We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B Villa Le Ortensie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2011

wherever you look, it is beautiful. Begin by parking you at the bottom of the village, then walk through the mediaval village (or ask for the 83-year-old baggage handler who will pick up your luggage in its fiat panda, the only car which passes in the narrow alleys). You are already seduced. When you meet your hotes (for us Bernadette and Dino) you are conquered. But when you taste Bernadette's cooking, you fall adicted
The house is old and it also makes its charm. Here no renovation with placoplatre of PVC windows: floors crack, voices cross ceilings... It is necessary to keep quite

Room Tip: ask for the lago room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xvds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 209 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2010

I will higly recommend the Villa Le Ortensie for your accommodation primarily for the hosts Giorgio and Carolina. They are very kind and this really added a lot to my experience. thank you Giorgio and Carolina... I will be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George_Ilias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Le Ortensie was a real ‘find’ in helping us to fully experience Lake Como.

Its physical location gave it - from the terrace, the breakfast room and certainly our bedroom - incredible views across and/or along the length of Lake Como. Being located in the village of Molina, which is off the tourist track, means you can observe and participate in village life.

The house itself made us feel as if we were really living in the village – not a tourist trap, not prettified or ‘restored’. It is freestanding, on the edge of the village and has the patina of age and use, yet our room had a good bathroom and was very clean. It felt authentic. Our room on the lower level was quiet, had a view through the flowering wisteria to Moltrasio on the opposite shore of the lake - although probably not as good as the view from the 2 floors above.

During our stay our host Pina, helped by her husband Patrick, provided excellent sightseeing advice, ferry timetables, made a booking at the local restaurant for us and prepared beautiful breakfasts – probably the best of the six northern Italy B&Bs we stayed at during May and June 2010. While our host was not fluent in English (being a native French speaker) we communicated adequately despite our lack of both French and Italian.

Molina is close to Torno, the nearest waterside village, from which we got the ferry to Villa Carlotta. The ferry’s route, especially along the steep eastern shoreline, is very scenic with the village of Nesso and its waterfall our pick.

If travelling by car and you are not used to negotiating very narrow and heavily trafficked roads with corners of houses projecting into the roadway, alternately single lane/dual lane, be prepared to do so for the 11km from Como to Molina. It certainly woke us up after the preceding 24 hour flight and easy drive from Malpensa airport to Como! However, once knowing what to expect we had no trouble driving to Como a number of times from which we visited Villa Olmo and the funicular railway up to Brunate.

You need to be ready to turn off the road into one or other of the two small carparks on each side of the road when you get to Molina as it comes up quickly around the twisty road. Pina arranged for one of the locals to pick up our bags (for a 5 week trip) in a Fiat Panda which with only a couple of mm to spare squeezed down the 500m of cobbled village roads to the B&B.

This B&B is well worth the effort in getting to it - and I haven't even mentioned the walk through the forest on the other side of it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LongPaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

This is what we wrote to the couple running the place:

Dear Giorgio and Carolina
Having stayed at the villa Ortensia several times I and my wife would like to tell you a lttle bit about our impressions from those stays. And, if anyone asks, we would without reservations recommend others to experience your high quality, yet not expensive B&B.
Apart from the warmth displayed by you, ,the house itself, the surrounding areas offer a number of unique experiences. From the big terrass you have the most spectacular view over a large part of Lago de Como and the opposite side.Nearby the many small villages serve genuin local meals and venturing a bit further along the shore you find Bellagio and it's renown restaurants and parks. The town of Como intrieged us as well with it's rich history. For people like us, who look for peace and tranquility, Villa Ortensia is perfect, no traffic ,no shouting just the bees and the flowers.

Lena and Jan

Stayed: September 2008
Thank WAKTMEISTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

This was an outstanding b+b! The location, the view, the service, definitely give it a five star in my book. We are planning to go back and stay with them when we visit Lake Como again. We all loved the century old town, and the way everything seemed preserved. (Because the streets are very narrow, cars must be parked at the bottom of the hill). The walk though town to the b+b is excellent, though. One night we heard the local band practice, and another we passed by an outdoor party at the local restaurant. If you are looking for character and peace, this should definitely be on your list!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Adina-Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

The quiet and cosy B&B is located in an old Italian villa ca. 500m above Lake Como in the ancient, cobblestoned village of Molina di Faggeto (off the main road between Como and Bellagio). A car is recommended but there is a public bus from Como as well.
The upper rooms (ask for one of them) and the terasse enjoy a tremendous view over the lake and the opposite embankment.
We stayed there for 14 days and enjoyed every one of them, You feel like home from home, the multilingual hosts are extremely friendly and the breakfast is rich.
You can easily go to Como and Bellagio, explore the lake (boat from Torno) or talk long walks or hikes in the surrounding forests. All in all a perfect spot for a quite and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

10 km from Como, nearby Molina's village, the Ortensie is a bed and breakfast hung in the mountains facing the Como lake.
The nice old villa is located in a dead-end, isolated and very quiet!
Park the car in the village then walk across the small streets for 5 mins and there you are.
The rooms,the interior and furnitures are still in the old 1900 italian style, very pleasant and authentic!
Our room was on the second floor, nicely decorated facing the lake that you can contemplate from the small balcony.
The view is simply breathtaking!
A terrace welcoms you every morning where the heaty breakfast is served by the owners.
We liked the location, very central, 15 min from Como by car, 5 min from the lake's beaches!
Milano is as well very close, 1h from Como by train!
The rooms are very comfortable, depending on the room you have you must share the bathroom or not.
Two restaurants in the village, which is convinient when you don't want to move too far away in the evening.
The owners, very friendly will kindly welcome you in this wonderful place almost in the language of your choice and will not hesitate to bring you all the informations you need concerning you stay.
We just fell in love with that place!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leclercqeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molina di Faggeto Lario
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
837 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
797 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
952 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#1 of 7 in Gravedona
279 reviews
6.8 mi away
Nest On The Lake
Nest On The Lake
#1 of 9 in Lezzeno
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Villa Le Ortensie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Villa Le Ortensie

Address: Via Mario Prada 8, 22020 Molina di Faggeto Lario, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Molina di Faggeto Lario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Molina di Faggeto Lario
Price Range: $128 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is housed in a pleasantly situated villa, its balconies all face towards the Como branch of the lake. Thanks to its proximity to Bellagio, our romantic bed and breakfast is the ideal starting point to discover the most delightful places of the lake, all easily reachable by car or even better by boat. The rooms lovely furnished along the years, create a refined and cosy atmosphere that brings you in another time. Quiet and relax are assured by the garden that is disposed in terraces, offering green romantic spots. Take the opportunity to spend an unforgettable staying in the most relaxing, romantic and cosy Italian B&B. You will feel among friends in a familiar, warmly, atmosphere that will transform your holiday on a fabulous event full of pleasant souvenirs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your B&B Villa Le Ortensie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Villa Le Ortensie Lake Como/Molina Di Faggeto Lario, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing