We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay at the Christie Lodge”
Review of Christie Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Christie Lodge
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Avon
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt Beaver Creek in the past and decided to try another more reasonbly priced accommodations.
We stayed here Christmas week 2012 when all the other hotels hike their prices and Christie was very reasonable for an entire week. First off, you cannot beat the location, so relaxing to leave your car outside the room and take the bus daily to the Beaver Creek slopes. Which, by the way, is the nicest ski resort we have visited. We spent one day in Vail and didn’t care for the crowds. The people who work here are very nice. I asked for a crock pot the night we checked in and they gave me a huge one. I am able to cook an entire turkey, cut up, with veggies and stuffing, have it cooked all day and come back to a delicious dinner. every day I cooked breakfast and dinner in our room. you have to get creative using the crockpot and the electric skillet but it is doable. We found the size perfect for two adults and our 9 year old who slept on the pull out sofa. I ran the dishwasher while we were skiing so the noise wouldn’t bother us for dinner. there are enough dishes for dinner and breakfast. setting for 8. There are plenty of towels and other supplies in the room. I reserved Breckenridge after our stay here in Avon, I wish I had asked for another 3 nights here instead. We are so comfortable here and there are plenty of hot tubs and activities for the kids. The outdoor pool is very nice, salt water and comfortably temperate after being in a hot tub. It was perfect for the kids. Our 3 nights in Breck is just a hotel room and will be twice as much as I had paid for the Christie Lodge.

Room Tip: There are stairs everywhere, our room was near the lobby, center of the lodge, and it was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belfle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 618 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

we stayed at the christie lodge last week weave been staying there for almost 3 years now, in our experience its a really good location because its just 2 blocks away from the city market and the bus station is just right in front of the hotel you don't need to walk anywhere it will take to directly to beaver creek, you have subway as well as a good restaurant in the hotel. the only thing that made us not feel okay was the bed was all wiggly it was an old bed and after a whole day skiing what you really want is a good night sleep, the shower is something i would definitely change it just throws water everywhere and you cant take a shower water comes out so hard it makes it windy and you get cold. we love this place but those 2 things need to be changed. personnel was awsome really nice people and we keep on enjoying this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anii0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The location in town can't be beat! It is in close walking distance to many locals restaurants, the grocery store and liquor store. The bus stop is right outside the front door of the Lodge and will take you to Beaver Creek or the Avon bus station to transfer to the Eco bus to Vail. The Lodge was recently remodeled and looks great! It has a very comfy, cozy, family atmosphere and the staff is very friendly. If you don't have the budget to stay slopeside, this is where you should go!!! I stayed here one night for a local event and I would do it again.

Room Tip: Request a square room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalavail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here numerous times over the past three ski seasons. We found it by chance when we were looking for a more reasonable place to stay while we skied Vail & Beaver Creek. We have come to count on staying here every time we ski in the area. It is a great ski lodge offering multiple hot tubs and fire pits. There are also great restaurants directly across the street. The rooms have a fireplace, small balcony & kitchen. We just this past weekend tried the three bedroom condo, which is neat when you have a bigger group. It you are here to ski, hang out with friends and stay somewhere reasonable, the Christie Lodge is the place!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodesterF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is my 4th year here. You can not beat the location. The staff is great. For quick ski vacation it is a pleasant place. If you are coming to the Vail area for a month or so then value can not be beat. We can walk to City Market, the bus stop is directly out the door and it can not be anymore convenient than this location in downtown Avon. I prefer this area over ski in ski out at the base of the mountain.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

First, the good. The people at Christie Lodge are friendly and helpful. That is the end of the good list.

The lengthy list of what is wrong has to start with the sleeping arrangements. You enter the unit through the bedroom, so there is little privacy for more than one couple. There is a queen size bed in the bedroom, but it is up against the wall so that one person has to either climb over the other, or slip out the back acrobatically around a dresser. It is not particularly comfortable. There is also a cot of some kind that is not even as wide as a single bed. It makes more sense as a shelf for your suitcase. My second night I figured the rollout bed had to be better than crawling over my wife during the night. I was wrong. Worst rollout bed ever. I've still got the imprint of the broken springs in my side. The only way I got any sleep was to put the cushions back on the couch and sleep on that.

Aside from not getting a good night's sleep, there are numerous other problems. The place is too small for more than two people, and four people would have a tough time finding a place to sit and watch a movie or TV. There is a small partial kitchen that has a microwave and skillet. There is a dishwasher, but it is so loud that it is difficult to watch TV or have a conversation while it is on. Heating is very uneven. The main room is cold when the bedroom is almost too warm to sleep in. You pretty much have to decide which room you want to keep at a comfortable temperature. The bedroom has the smell of chlorine from the pool and hot tub. There is a fireplace, but if you use it the flue will have to stay open all night to avoid smoking up the room, making the living room even colder to sleep in. Finally, the bathroom is so close to the bed that you pretty much know what everyone is up to all night long.

I don't like to write a bad review when the people are as friendly and helpful as they were, but no choice here. It was bad enough we left after three days, even though we had it for a week. Be forewarned.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

If you get a three bedroom, they are awful. the living room is way too small even for two people to hang out in. Plus they don't have full kichens. The worst part about it is, the only way to get in or out is through one of the bedrooms, so the couple that is in there is always being interupted. The walls are also paper thin. The resort staff was nice all except a manager named Dave who was so rude to all the guest and down right mean. I would never stay there again. Plus they charge you for everything! if you lose one of the plastic keys, they charge you.
It was so bad we checked out early and went to another hotel that was much nicer. Even if you get a $100 a night rate, don't stay there, it is not worth it. Plus it is very ugly and beds are awful. It is so loud a peaceful night sleep does not happen. Dave also needs to be fired.

Room Tip: there are none
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank am6965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek
2.1 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#7 of 18 in Beaver Creek
560 reviews
2 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#9 of 18 in Beaver Creek
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#3 of 18 in Beaver Creek
524 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
7.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#22 of 31 in Vail
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christie Lodge

Address: 47 E Beaver Creek Blvd, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5406
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Avon
Price Range: $111 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Christie Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Christie Lodge is your home to relax and enjoy the breathtaking natural beauty of the surrounding mountains in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Conveniently located in the heart of the Vail Valley, the Christie Lodge in Avon, Colorado offers affordable one and three bedroom suites with easy access to Vail and Beaver Creek Resorts. Complimentary access to wireless internet, free parking and no resort fees create added value in this world class mountain destination. Spacious one bedroom suites average 410 square feet and feature a queen bed, kitchenette, wood-burning fireplace in the winter and air conditioning in the summer. Three bedroom suites offer two additional bedrooms containing a queen bed, each with an en suite bathroom. All accommodations offer, two flat screen TV's, a queen pullout sleeper sofa, and a private balcony.Christie Lodge amenities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools and four hot tubs. The lodge also provides a variety of activities including a kid's activity center, ping pong tables, and Foosball. Our 24 hour front desk, knowledgeable concierge staff, local in-house sporting goods shop, on-site car rental and complimentary shuttle service to Beaver Creek Resort highlight the services Christie Lodge provides to our guests. Be yourself at the Christie Lodge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Christie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christie Hotel Avon
The Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing