We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Village hospitality”
Review of Indra Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Indra Vilas
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alsisar
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Village hospitality”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel is unexpected and charming. A village of contrasts. Camels, donkeys, poverty, state-funded primary education and then the havelis with intricate painting, ornate decoration and calm interiors. The Indra Vilas has large, cool rooms with eccentric plumbing, all looking onto a central courtyard. The swimming pool and gardens are very well maintained. The restaurant food and service is good, well priced and friendly. There is no wi-fi connection at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flutesdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    51
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
51
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

It's in a village named Alsisar in Shekhwati. We stay for 01 night and it's quite, nice and calm. After visiting some big cities this is our first experience to stay in such a small village it's incredible, enjoyed it! Staff is very friendly, good food, neat and clean haveli!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZEKAKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Indra Vilas, is no doubt one of the largest and most beautiful Havelis in Alsisar, Shekhawati Region of Rajasthan. We had heard great reviews about this place from few of our friends and office colleagues. The place is not too far from Gurgaon, about 225 kms and takes around 4 hours if you leave at a good time in the morning and not take too many breaks.

Indra Vilas is a gem and the best one in the area. The others are either too expensive or not as beautiful as this place. This is perfect value for money. The haveli has a large compound, more than 10 acres, very well maintained, green areas, beautifully maintained old painted walls. Reminds of a prosperous bygone era when the wealthy trader owned this... and now bought and restored by the present owners who run it as a beautiful resort.

We were there in October 2010, so it was perfect time to enjoy the swimming pool, play table tennis, badminton and other things they have to offer. We enjoyed the pool and were served tea and breakfast by the pool... we repeated this again in the afternoon and now tea was replaced by chilled Beer :) Kids loved running around the huge heritage mansion.

Rooms and stay: We stayed in the lower block which is larger than the upper one and opens to the garden and faces the swimming pool. The rooms were spacious, with beautiful period furniture, painted walls and all the other modern comforts. The bathrooms are spacious as well with bathtubs; very clean with modern plumbing and electrical fixtures.

Food: was excellent as we got everything we asked for and enjoyed the most authentic Rajasthani cuisine... I love the Laal Maas and one day we enjoyed my wife's favorites - Daal, Baati, Choorma with lots of Ghee... Ofcourse, we did not ask for continental kind of stuff, but I was told even that is decent as the resort caters to lot of foreigners and international groups as well. Infact, we saw one Italian couple enjoying wine and early dinner on the roof top while enjoying the sunset. It was so personlised, and later when I asked the Manager he told me that they had set up the place and everything at the exact place where the couple wanted and the way they wanted.

Rejuvenation: Do not miss the ayurvedic body massage!!! Apart from this I also had the traditional Indian Head Massage and my wife enjoyed the traditional Indian Foot Massage. They were very rejuvenating and worth every penny!!!

Extras, things to do: The manager and staff was very attentive to our needs. They asked us what else they can do to make our stay memorable... and recommended a visit to the village temple, walk around the village to have a look at the deserted havelis, old painted walls and trust me they are all a photographer's delight. They also sent with us a hotel staff who was a local and very knowledgeable... We also took a camel cart ride starting from the Indravilas along the perimeter of the village, through the fields, old temples, tube wells, through the village witnessing the village life, mud houses labelled as BPL (below poverty line), kids waving and running behind our cart... We bought biscuit packets and distributed among the children. The hotel staff had put a few mattresses and clean white sheets for a comfortable seating on the camel cart and also gave us a couple of umbrellas just in case it rains or if it was too sunny for us. It was such a lovely experience for my 4 year old daughter who had not seen a village like this before. Indravilas also arranged evening entertainment with local music and dancing by the pool side. My daughter loved the puppet show and even bought a few puppets - Raja, Rani, Camel and snake!!!

The best part about this place is that it was not at all commercial. Everything and everyone was so genuine and respectful. No one pushed us for any activity and most of the extras like camel cart ride etc were so reasonably priced that I was surprised. I think they aim to promote some livelihood for the local villagers through such things which was again very genuine and nice on their part. I always left a few generous tips for their kindness and legendary hospitality.

All in all, a must visit and beautiful experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the lower block, facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashimprabhakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was in Alsisar Village in 2012 with a group of friends and the hotel is quite good and well priced. Is exactly in the center of the village with a very good pool in the middle. Is an old haveli, rooms are good, staff very friendly. Above all Alsisar is a small village far from all the mess of the world. Quite recommended this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpertIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The place is absolutely serene, people in the hotel will make you feel really royal, beautiful spacious rooms with excellent food and pool, will definitely recommend a place to visit.
An evening drink at sand dunes is most unforgettable experience. Best time to be there is between Aug-Dec

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharmamanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A 5-6 hrs journey from Gurgaon...a bit inconsistent road journey from excellent roads in patches to WIP roads...the moment you enter into the Haveli, it feels you are entering into different era. The Haveli is great experience for somebody who is not a native of the state of Rajasthan. Excellent services, good spacious rooms, nice staff very courteous and welcoming (true to Rajasthani tradition). A tour around the village will be a good experience only if you can find a local to help you with the history a bit. Good Place for a two day break....make sure to bring in some books to read as the second day can be a bit unexciting as you dont have many place for sightseeing (if that is what you had in mind). The overall experience is good and relaxing...though wont recommend the SPA. Food is decent with limited menu. BUT OVERALL THE SERVICE QUALITY IS EXCELLENT.

Room Tip: Go for the Suits facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Girish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intl
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Haveli with a lot of charme. Rooms could be better. Nice place for one night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonardo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsisar
0.1 mi away
Alsisar Mahal
Alsisar Mahal
#1 of 2 in Alsisar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
19.3 mi away
Castle Mandawa Hotel
Castle Mandawa Hotel
#2 of 13 in Mandawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
23.7 mi away
Vivaana
Vivaana
#1 of 13 in Mandawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Malji Ka Kamra
Malji Ka Kamra
#1 of 4 in Churu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage Mandawa
Hotel Heritage Mandawa
#9 of 13 in Mandawa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
16.4 mi away
Narayan Niwas Castle
Narayan Niwas Castle
#1 of 1 in Mahansar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indra Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indra Vilas

Property: Indra Vilas
Address: Alsisar 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jhunjhunu District > Alsisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alsisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Indra Vilas 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alsisar is one of the finest, yet untouched gems of Shekhawati. This we have endeavored to polish, protect and preserve for you, the connoisseurs, who care and feel for the great inheritance bequeathed by events of history. The hundred-room haveli built by Indrachand Kejriwal in a ten-acre compound extending to ancient wells built to grand scale, welcomes guests to stay in splendor of the past with modern comforts. Walk around the village to explore the art hidden in the profusion of mansions and temples dotting every street. Sit around the village pond chatting with inquisitive kids, artisans and wizened old folks. Ride a camel for dinner on the dunes, in the backdrop of folk dances and lilting tunes. Come, indulge yourselves with the legendary Rajasthan hospitality. While you are pampered, the village is reinvigorated, blowing off the sand from hidden frescoes and reviving the rich traditions of the bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Indra Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing