We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of Christie Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Christie Lodge
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Avon
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I expect most people staying here are on vacation. I was just traveling through on I-70 by myself and Avon, CO is where I happen to end up spending the night. Thus, my perspective may be a bit different than most. In fact, I was going to stay at a chain hotel which was noted on a sign on I-70 but they were full and suggested I try the Christie Lodge.

In general, I was pleased with the room; it was actually a lot more than I needed for a place to sleep for the night. I got the cheapest they had available at the time and it included a kitchen-dining-living room separate from the the bedroom. Even though the front parking lot was packed and congested (there is evidently more parking in the back), inside the building it was like a ghost town. It is kind of big and open and there was simply no one around. Very quiet, which was nice, from my perspective, but almost kind of spooky. The room furnishings seemed to be of good quality and the room was neat and clean. The unit was rather compact. It would be fine for a couple for several days but it would be pretty cramped for any more even though it probably is listed to sleep 4 with a pull out sofa bed in the kitchen-dining room.

About the only real negative I found is that check in seemed to be incredibly slow and inefficient. They had four people working the registration desk and, when I arrived, there was only one person waiting in line ahead of me. Even so, it must have taken 20 minutes before I got checked in. Can't imagine what it would be like if it had been busy. Everyone was friendly and helpful, it just seem to move unusually slowly. In the morning, check out was quick and efficient.

The "Interesting" title for this review came from something I noticed that probably does not make a lot of difference to most people; I just found it interesting. While the materials and workmanship for the place all seemed fine, there were a lot of little things that would indicate the overall design of the facility was done by an amateur. Most noticeable were the numerous level changes on the ground floor that served no apparent purpose. Sometimes just a couple of steps up or down (and a safety hazard) and sometimes a lot more. As a result there are steps everywhere and, in some cases, very intrusive wheel chair ramps that were apparently an afterthought. I was in a ground floor room but the ground level rooms in this part of the building opened onto a narrow walkway that was about three feet above the building floor with no rails whatsoever. If you came out of the room and were not paying attention, you would would walk right off the edge. Or if you were wrestling luggage while opening the door, you could easily step back right off the edge. Inside the room, there was a fairly narrow hallway between the bedroom and the kitchen-dining-living room. This arrangement in itself was not bad but the door to the unit is in the bedroom which means you have to go through the hallway to get to the living space. By myself it was not a problem but even with two people, you would be bumping into each other in the hallway all of the time. Plus, the bathroom opens into the hallway too. The cooling and heating unit in the kitchen-dining-living room was a funky device that sat on the hearth and vented through the fireplace flue. Worked fine, but "interesting" and likely an afterthought. The back door of the unit opened into nothing other than a concrete retaining wall a few feet back. I expect in some units it opens onto a small patio. Worked okay for getting some fresh mountain air but certainly not a place I would want to spend time. Upon arrival, it was not clear where the main entrance to the building is located and once inside, it was not obvious where to go for check in. All of these little things are probably neither here nor there for most guests and certainly would not make me avoid the place. I just found it interesting that such a nice facility had so many little design flaws that an experienced designer would have avoided.

All in all, I enjoyed my brief stay in the high country.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whoknows987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write such an extensive review. We are very happy you chose us over the chain hotel and feel we are able to offer a more personalized experience. During the weekdays in the summer, we experience lower occupancy that may help to explain the lack of hustle and bustle around the property, but with that comes options on the location of your accommodation that can allow for great views and appealing balconies. We just installed a new property management computer system that may explain the delay in getting you checked-in, but it certainly should not have taken that long to get you settled and we sincerely apologize for your wait. We hope you try us again the next time you find yourself in the area.

Kindest regards,

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 604 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Avon is a small town in the valley, just down the mountain from Beaver Creek. It is a nice town, with several amenities and restaurants itself. But it's biggest draw is that it easy day trips to all the best mountain towns in the Colorado mountains.

The Christie Lodge is a large hotel, centrally located in Avon, with a helpful staff. A timeshare location with 1/2 kitchen and fireplace. But AC is an afterthought, and ok, not good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We love our small town and really enjoy all of the conveniences it provides. We installed our air-conditioning last year and our guests are really enjoying the cooler rooms during the few weeks it gets warm in our valley. This week we have been back down to the ideal low 70"s. Hope you have the chance to come visit us again.

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We found the staff to be very nice and helpful. It was probably only 1/4 full the week we were there, which was nice. We are used to having a kitchenette in our time-shares, so we found the 'kitchen' at the Christie Lodge a bit challenging, but we made do. There is only a 1/2 size fridge, no stove and a hot plate. But with all the great restaurants in the area, this is no problem. The bed was very comfortable and there is a small deck. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ground floor will save you steps...there is only one elevator. Try and get a south facing room, awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments! Our 1 Bedroom Suites average 420 square feet and provide our guests with a full sized microwave, coffee maker, dishwasher, small refrigerator and toaster. We also offer crock-pots and electric skillets free of charge upon request. Hope you had a safe trip home and we hope to have you back soon.

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We use a relative's summer timeshare at the Christie Lodge to visit this area every few years. Avon is a small place so one can walk from the Lodge to most restaurants and what few attractions exist here. The Lodge is clean and well-maintained and has a bike-rental shop that operates out of a storefront on the bottom floor. The room we get is small, probably a reflection of what our relative paid for the timeshare arrangement, and comes with a queen bed and a hide-a-bed couch, microwave, bar-size frigo, and coffee maker, plus some dishes and dinner ware. Two TV sets, as well. It does not have installed AC; rather, there is a free-standing unit in the main room and a ceiling fan over the bed. The concierge, Kathy, knows what she's talking about and can help you. There is a Monday night happy hour meet-and-greet at which cheeses, crackers, and bad wine are served (a free headache comes with a single glass) and where local tour operators extol their services; this is a plus for first-timers. There is a public hot tub and spa, and two pools. No one comes to this area to hang at the hotel, and this place serves as a good place to crash after hiking, biking, and enjoying the day.

Tip unrelated to the Lodge: one can visit the Betty Ford Alpine Gardens in Vail seven days a week, but on Sunday there is also a Farmers' Market right down the street from the Gardens. We recommend both.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BearSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments. Our staff works very hard to make sure our guests have the best stay possible. We are truly honored to have the Betty Ford Alpine Garden and the Gerald Ford Amphitheater close by and the Farmer's Market is always a treat.

Hope to see you again soon.

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at Christie Lodge from 8/6/ 13 for one week and it was outstanding from check-in to check-out, Adam and Big Long Tall were a hive of information; and the location was perfect. We would highly recommend Christies as a base to discover the Vail valley and beyond.Lots of good eating places ,and super- market on the door step.


Giuseppe Porco

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank testarosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie L, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for the kind response! Our staff works very hard to accommodate our guest’s needs to make sure they have the best stay possible. We hope to see you again soon.

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Very clean, close to all attractions, staff is extremely friendly and courteous. Will definitely stay here again when in Avon/Beaver creek area. 5 stars!! All rooms are air conditioned, something that is not common for this area. you are able to close sliding glass door and enjoy a quiet night's sleep!!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet as they have installed new sliding glass doors and all rooms are now air conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flybear36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie L, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments! We are always looking for ways to improve our guest's stay and have recently added air-conditioning in all of our living rooms and replaced all of the sliding glass doors. We are looking forward to having you back in the future.

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

What more could you want.

Transportation to the best ski hills in the area. (Vail and Beaver Creek).

Subway attached for lunch or breakfast.

Avon is a nice town with lots of restaurants and stores nearby.

3 bedrooms suit was very comfortable.

Several hot tubs and swimming pool inside.

Staff super pleasant.

I am going back next ski season for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Crazycanucktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek
2 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#9 of 18 in Beaver Creek
353 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#5 of 18 in Beaver Creek
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#3 of 18 in Beaver Creek
511 reviews
8 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,313 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christie Lodge

Address: 47 E Beaver Creek Blvd, P.O. Box 1196, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Avon
Price Range: $129 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Christie Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Christie Lodge is your home to relax and enjoy the breathtaking natural beauty of the surrounding mountains in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Conveniently located in the heart of the Vail Valley, the Christie Lodge in Avon, Colorado offers affordable one and three bedroom suites with easy access to Vail and Beaver Creek Resorts. Complimentary access to wireless internet, free parking and no resort fees create added value in this world class mountain destination. Spacious one bedroom suites average 410 square feet and feature a queen bed, kitchenette, wood-burning fireplace in the winter and air conditioning in the summer. Three bedroom suites offer two additional bedrooms containing a queen bed, each with an en suite bathroom. All accommodations offer, two flat screen TV's, a queen pullout sleeper sofa, and a private balcony.Christie Lodge amenities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools and four hot tubs. The lodge also provides a variety of activities including a kid's activity center, ping pong tables, and Foosball. Our 24 hour front desk, knowledgeable concierge staff, local in-house sporting goods shop, on-site car rental and complimentary shuttle service to Beaver Creek Resort highlight the services Christie Lodge provides to our guests. Be yourself at the Christie Lodge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Christie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christie Hotel Avon
The Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing