We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Christie Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Christie Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Avon
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Vail was great, Vail Village was great but in addition we really enjoyed the Christie lodge. It was in Avon 9 miles from Vail but the price was fair and the room was perfect for us. We had 5 in our group. Myself and 4 teenage kids. We used the outdoor hot tub every night and the Lodge has ski rentals right inside the hotel which was great and the prices there were less than anywhere else. There also was a Subway in the hotel and restuarant and we have no complaints. I would recommend and retuen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    235
    105
    46
    45
See reviews for
214
198
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just stayed a week here at the Christie Lodge. We will NEVER return here. Our first day there and my son took a shower and broke out in a rash all over his body. I went and spent $13.50 to wash all their towels before I would let anyone else use them. (Washed the sheets too) When I told the Manager I was told "I don't know to say . . . hope you have some Anti-Itch Creme" Then the next day the cleaning people came thru and took all the towels (including the ones I washed) and my daughter broke out. Had to spend more money to re-wash EVERYTHING!! The place was suppose to been renovated but there were broken tiles with glue over it in the kitchen and bathrooms and stains on the carpets.
NOT A HAPPY CUSTOMER!!!

if i could give a negitive I would to this place!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank indycox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Unbelievably disappointed regarding how much I paid for my stay here. The hotel was rated as a 3-star and reviews on hotels.com were OK enough to think this would be OK. But this place is definitely run-down. Mattresses were old and you could feel the springs. Rooms were drab and carpets old. Room layout had so many tight doors it was difficult to get around. What's worse is we paid for a "Mountain View Room" -- see the picture of our mountain view attached and note that the mountain behind the concrete wall was nothing more than the mound that leads up to the highway.

I found myself anxious to get out of the place in the morning. I've had far more comfortable stays at Comfort Inns in the area (2-stars that run half the price). The Comfort Inn in Dillion is definitely a better choice -- even if it's a bit farther from your ski hill. The unit we stayed at in Christie Lodge did have a kitchen but with the room quality and 10:00 check-out time, we didn't have an opportunity to use it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Itsme2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here on a holiday weekend after deciding to ski Beaver Creek last minute and everything else was booked. Perhaps the fact that this place had availability should have told us something. The hotel is very oddly designed. Steps and ledges and odd angles everywhere. Hard to describe how weird it is. We had a 1-bedroom. Quiet enough but again oddly designed and small. Would be OK for a couple, maybe with 1 child (cramped with 2). Bed comfortable enough. Kitchen sparsely equipped, but it works if you can deal with a small fridge, microwave, and electric skillet. Coffee pot kept spewing water. Housekeeping needs attention: used towel found hanging on back of bathroom door after check-in, and didn't wipe out the bathroom sink when they came in to clean (toothpaste remnants still there). Cold in living area -- air comes in around slider -- despite cranking up heat. Shuttle to mountain convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juja80301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Overall this resort is decent. It's close to Vail and Beaver Creek. It's easy to access grocery stores and restaurants. They have a Subway right inside the resort. The mattress was comfortable. The heated outdoor pool was fun for my son. They have an outdoor hot tub and indoor hot tubs and lastly the staff was very friendly and accomodating.

On the negative side, the bedrooms are located right next to the entry. Because the resort is designed with an atrium in the middle, all the noise travels right into the bedroom. This would be the noise of people walking down the hall, playing ping pong, or just hanging out until midnight. You will hear everything! Also, the heating is not very even so the bedroom gets really hot and the livingroom stays really cold. Lastly, it's not really a full kitchen. There is no stove. If you want to cook something you have to do it on an electric skillet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Revisit the 70"s
Very friendly and courteous staff
Clean rooms, but very poorly laid out
Cold---poor heating--
Average location--not too much going on near the Lodge itself
Beautiful lobbies, totally unused--why, -I've seen more activity in mortuaries
Good value when compared to the rest of the Valley
We only come because we made the mistake of becoming an owner many years ago and can't give it away now!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divide, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I was very skeptical booking this hotel after reading the reviews. But the cost was reasonable and the room was available. What a pleasant surprise!! I agree that the hotel setup and room setup is unique, but it really was not uncomfortable in the least. And would recommend a room away from the pool, the halls do echo. Less about the hotel, more about the overall politeness of people at 2am -- there is no need to go screaming in the middle of the night!

The front desk staff was incredible (even telling jokes while we were checking in: "What do you get when you cross a vampire and a snowman? Frostbite!!).

When we got to the room, you forget you are in a hotel. It is like walking into a personal apartment in the middle of the mountains. There is a fully equipped kitchen and living room area, plenty of towels in the bathroom, and the bed was incredibly comfortable.

We were only able to stay one night, but would absolutely recommend this hotel. It is convenient for to the various ski slopes, easy bus route or walking distance, and overall just a pleasant environment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek
2.1 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#3 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#9 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#6 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
1.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christie Lodge

Property: Christie Lodge
Address: 47 E Beaver Creek Blvd, P.O. Box 1196, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Christie Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Christie Lodge is your home to relax and enjoy the breathtaking natural beauty of the surrounding mountains in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Conveniently located in the heart of the Vail Valley, the Christie Lodge in Avon, Colorado offers affordable one and three bedroom suites with easy access to Vail and Beaver Creek Resorts. Complimentary access to wireless internet, free parking and no resort fees create added value in this world class mountain destination. Spacious one bedroom suites average 410 square feet and feature a queen bed, kitchenette, wood-burning fireplace in the winter and air conditioning in the summer. Three bedroom suites offer two additional bedrooms containing a queen bed, each with an en suite bathroom. All accommodations offer, two flat screen TV's, a queen pullout sleeper sofa, and a private balcony.Christie Lodge amenities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools and four hot tubs. The lodge also provides a variety of activities including a kid's activity center, ping pong tables, and Foosball. Our 24 hour front desk, knowledgeable concierge staff, local in-house sporting goods shop, on-site car rental and complimentary shuttle service to Beaver Creek Resort highlight the services Christie Lodge provides to our guests. Be yourself at the Christie Lodge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Christie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christie Hotel Avon
The Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing