We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Happy Hour, Good Food & Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Plate

Blue Plate
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: American, Vegan Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: HWY 6
Transit: Eco Transit, our valley wide bus system stops just two blocks away at the Avon Station. Depart the bus and walk West to HWY 6 and then walk one block South. We are on HWY 6 to the right. For the Avon bus system, get off at the Christie Lodge and cross the street.
Description: Like all Americans, the cuisine at the Blue Plate, Avon CO has ancestors from around the globe. They call their world-inspired food "Americana cuisine."
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
232 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour, Good Food & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

After a day of skiing, a bar with with great prices on well made drinks(you can actually taste the liquor) is a nice finish. But we weren't done yet. The decor was tasteful, more NY contemporary than Colorado. Our waitress was attentive and nice. The steak au poivre was perfectly cooked and the sauce was as good as it gets. Dessert was the highlight...a bread pudding topped with a bananas foster. As good as it was, it was too large to finish. We'll come back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OldDukeDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    113
    41
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Avon Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and 3 kids dropped in without a reservation. They quickly accommodated us. Food was really good. I had the 4 bone lamb which was fantastic. Pace of the meal was perfect after a day on the mountain and a hungry family.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JayMcMullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food & Service for Large Group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

As the leader of a ski club group of 38 diners, finding a location in and around Beaver Creek that could handle us on a Thursday night in high season proved challenging. We finally came across Blue Plate Bistro on Trip Advisor and based upon other reviews, started dialogue with their group reservations coordinator. Liz was a pleasure to deal with and she worked with the chef to put together a limited menu option for us that also fit within our budget. They dining room was outstanding, as was the food, and service. I highly recommend this place for anyone, including larger groups looking for a special dinner location.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bratchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePlate, Manager at Blue Plate, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you! The Jacksonville Ski Club was a wonderful group to work with, everyone was so grateful and pleasant. Steve the group leader and I communicated well and he trusted our Chef's choices. We hope to see this group again! The Blue Plate Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Bad attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I dropped in last evening, without reservations. There were tables available, but the hostess' attitude was so surly and uncaring that after we were seated we changed our minds and left.

There is way too much competition in this valley to spend your time and money with people that don't appreciate your business.

We went next door to the far-busier Vin 48, which happily worked us in despite no reservations. Vin 48 was exceptionally good, as it always is.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 41-38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were very pleased with our dining experience here. My husband had the Pork Schnitzel and I had the Crispy Duck. Both were excellent - especially the duck. Our server, Laura, was great as well. We had eaten at the restaurant next door, Vin 46, the night before and were very dissappointed, as the food there was bland.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SLOREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate also viewed

Avon, Beaver Creek
Avon, Beaver Creek
 
Avon, Beaver Creek
 

Been to Blue Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing