We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, friendly service”

The George on The Green
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Holyport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A warm welcome awaits from a family run Pub & Restaurant.All dishes carefully prepared by our head chef Sean Muggeridge.Traditional menu to suit all tastes plus daily specials available.Great local and well kept cask ales.Beautiful berkshire location on a lovely village green.Hope to see you soon!
London, England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

A very conveniently located pub, just off the M4 and close to Maidenhead, it was good to find such good quality food in a traditional pub. Myself and two colleagues met for a business lunch and found the service to be quick and friendly, the food excellent and the prices reasonable.

We will return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank niceguy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    63
    15
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Proper food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We've passed The George on the Green nanny tines but never ventured inside so we plucked up the courage to book an evening meal. The menu was varied and the food all well cooked. It's not fine dining as some would view it but great restaurant food, well presented and served by busy yet pleasant staff. We've already decided to go back and, if the weather is good, we plan to eat outside overlooking Holyport Green. We had the swordfish and steak as main meals which were great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

What a great place. My wife and I together with our newly wed Daughter and her husband were visiting the area to meet up with our son and family. We came across this 16 century inn when seeing it on our way back from legoland When we entered the Inn we were surprised how great the place looked and how busy it was. Luckily there had been a cancelation so we managed to get a table. They had a good choice of beers and a good choice of food.
We all had different main meals; Fish & Chips, Lamb Shank, Belly Pork and Fish Pie all of which was of good quality and portions, especially the fish pie which the wife said was superb. The prices although not cheap were not over expensive either. All the staff were very good and attentive. I would recommend The George very highly and suggest pre booking.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overdone dried out fish”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The pub is a lovely old traditional village hostelry in a gorgeous position overlooking the green. The beer was great as was my daughters butternut squash risotto. I'm afraid the praise runs out at this point. My wife and I both ordered fish and chips. The fish came to the table and the batter was VERY brown, and when cut open revealed a very thin dry offering. The chips wernt great either - also very dry. The staff asked how we were enjoying the meal - and offered to replace the offending meals with something else, but it wasn't convenient to wait for another while for replacements to be cooked. Won't be returning :(

Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rustytravels7, Owner at The George on The Green, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your visit.
Concerned that although we served many of our popular fish & chips on the evening in question and had many compliments, that you did not enjoy yours.
It is a pity that although we offered to quickly change your meal to rectify this 'complaint' and indeed the 'plates of offending food' were completely eaten, that a negative review was written as soon as possible and you will not return . Shame.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Solidly good independent pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is really a great classic pub. Fantastic atmosphere, friendly efficient staff and consistently very good food that often reaches 'excellent'. It is very close in standard to some of the top rated pub restaurants in Bray but less than half the price and has a much more relaxed feel. We eat here regularly and the garlic prawn starter has prawns that are crisp and fresh and juicy; the boeuf bourguignon was excellent; steak well up to standard, fish perfectly cooked, and in fact in over half a dozen meals, I have only had one 'miss' - veal that was quite tough. The only thing that stops me from a full on 'excellent' is that I would like to see the menu change a bit more - also the specials - and maybe a bit more choice on the wine list. It's getting a bit familiar and a seasonal change or two would be very welcome. Also has lovely tables out on the green which are perfect for lazy sundays.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Domesticdervish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George on The Green also viewed

Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
Holyport, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Fifield, Windsor and Maidenhead
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The George on The Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing