We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“nice hotel, good breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vagar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vagar
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sorvagur
traveling cat
Level Contributor
311 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“nice hotel, good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

our trip planner put us here for our first night. seems to be the only hotel around in this area. it looks a bit grim on the outside but the rooms are quite pleasant and was fairly comfortable but always hard to sleep in a new place. Breakfast was a nice buffet and had enough of a selection to keep us happy. People were quite friendly and helpful in helping us navigate our way around for our first day in the Faroe Islands

Room Tip: rooms don't seem to matter as you are right next to the runway but no planes landed at night and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carpefeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    26
    46
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
40
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Albir, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This airport hotels markets itself as a 4 star hotel with beutiful wiews over Mykines island. At first site it looks ad a rig for construction workers. The only reason for why we booked it was because we wanted to see the sunset from thei outdoorr Yacuzzi (highly marketed on their web page), we where told that the yacuzzi was booked by a private pary so we ended up spending the night in an over prized room with a bathroom without tiles. The Faroes has much moore to offer than this simple hotel with no aMenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rune L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sorvagur hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel is the only choice for accommodation anywhere near the Faroes Airport. It is basic but fine and it was a life saver for me when my flight out of the Faroes was delayed by 30 hours.

I stayed at the Hotel Streym in Torshavn from 18-22 July 2012 and was due to leave on a 3.30pm Atlantic Airways flight. However, on waking the fog was so heavy it was obvious there would be problems and a quick Internet check of the Vagar Airport site showed the flights were significantly delayed. Sensing it might be a sizeable delay, I tried to book an extra night at the Hotel Streym. No go as they were booked out (although anyone on a flight would not have arrived until the next day!). I then gambled on the airport hotel and got a room, thinking I might just hang out there until a late flight that day. As it turned out, this was a good move because there were no flights that day and I had to stay the night and did not end up leaving until late the next day.
The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the airport but it is over a goat track, which is a real struggle with wheeled luggage.
The room was a standard room, meaning it looked over the car park, rather than the tarmac. That was fine but the excellent big window did mean you had to be careful with the curtains and the doors as there was a direct line of sight into the bathroom :)
The room actually gets a high score for excellent lighting, both natural and artificial. Lots of designer hotels get this so wrong. I want to be able to see in my room!
There was free, though slow, wifi. The tv had CNN and BBC. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and no fridge.
All the staff were very pleasant. The restaurant was OK for lunch and breakfast - much better than the airport alternatives.
So, there is no real choice but it is fine for a short stay and much better than camping out in the airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank newkstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Yorkshire
Level Contributor
155 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed here flying back from the Faroes on business.

I checked in really early; about 2 pm, which they were ok with. The rooms are plain and quite spartan, but they are also clean and comfortable. The wifi is good and they have afew English tv channels.

The food is expensive, but it is everywhere; but at least its better than the food on the tiny island I was stuck on for 2 days.

You get a helluva view of the runway, and like people have said its a bumpy walk to the terminal; but thats no big shakes.

It's priced ok for the Faroes, which means stupidly high for what it is but what choice have you got.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZX6RRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

You need to go here prepared. Its clean, comfortable, and friendly. Definately no frills!
Staff are helpful, and do most jobs like bar, front desk, restaurant. Rooms are bright and beds comfortable.

Walk from the airport was on a wet, muddy track so dont go in your best shoes or expect to drag a case without it bumping around behind you.

Food was good, nice beer and wine.

Would I go here again, well as its the only hotel in the area then yes!

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the runway (there are only a handful of flights per day)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clubworldfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

The Hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the airport but very quiet. Free parking.
Newly renovated with cosy and spacious rooms, well equiped and clean bathroom. The decor is minimal but the rooms are bright and airy.
The breakfast buffet is good but with limited choise. At the restaurant (a la carte) there is very good choise of food.
Very good location for a boat trip to the unique island of Mykines.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puffin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Forget all reviews from before 2008 where this place was completely renovated.
The hotel is fine - nice rooms, nice modern furnitures, bathroom a bit small.
Service and attitude prefect.
Breakfast included as usual in the Nordic. Fine - the usual freshly baked breads and rolls, cheeses, cold cuts, soft boiled eggs - fine and delicious but not more than that.

Of course there is perfect, free, high speed WiFi internet all over and free computers in the lobby.

Room Tip: The rooms in the basement have the best views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BjoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorvagur
16.7 mi away
Hotel Foroyar
Hotel Foroyar
#1 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel Torshavn
Hotel Torshavn
#4 of 5 in Torshavn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hotel Streym Torshavn
Hotel Streym Torshavn
#2 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Hotel Hafnia
Hotel Hafnia
#3 of 5 in Torshavn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
16.7 mi away
Guesthouse Marknagil
Guesthouse Marknagil
#5 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
21.1 mi away
Gjaargardur Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vagar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vagar

Property: Hotel Vagar
Address: Djupheidar 2, Sorvagur, Vagar Island 380, Faroe Islands (Formerly Hotel Vagar)
Location: Faroe Islands > Vagar Island > Sorvagur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sorvagur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2 minute Walk from Vágar Airport. 25 bedrooms, impressive view of the landscape, inhouse restaurant, 24/7 recption, free parking, free cable/wifi internet, meeting rooms accommodate 2-40. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vagar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vagar Vagar Island, Faroe Islands - Sorvagur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing