We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal!”
Review of Blue Plate

Blue Plate
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Plate is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 45 Restaurants in Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: HWY 6
Transit: Eco Transit, our valley wide bus system stops just two blocks away at the Avon Station. Depart the bus and walk West to HWY 6 and then walk one block South. We are on HWY 6 to the right. For the Avon bus system, get off at the Christie Lodge and cross the street.
Description: Like all Americans, the cuisine at the Blue Plate, Avon CO has ancestors from around the globe. They call their world-inspired food "Americana cuisine."
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent meal!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We love this place. Good atmosphere. The food was great. I had the trout. Kids each had the steak from the Children's menu. Perfectly cooked. My husband had the veal schnitzel - very good. I had the trout - excellent. Plus the chef/owner Adam came out to the tables and spoke with everyone and made sure all was great with their meal. He also was donating 25% of customer's bill to Somali relief!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KellenChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    128
    43
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very good food, great service”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I was a bit nervous visiting this place based on some reviews about poor service. Our server could not have been nicer or more attentive. They obviously take feedback to heart. The food was very good. I wish that I had tried the schnitzel as that seemed to delight the diners around me. My tenderloin shoulder steak was very good, tender and well seasoned. The peas and mashed potatoes were also great. This place seems to use quality ingredients and let the food speak for itself and it works. Give it a try. The ambiance is very nice and the prices are great for ritzy Beaver Creek.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willi348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Myriad of Gold Stars for The Blue Plate!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Anyone lucky enough to come upon a restaurant where Chef & Wife are involved in the preparation of the food and in the comfort of the patrons is going to be in for the dining experience of a lifetime - The Blue Plate in Avon, CO is the place.

My wife & I dined here on a busy Friday in March, but we were made to feel as if we were the only couple in the restaurant. While Chef Adam and his team are busily preparing the fine cuisine (nothing to hide, you can see them working), his wife Ellie is the last point of review before individuals receive their "masterpieces en plate" - passion & love in every dish!!!

My wife had the trout and I had the duck - we were first struck by the fresh taste & moist texture of every aspect of the meal - peas and carrots tasted as though they had just been picked before preparation - the dessert - we had the "popover" - WOW!!! - light and airy - not your ordinary popover by any stretch. Lest I forget, although I am not a fan of lamb, Chef prepared a marvelous appetizer combining hummus & lamb that loved and that I will never forget!

When in the Beaver Creek-Vail resort areas, do not miss dining at the The Blue Plate - you owe it to yourself!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paraffinscratcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent fondue”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We went here because we saw that they have cheese and chocolate fondue on the menu. It is fantastic! This place is charming and the food is wonderful. The. Only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is that the service was somewhat lacking.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blancheee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best dinner we had at the Beav”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Loved the Blue Plate from the moment we sat down. From the service not being too pushy, to the pace of the meal, it was just awesome. First of all the bread that they start you off with is some of the best in the valley. My wife is a gluten-free eater, but when she saw my face after I tried the bread, she had to try it...and she agreed. The grape leaves for an app was a great way to go after that. In fact for our last night we had some soup leftover from our grocery trip that we had to eat. We combined that with the bread and 2 grape leaves apps and we were in heaven at our place. If they have the poached chicken as a special, get it. We've never had poached chicken before and it was incredible. The jasmine rice was cooked in the chicken broth with some pita chips. It is served with pomegranate seeds and other pieces of delicious that I cant remember. Just get it. Trust me.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkings12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate also viewed

 
Avon, Beaver Creek
Avon, Beaver Creek
 

Been to Blue Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing