipitipici next to the carpark. It will save you the hassle later. If you come by car, you will need to leave it in one of the carparks on each side of the main road. Only few local cars can squeeze through the narrow streets of Molina. One of those belongs to Angelo, who will take care of your luggage and show you the way to Le Ortensie. Angelo is a quirky, cheerful and unforgettable character.

The villa Le Ortensie is younger than the village itself, and we loved everything about it: the vintage beauty of the building and interiors, beautiful gardens and clean, comfortable rooms and facilities – and of course, the VIEWS. Tasty breakfasts in a cosy dining room, and an option for having delicious dinners cooked on the premises and served on the terrace by our wonderful hostess Bernadette, put Le Ortensie on top of our favourite places we stayed in.

Apart from yummy food (including freshly-baked cakes), Bernadette will also offer you helpful tips about attractions of Lake Como and beyond (she knows Venice very well too), in Italian, French and continuously improving English.

There is no shortage of places to stay around Lake Como, but we'll be going back to Molina and Le Ortensie, because four nights were not long enough to fully appreciate their beauty and tranquillity...

Room Tip: Book early and hire a very small car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IzabellaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

Very nice B&B to stay and relax! Giorgio and Bernadette are so nice people. It was amazing to enjoy the view to the lake an of course Bernadettes Dinner ;-)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calla01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molina di Faggeto Lario
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Orso Bruno
Hotel Orso Bruno
#1 of 1 in Carate Urio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
5.0 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 33 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
4.5 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Villa Le Ortensie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Villa Le Ortensie

Property: B&B Villa Le Ortensie
Address: Via Mario Prada 8, 22020 Molina di Faggeto Lario, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Molina di Faggeto Lario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Molina di Faggeto Lario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is housed in a pleasantly situated villa, its balconies all face towards the Como branch of the lake. Thanks to its proximity to Bellagio, our romantic bed and breakfast is the ideal starting point to discover the most delightful places of the lake, all easily reachable by car or even better by boat. The rooms lovely furnished along the years, create a refined and cosy atmosphere that brings you in another time. Quiet and relax are assured by the garden that is disposed in terraces, offering green romantic spots. Take the opportunity to spend an unforgettable staying in the most relaxing, romantic and cosy Italian B&B. You will feel among friends in a familiar, warmly, atmosphere that will transform your holiday on a fabulous event full of pleasant souvenirs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your B&B Villa Le Ortensie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Villa Le Ortensie Lake Como/Molina Di Faggeto Lario, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing