We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Sorvagur
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveler rating
12
59
83
16
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
12
59
83
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to the airport dining room last night very helpful staff early morning excellent hotel breakfast buffet is hot items tea and coffee making facilities nice buffet runway land brunch stopover field nature
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 176 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2019 via mobile

Good:
1) Location: short walk from airport. Close to Mykenes ferry which is a 25 min walk.
2) The most spectacular backdrop to mini golf in the world with wild flowers and a whale skull thrown in for decoration.
3) Rooms comfortable. Good mattress.
4) Seeing airplanes land and take off 200m away from your room is a novelty.

Less good:
1) Breakfast. Passable but small amounts of everything. The threatening message on entry about not making pack lunch wasn't a nice touch.
2) Dinner: Food was good but although having burger on the menu they apparently don't ever serve it. Must be a foot and mouth outbreak nearby. Service can be slow. It does seem popular with a lot of local visitors perhaps as its one of the few places to eat on Vadar.
3) More of the atmosphere of a motel than a hotel.
4) Noone cleaned or serviced the room in between our two nights here.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2019

This hotel is less than ten minutes walk from the airport, which obviously makes it very convenient. It's pretty bland inside, but the rooms are an adequate size and the bathrooms quite good. The breakfast is also fine.

Basically, you are not likely to complain, but not one to remember either.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2019 via mobile

We stayed the day before our flight. The staff is so friendly. They check you in and then wait on you at the restaurant. We had the lunch buffet, dinner, and breakfast the following morning. The quality of the food was excellent. Food is expensive just about anywhere in the Faroes so quality is important. We were able to walk to the nearby town because there is a path beside the hotel. If you don’t want to walk to the airport, a taxi is 50dk.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank somrtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny í H, Direktør at Hotel Vagar, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Dear somrtravl,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback

Best regards
Hotel Vágar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2019

Recent reviews were not very positive but as we wanted to be close to the ferry departure point to Mykines, we chose to stay here post our flight arrival. We also had the luxury of a 10 night self drive Faroe visit to allow extended time at this end of the islands.
3.5 stars overall.
The room was spotlessly clean (including all linen) but quite small; which makes finding room for 2 large suitcases always problematic. A user friendly shower but the vanity sink is a design and logistics disaster. The placement of the cut throat edged glass ledge there, the overlarge and protruding tap handle and the smallness of the actual sink; do not make sense. A set up designed by someone who never uses it.
A soft mattress and the double bed is just two singles pushed together. Uselessly soft pillows too.
Good speed, free wi-fi.
Very helpful staff, especially the young male waiter who had just started a 3 week summer season shift before he was off to get married. He should consider a long term career in hospitality because he had a genuine care factor.
Breakfast was ok but very greasy bacon. Why not sit it on a draining rack or on top of stale bread to soak up the fat? Nice breads supplied.
We ate in for dinner on two nights. A pleasing pizza and then burgers. Not value meals for what they were but this is the Faroes and the hotel has a near monopoly in this location.

Room tip: Rooms facing the airport runway get you away from the car park.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our visit. We had a parking lot view, but the room was ok, very quiet. All the amenities (hot water kettle, WiFi, etc.) Breakfast was adequate, we did not eat here otherwise.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank violaidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews