We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice evening, decent food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Plate

Blue Plate
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Plate is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 43 Restaurants in Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: American, German, Wine Bar, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: HWY 6
Transit: Eco Transit, our valley wide bus system stops just two blocks away at the Avon Station. Depart the bus and walk West to HWY 6 and then walk one block South. We are on HWY 6 to the right. For the Avon bus system, get off at the Christie Lodge and cross the street.
Description: Like all Americans, the cuisine at the Blue Plate, Avon CO has ancestors from around the globe. They call their world-inspired food "Americana cuisine."
Portsmouth, NH
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice evening, decent food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I liked the decor and we got a nice circular booth seat which was covered in suede and cozy. Blue Plate is a nice change from a lot of the typical burger and mexican restaurants you get around ski resorts. I had the Blue salad and the crispy artichokes appetizer (with other veggies too in a tempura type batter) and both were good and my husband had a good steak. If you like desserts they have at least 6 choices. Prices were reasonable also.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReadytogoPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    118
    41
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
162 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were trapped in Avon by a closure of I-70 due to weather. Had a wonderful dinner. My wife had a trout almondine special that was excellent and I had the chateaubriand for one which I really enjoyed - and I am not particularly fond of steaks. We had a table so that we could watch evening come over mountains with a bottle of wine. The waiter was very knowledgeable on the offerings and we appreciated his recommendations. On balance, it was nice to be trapped in Avon and we would certainly return to the Blue Plate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VanVlietTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great menu, delicous, beautiful presentation, great ambience and good prices. Owner was very very nice as was our waitress.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have been eating at the Blue Plate since the place opened in its old location across the street in Christy Lodge. The new restaurant is incredibly warm and welcoming. We enjoyed yet another meal there last week, near the end of our annual ski vacation. Everything from the appetizer to the wine was excellent. Highly recommended for a memorable outing with your significant other. See you next year, Adam and Elli!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great New Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The last time we visited this restaurant it was across the street in the Christy Lodge. The food was always good but the new location and decor elevates the restaurant to a new level. If you will be dining without children say so and you will be seated in a quiet area. Our party sampled many apps, entrees and deserts and all were excellent. Nice wine list with good values. Service was excellent and chef came out and visited after dinner. The chef does a great job with classic comfort food without trying to be over-the-top creative - just the way I prefer. We love this place and will return whenever in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dewol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate also viewed

 
Avon, Beaver Creek
 
Avon, Beaver Creek
 

Been to Blue Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing