We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world.”
Review of Alsisar Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alsisar Mahal
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alsisar
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
359 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,317 helpful votes
“Out of this world.”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous. Away from the madding crowd lies this magnificent Palace Hotel.
Very well run, with competent and friendly staff. The rooms are great and spacious. The Food is very good and the dining room a dream! Far too brightly lit for European taste, but magnificent None the less. Lovely pool are to relax or have lunch. The village guide the hotel organised was not good at all, he only wanted to sell us some rubbish that he supposedly dug up. He is a caretaker of a rundown Haveli in the village. Don’t bother with him. Otherwise ENJOY!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frequenttraveler031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    72
    42
    5
    7
See reviews for
51
90
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a place where you experience how Rajasthan must have felt like years ago! You live in a real palace, rooms are spacious and non-modern in a very nice sense. If you are bored with all those places, which are nice, but without a soul, then come to that little village Alsisar and experience how the Thakur of that place have lived about 50 years ago. No - we are not talking about a museum, which looks old but behind the curtains is new. We are talking about a old fort building, with old furniture and a extremely nice atmosphere: far away from the Rajasthan caravan of tourists, far away of noise and modern life.
No it is not 5 Star. Simply because those days they had a different understanding of stars. No, the food is not nouvel cuisine and pan asia. It is just Indian but nice. No, you wont find a large flatscreen in your room and highspeed internet, but you'll find a nice salon, where you can play table tennis or watch TV on a large enough LCD to make you happy. We'll find WLAN in the lobby and when you sit in this really impressive hall you might forget, that you came to use the net, and will just be stunned by the room and its decoration and history. And - you'll find extremely nice personell - which is helpful and friendly by heart - not by your bank account.
Go there - but don't tell anybody else - you might destroy this little wonder!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pkabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Mahal, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We enjoyed serving you and sharing our history with you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. Thank you so much for taking out time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This property is pretty, i'll give you that, but there is a reason why it doesn't come together as an experience to remember fondly. Without citing all the incidents here's what you need to be prepared for:

1) Rajasthan is only tolerable in terms of temperature in the rains (July Aug) and during this time, aside from the complicated way to get there, you tavel 250kms from Delhi, on non-existent roads, with craters filled with water ruining your much loved car and possibly causing you to turn back if you have a small car or take many many many detours to get back on the road to this place.
2) The reason I bring this up is you'll spend a good 7+ hrs getting here in really bad driving conditions to a place that's no doubt pretty but with a lot of rude restaurant staff that doesn't care about the guest "experience". They argue, fight over petty things and saying no is not a problem for them, everything we asked for 90% of the time resulted in a "No, we cannot change your room if its too small" (even though they only had about 10 of the 51 rooms occupied) and it took them 8 hrs and 3 reminders to send me milk for our tea in the room. Small things but they add up when you have staff that really makes this a bad "experience" to the extent you wonder what you were thinking. The property pics will get you there but it doesn't guarantee you a relaxing heritage experience if you're expecting to be treated with care and respect. They're nothing like we're used to in 4/5 star hotels. The waiters argue, talk back and have expressions that do not lend to this being a pleasurable stay.
3) Even if you tell the nice reception host about this, they do nothing, they don't talk to the staff member, or train their staff to extend a welcome to the tired and stressed. There are a lot of places one can go to with way way way better connectivity (read: actually has roads) with just as much history and to truly relish a fort. This place doesn't have a tour or a history of itself that they tell guests about so this is just a LOT of effort for a few memorable pictures you'll bring back with you.
4) They are disorganized and because they have other guests (20 more at the time) they just didn't care about individual guests (and we had 2 rooms) or how they were catering to the "non-group". HORRIBLE!

In closing, hats off to my husband for letting our sedan go thru what it did on this trip, this trip is definitely a wear on your car and the person driving since it took us 8 hrs getting there and another 8 getting back. We were told we took a bad road (google map'd) and to back another way which was EVEN worse! This could easily be someone's idea of a cruel joke when you go through miserable conditions to get there and then be treated disrespectfully. All in all a bad experience. For people planning this trip, my advice is be ready to traverse one lane roads for 50+ Kms and 100 Kms of cratered roads filled with water upto the bonnet in multiple places and extreme driving conditions due to a lot of factors. In summary, this was the worst trip we've had.Ever, i'd forgive the driving conditions if the hotel staff could only take care of the guests that get there with a LOT of effort, wear and tear and excitement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenEyedPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We celebrated New years eve in the most magical surroundings. A Heritage property converted to a beautiful hotel, is a true depiction of the royalty and traditions of Rajasthan.

The staff is very well informed and provides excellent service. The owner takes personal interest in each and every individual guest's need, which makes the experience even richer !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SasyaAnanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Mahal, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with other travellers. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the property for the New Years Eve! This was the best choice we could have made for places near Delhi.

We took the train from Delhi and was very convenient to reach the destination. The hotel sends cars to be picked up from the railway station.

This heritage property is excellent for anyone looking for family or friends getaway. The staff id very well informed and provides excellent service.

The owner takes personal interest in each and every individual guest's need.

The food is prepared fresh and the quality and taste is out of the world.

THIS PLACE IS AMAZING !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandiraShastri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Mahal, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for a lovely feedback. We try very hard to serve our guests and ensure they get the best of everything here. Thanks once again. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for only one night (regrettably!) during December 2012 as a stop over to Jaipur. We drove for hours on the bad roads to get here and this perfect magical place is truly in the middle of nowhere in a dusty little town which is only a dot on the map.
The place was once a palace for the royal family and is perfectly preserved and the portraits of all the Maharaja’s are truly impressive. The ornate reception and dining halls are truly something to see. It almost feels like you're staying in a museum and you expect someone to come and tell you they're closing for the night at any moment! The pool area is wonderful and the gardens very nice.
We caught the place at a quiet time and we were upgraded to the honeymoon suite. It was big enough to host a ballroom dance competition in and the furnishings were exquisite. The shutters opened up onto a view of the village below and it was easy to imagine that a prince once stood here surveying his kingdom. We saw some of the other rooms in passing and they are all different and interesting with little courtyards or private sitting areas.
Dinner was lovely and the food was very authentic and quite hot. The staff couldn't do enough for us and we truly regretted only using this hotel a stopover when it deserves to be a destination in itself.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is really nice if it fits your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Mahal, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your warm words. They mean a lot to us. It has always been our endeavour to provide quality service to our guests so that they can take back wonderful memories. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our hospitality. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I visited this mahal for my nephew who is in usa and wants to reserve this entire mahal for two days for his mariage which is to take place in dec 2013 this mahal is so good and rooms are very large and too good they havve maintained so well no words to expres i was there just for few hours only .this place one must visit and one must stays for three four days and it not expensive as it is worth you pay for stay and staff of mahal is very co-operative and sweet this mahal is too good for honey mooners and also for the family get togeter

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pramod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Mahal, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We cannot be grateful enough for your wonderful words, but let us start by Thank You. Your appreciation means a lot to us. Thank you once again. We look forward to welcoming again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsisar
19.2 mi away
Castle Mandawa Hotel
Castle Mandawa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Mandawa
761 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indra Vilas
Indra Vilas
#2 of 2 in Alsisar
118 reviews
23.5 mi away
Vivaana
Vivaana
#1 of 14 in Mandawa
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Heritage Mandawa
Hotel Heritage Mandawa
#10 of 14 in Mandawa
445 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Desert N Dunes Mandawa
19.2 mi away
Malji Ka Kamra
Malji Ka Kamra
#1 of 4 in Churu
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alsisar Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsisar Mahal

Property: Alsisar Mahal
Address: Alsisar Village | District Jhunjhnu, Alsisar 331025, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jhunjhunu District > Alsisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alsisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alsisar Mahal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alsisar Mahal is the most recent addition to the Alsisar Group. This magestic palace is situated in village Alsisar which is 23 kms from district headquarter 'Jhuhjhunu' in Rajasthan. This region, known as “Shekhawati,” is renowned for its wall frescoes. Meticulous care has been taken while refurbishing this heritage fort so as to revive it back to its original glory. The Alsisar Mahal showcases the rich heritage of the Shekhawati region of Rajasthan. The regal magnificence of the architecture of Alsisar Mahal and the splendour of its beautifully decorated interiors are as unique and captivating as is its history. The walls incorporate traditional wall painting, using vivid colors and patterns. Its expansive paved courtyards with quaint lawns and time aged trees lend it distinctive character and it enchants you in its spell, transporting you to the romance and grand style of another world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alsisar Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alsisar Mahal Hotel Alsisar
Mahal Hotel Alsisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing