We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pan’s Place, Bungalows and Guesthouse: The best on the island!”
Review of Pans Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pans Guest House
Ranked #2 of 10 Don Khone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at Pan’s Bungalow’s on Don Khone and could not be happier. The rooms are immaculate and you get small bottles of water and toilet paper every day. It is so nice not to run out and have to ask for that! The owner, Pan, and his wife, are so helpful and well organized. Pan goes out of his way to help you, even with onward travel. He is fantastic and extremely kind. I don’t think you can find a better run guesthouse anywhere.

Each bungalow has a veranda feet from the Mekong. Food in the restaurant is excellent and well priced. Service is good too. We definitely feel like we chose the very best guesthouse option on Don Khone. The quality of the rooms, the service, and the stunning views from your porch are amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Longleat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Pans Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 101 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

Clean, quiet, comfortable spacious accommodation on the bank of the river. Rooms are very clean and are cleaned daily. Air conditioning works very well. The restaurant serves great breakfasts. Try the rice soup, it will wake you up with its kick of fresh ginger and lemongrass.
The office is good at arranging transportation and trips and prices are comparable to elsewhere on the island.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Pan's Guesthouse is a great place to stay when in Don Khone. The ferry from the mainland drops you off right on the banks of Pan's so you don't have to wander far to find it. I'd recommend reservations because a few people we took the ferry with asked if they had any openings and they didn't. My friend and I reserved a river view bungalow with twin beds. It was comfortable and spacious enough for the two of us to move around but not huge. The bathroom was one large room with the toilet and shower in the same area so keep the seat down or a towel over the toilet if you don't want to sit on a wet seat.

There was free breakfast in the mornings which was decent. It included your choice of a menu item like eggs and ramen with fruit and coffee or tea. There's also other restaurants nearby, an internet cafe, laundry, activity bookings like tubing the Meking, There's a bike rental next door for pretty cheap. The Don Khong has a lot of things to do and the Khone Phapheng waterfalls and the Irrawaddy river dolphins are a bike ride away.

As far as I remember, the electricity is turned off around 10pm everyday and this is one of the few places that keeps the electricity on 24/7 if that matters to you when you're traveling.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gomerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed in a bungalow Jan 2013. Bungalow was spacious and reasonably clean. The bathroom was spacious but not as clean as in the photos we saw on agoda. Hot water on demand worked find. Clean sheets and towels. Front porch was nice and large enough to sit and enjoy on the chairs provided. nice river view was picturesque. Negatives were the noise between bungalows, you could hear the conversation in the next bungalow. Also some noise from boats on the river early in the morning, as well as the roosters under your porch and just regular local activity that you will anywhere in this type of setting. Don't plan on sleeping late. Food at restaurant was very good. Pan and his wife were very friendly and helpful, their engish is quite good. WIFI in restaurant hit and miss but free. Bikes for rent are a great option and only about $1.50US/day. Don Khone is a good choice of the 3 islands if you don't feel you need to party every night. If you do, go to Don Det.

Room Tip: bungalows are at least a little more private than the guesthouse rooms. and face the river for the v...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We arrived after sunset due to a flat tyre of our bus. We could only get a boat to Don Det. A very friendly lady called Pan's, who refused us a pickup. No other transport was available to Don Khon at night. So we had to find other accomodation at Don Det.

When aksed to Pan through the booking agency to refund the night paid in advance, they bluntly refused. Said they offer no transport after sunset. Leaving the problEm to the customer.

A typical example of the growing spurts of Lao tourism industry being so keen on money that customer satisfaction is forgotten?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank PaarseOlifant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

After travelling through SE Asia for 4months our stay on Don Khone at Pans Guesthouse was definitely one of the highlights! It was the perfect place to sit back, relax and enjoy the scenery & peace and quiet.

Our bungalow at Pans was right on the banks of the Mekong - perfect for having a few drinks at night over a game of cards and watching the sunset!
The bungalow itself was spotlessly clean, pretty spacious, the bathroom had an excellent hot water service - often hard to find! - and the room was cleaned daily. The restaurant opposite has pretty strong wifi and very tasty breakfasts.
We were originally planning on staying somewhere a little cheaper but have absolutely no regrets spending a few dollars more. In fact I recommend it - if not for the service and great rooms then definitely for the location!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a good place that keeps getting better as Pan regularly upgrades. Between my first visit in December, 2009 and my second in February, 2012 he added air-con rooms and wifi (although the latter only works in the restaurant). By the time of my January, 2013 visit the garden view bungalows had been renovated with nicely painted walls and a downright fancy ceiling. This is the only place in all of SE Asia where I've been tempted to complain that the mattress is a little too soft, but it's still reasonably comfortable.Pan's price keeps going up as well, but it's still pretty decent value. The restaurant is pretty good, as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Don Khone
0.0 mi away
Pon Arena Hotel
Pon Arena Hotel
#1 of 2 in Don Khong
246 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Folie Lodge
La Folie Lodge
#1 of 1 in Don Daeng Island
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
The River Resort
The River Resort
#1 of 2 in Champasak Town
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pomelo Restaurant & Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Dokchampa Guesthouse
Dokchampa Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Don Khone
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sala Done Khone Hotel
Sala Done Khone Hotel
#4 of 10 in Don Khone
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pans Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pans Guest House

Address: Ban Khone tai | Khong District, Don Khone, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Don Khone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Don Khone
Price Range: $21 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pans Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing