We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulos”
Review of Babogaya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Babogaya Resort
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent 3 very pleasant days in this resort. Location is really beautiful. Bird watching is most worthwhile. Rooms are nice. Management and Staff are friendly and helpful. The way back to Addis is time consuming due to road construction. Let's hope they will finish it soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ignaz1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 29 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

its a nice place, with friendly service,i enjoyed my 1 night stay.the lake in the morning was pristine.the food is not bad either.its a lot so ask how much you get before ordering. they have some nice paintings by local artists on display, so if you're into art, consider purchasing one.

Room Tip: choose one with a view of the lake
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Z Zizu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed in 8 different hotels during our 2 week trip to Ethiopia and Babogaya Resort ranks as our favorite. Although there is no fitness center or swimming pool, the attentive staff, inexpensive food, and sweeping view of Lake Babogaya more than makes up for it. The hotel staff also placed an extra queen size bed to accommodate my family of 4. This is the one place we stayed in Ethiopia that I feel sure to return to someday. My girls, husband, and I feel lucky to have stayed here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A beautiful resort with very nice and perfectly clean room, some with a beautiful view of the vulcanic lake. You can swim in the lake, which has clean water. Nice and friendly service. Located about one and a half hours ride by car from Addis Abeba.

Room Tip: A comparable cheap but very nice place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urban W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

First of all do not be cheated, this is a lodge not a resort. no swimming pool, no sauna, no massage.... It Has nothing except bed & the lake view. They charge you over 100 USD per night for that.

By the time when i was there even there was no hot water in my room. The food is cold & tasteless. flies were on the top of your plate & every where. the waiters seems a Prison Guard .

I wonder how this place get the name Resort & its permit. You can tell they gave big bribe to Ethiopian Tourism Commission. otherwise there is no way of this so callled Resort being active.

P/s do not wast your money. d-o n-o-t go!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yonas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I spent three memorable weeks at the resort and I really enjoyed my stay. The location of the resort is fantastic. From my room I was able to enjoy the full view of Lake Babogaya with its peaceful waters, and its beautiful flora and fauna. The resort is set on a picturesque landscape rising from the Lake with winding steps to the main building at the top. The resort setting is one of the most artistic piece of work I have seen, and I have been in many countries all over the world. The service is superb. The hotel staff are exceptionally courteous. The food is delicious and reasonably priced. I was alone during my last stay but I intend to go back with my family.

By Rogati Kayani

Room Tip: Higher floors so as to have the best view of the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rogati K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

My wife and I spent two weeks in the resort.It has a very friendly air about it .Plus the locale overlooking the lake is great - where you can take exciting boat rides.Though not advertised as one ,it could be classified a reasonable bird sanctuary.Food is cheap.Once the frontage is redone, it should be even better.May be they should build a walkway next to the lake .Keep it up Daniel and friends.

Room Tip: Ground floor is better - access wise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krish1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishoftu
24.2 mi away
La Residence Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Asham Africa Hotel
Asham Africa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bishoftu
27 reviews
2.7 mi away
Babogaya Lake Viewpoint Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kuriftu Resort
Kuriftu Resort
#1 of 11 in Bishoftu
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Markan Lodge
Markan Lodge
#5 of 15 in Bishoftu
3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreamland Hotel
Dreamland Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bishoftu
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babogaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babogaya Resort

Address: House # 644 Kebele 09, Bishoftu, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Oromiya Region > Bishoftu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Bishoftu
Price Range: $87 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Babogaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babogaya Hotel Debre Zeyit
Babogaya Resort Ethiopia/Bishoftu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing