We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware they put charges on your credit card”
Review of Christie Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Christie Lodge
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Avon
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed at this horrible place on 9/11/2012. They ran an extra charge on my debit card and still have not taken it off and it has been almost a month. I have called and constantly get the runaround and whoever is in charge is never there. It is infuriating that they tell me it was a preauthorization for who knows what. Then they tell me it was never charged, well it was and is still being charged to my card. I have spent more time trying to deal with this. The hotel on top of all this wasn't even enjoyable. A very cold unwelcoming staff.. Completely ruined my thoughts of spending more time in Vail. Left and went onto Glenwood Springs and Aspen instead.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rebeccasp44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie L, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Hello rebeccasp44. I am sorry to hear you are having issues with your debit card. When provided with a debit card upon check-in, it is our policy to inform the guest of the $25 authorization for incidental charges. We did not post any actual charges to your account and it is up to your debit card provider on how long they hold the funds before releasing them back to you. It is frustrating to us as well when the issuer of the card holds the funds for more than a couple of days, but in the end it goes back to the agreement you sign with the card provider regarding their funds available policy. If the matter has still not been resolved, please contact me directly and I will see what I can do to assist. We are once again sorry this clouded your visit with us.

Tom Butz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 610 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Honestly the the Christie lodge was by far the worst place I have stayed at in the Vail valley the bed was very uncomfortable to the point of not being able to sleep, the room and hotel were noisy and the layout of the room is terrible having the sleeping area sharing a main wall with the exterior walkway so outside lighting came through, is was hot as well and ac was vented through the fireplace. My wife and I went there to stay to celebrate our anniversary and ended up having to check out early to go to the comfort of our own home so we could sleep. We chose the room over the comfort inn which was half as much because it seemed nice. I expressed my concern to the front desk and asked for a partial refund, they didn't even apologize and told me they couldn't help me, they said the manager was out. I called Jazel the manager and she said she may be able to help me on a future stay but nothing could be done on a previous stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the Christie lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jerad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie L, Manager at Christie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Hello Jerad, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. I apologize we were not able to meet your expectations for such a special occasion. We have recently completed a renovation that included new mattress and most recently the addition of air-conditioning units in all of our rooms. We have had very good feedback from our guests on both improvements; however I do understand that room features like mattresses are subject to personal preference. Guest satisfaction is our primary goal and I would welcome a call from you to see if we can work out a solution to your disappointing stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Christie Lodge is an average property. We were able to check in early and the staff was great at Check In. The room that we were assigned had a queen bed but it was tucked away in the corner (someone had to sleep against the wall - not preferred!!!). We moved our belongings into the room and left - hadn't noticed the terrible smoke odor until we came back in the evening. The shower area had a large clump of hair (not my color) in the tub! I tried to get beyond that but then the curtain on the window next to the bed had a terrible smoke/ tobacco smell. Also the internet didn't work in our room. When I called a about the stench of smell in the room, the evening manager was pretty much argumentative with me saying that 'all the rooms are non-smoking' and it's a 'very nice place to stay'. It wasn't until I told him that I was getting sick in the room (headache) did he offer to move our room to another location. We were moved to a room where the queen bed was not against the wall and there wasn't a stench in the room. If only they had checked us into this room initially it would have been a much different experience.
We aren't giving a 'poor' rating because it's evident that they are making improvements and as we walked around the lodge the next morning, we found the pools and whirlpools and public areas were well maintained.
Beware..... it wasn't until I had to go to the desk the 3rd time to get the correct room keys for the 2nd room that the desk staff actually told me that wifi (while free) doesn't always work in every room!
We won't be staying the full week at this location - primarily due to this experience

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bed that isn't against the wall! - 3rd floor and view of mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkpick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie L, Manager at Christie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Hello Grand Rapids Guest. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Christie Lodge. We pride ourselves on the quality and friendliness of our staff and I am happy to hear we were able to accommodate you with your early arrival. I am sorry to hear that the original room we assigned to you was not up to our standards and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this caused you! As you found out we do have rooms that are not against the wall and will always work with guest requests on view and room configuration. We offer wireless internet as a complimentary amenity for our guests in our public areas, but do not advertise it as being available in all of our rooms, even though the signal does reach many of them. I will follow up with our housekeeping staff to determine why the first room you checked into was not up to expectation. Thank you again for allowing us to host your visit and I hope we have the opportunity to improve your experience on your next visit.

Tom Butz
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed over the 3rd of July. The location was excellent, and the staff was friendly. Even though it was in the high country, it was very hot at night. We couldn't open the patio door, we were on the ground floor. All we had was a ceiling fan in the bedroom. It was not enough!

Room Tip: In the summer, get a room off the ground floor, so you can open the patio door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kegizii, Director of Sales at Christie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Denver,
We couldn't agree with you more!
As of the first of August ALL our rooms now have air conditioning.
Although fall will soon arrive; we are ready for the hot temperatures of summer.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I really liked this lodge. It’s a little older and you can tell by the rooms but they were clean. We was offered house keeping in the middle of the week even though the reservation said no house keeping during your stay. They pick up your garbage if you just put it outside the room every 1/2 hour or so. The rooms are setup a little weird because when you walk in the front door you walk through the bedroom but all and all the rooms did what they needed to for a nice stay. We had a beautiful view of the mountains from our balcony and I love the extras the hotel has. Such as wine and cheese tasting, bingo and bbq’s and lots of stuff for kids. They have indoor and outdoor hot tubs and swimming pools and there is a subway and a Mexican restaurant. We was able to get the internet from our room and you can walk to the grocery store and the liquor stores. Lots of restaurants and shops near by. The only complaint that I had and I almost feel guilty complaining about it because god knows without the air conditioner with 90 degree temps we would have been miserable. But the air conditioner is really loud and its in the front room so the bedroom kind of stays muggy and hot the whole time, we ended up opening the screen door and turning off the air during the night but the road near by is really busy so it was loud air conditioner or loud traffic.... but it was definitely better then no air conditioner at all! All in all I give the hotel an a

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cybrjunkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is the best deal in The Vail Valley for ski ing. A one bedroom gets you the large queen side bed or the new settee bed in the lounge which my husband and I use---and he is over 6 foot, and it is really comfortable. The bed we give to our teenage son, as it has its own TV with conections and a door to bathroom----which can be locked so the second door-from lounge can only be used when he has finished--so a great place for two couples to stay. There is an open fire with one block of logs, but you can purchase more if you like a fire, but central heating is very good too. It has a small kitchen area with electric griddle pan, which I made pasta dishes, rice dishes and of course all the naughty fry ups!!! microwave, kettle, coffee maker, fridge, dish washer. all the crockery, cutlery, and well fitted out. There is an on site laundry, which I thought was cheap--takes quarters but reception will give you change, take your own washing powder, as small packets not worth price, Dryers are large and wonderful. All the Staff are wonderful, and the rooms are clean. There is a fitness room sauna, three spas, and swimmingpool. The ski bus stops right outside to take you up to Beaver Creek, and the bus to Vail is just accross the way--seniors pay a doller each way and under 18s too the rest could buy an unlimited bus rides for a month for £100 on a ticket which you could sell or pass on at the end of the week or two weeks. price each way to Vail is $4.00 and also to Eagle Airport. The cheapest way to travel from Denver is to Hire a Dollar car hire to Eagle--works out at $45 one way trip. then catch Bus to either Avon or Vail for just $4 each. The main Lobby has wonderful seating area, one part at the left hand side has a really lovely seating area with enclosed fire. There are shops and restaurants all over Avon --Dennys has gone--but some tour operaters still have it on their list. Fiesta Jalisco in the Market place is cheap and a very good Mexican.Subway and a restaurant are also in Christie lodge. City Market also 5 minute walk away has EVERYTHING fresh fruit/fish/meat wonderful ranges of every ice cream you could mention. If you get a city market card,-just ask on first day--it lasts every year you come, and you get some really special deals on. I could just go on and on about this place. And it might be worth checking out buying a time share here as we bought two weeks and loved every minute of it. There are some good prices now go on web browser under BUY TIME SHARE. We paid a premium price, but now you can pick up for a bargain.They are putting air conditioning in all units for next summer too.

Room Tip: choose a third level room, with a balcony--you can see more of Avon--but all rooms are a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gardenofEden667102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kegizii, Director of Sales at Christie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Hello United Kingdom,
It is so nice to hear from you. All of your comments are so very kind.
We are working very hard to remodel our physical spaces and update our amenities; so your words are nice to share.
We have just finished the common areas, with new carpet and furniture. All units now have air conditioning. The front bus access doors are next! (This will make it easier for skiers to enter and exit the building).
Please "LIKE" us on face book and watch for updates-we have many more plans in the works!
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Please feel free to call me, should you need anything.
With appreciation,
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was a last minute booking as it was only one available in whole area . As previous reviews have stated, it's a very old complex. The rooms are accessible by stairs only, quite an indoor maze. Room layout is shotgun with a queen tucked into area by door with a very high narrow cot like bed on other wall. Hallway leads to front room with a hideabed, 1 club chair, kitchen table against wall with 4 chairs Kitchen counter above college room sized frig, is 30"x40" no stove but an electric skillet, plus small space above dishwasher.. No cabinets to speak of. There was a portable heater/airconditioner in fireplace but it failed to cool the bedroom. A box fan at least moved air in that area Indoor hot tub was good, plenty of towels there. Sheets and towels switched out 4th day. we were in 191, first floor by game tables and indoor pool, noisy til 9:15 when security shut soccer teams down Don't recommend on site restaurant, bike shop was helpful and friendly.. Close access to Nottingham Park and Eagle Valley trail along river (get on at Westin). Easy access to I70 My daughter, 3 yr old grandson and I managed, but not sure I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid pool/ game table area if quiet is desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Razorsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek
2 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#9 of 18 in Beaver Creek
358 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#6 of 18 in Beaver Creek
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#3 of 18 in Beaver Creek
521 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
8 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christie Lodge

Address: 47 E Beaver Creek Blvd, P.O. Box 1196, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Avon
Price Range: $124 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Christie Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Christie Lodge is your home to relax and enjoy the breathtaking natural beauty of the surrounding mountains in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Conveniently located in the heart of the Vail Valley, the Christie Lodge in Avon, Colorado offers affordable one and three bedroom suites with easy access to Vail and Beaver Creek Resorts. Complimentary access to wireless internet, free parking and no resort fees create added value in this world class mountain destination. Spacious one bedroom suites average 410 square feet and feature a queen bed, kitchenette, wood-burning fireplace in the winter and air conditioning in the summer. Three bedroom suites offer two additional bedrooms containing a queen bed, each with an en suite bathroom. All accommodations offer, two flat screen TV's, a queen pullout sleeper sofa, and a private balcony.Christie Lodge amenities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools and four hot tubs. The lodge also provides a variety of activities including a kid's activity center, ping pong tables, and Foosball. Our 24 hour front desk, knowledgeable concierge staff, local in-house sporting goods shop, on-site car rental and complimentary shuttle service to Beaver Creek Resort highlight the services Christie Lodge provides to our guests. Be yourself at the Christie Lodge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Christie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christie Hotel Avon
The Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing