We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Experience”
Review of Vin 48

Vin 48
Reserve with OpenTable
Vin 48 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Free Avon restaurant shuttle from Beaver Creek, call (970) 949-1938 for details.
Description: Open table 2011, diners choice most notable wine list, top 50
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First Class Experience”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Our dining experience at Vin 48 was nothing short of first class. We were seated promptly at our reservation time and the service was spectacular. The wine list is very comprehensive and our server, Mike, was very knowledgeable and helpful in guiding us to some excellent choices to enjoy with our dinner. I highly recommend the Malbach. The menu had a very good selection of small plates. I had the Bison Carpaccio and it literally melted in your mouth. My friend ordered the Pork Cheeks and it too was one of the best things I have ever eaten. There was a good selection of large-plates as well as a nightly special. I chose the Skula Bay Salmon; again just perfect. The small plates are sharable for two and the portions on the large plates were just right. For us the night was so enjoyable because of the top-notch service we received. Mike was very personable and very attentive, he truly made us feel welcome and ensured we had everything we needed to have an enjoyable evening. We look forward to the next time we have the opportunity to visit Vin 48.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bitpals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    136
    46
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and wine.”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We sat in the bar at a high top table. It was a nice atmosphere and the music was good. We were all very happy with our meals. They had a nice wine list and a lot of wines by the glass.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank iamkt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Solid restaurant, extensive wine list but pricey”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We've eaten dinner at Vin many times, most recently the 2nd week of January. In our experience the service has been consistently good, even when the restaurant has been full, the food creative and delicious. On this occasion we ordered small plates as appetizers, and other small plates as entrees (several each diner). The waiter offered to make a wine selection, but the wine he recommended (which we know well) was an Oregon Pinot Noir at over $ 135.00 a bottle. We understand that this is a ski town but we weren't thrilled with a recommendation that seemed VERY pricey for the bottle. Besides we had such a variety of plates we opted for wines by the glass so we could better compliment the different foods. We were happy with the various wines although one of our friends thought her pour was a little "light". If you can make it in for the happy hour at Vin they have a nice selection of small plates at lower prices and good wine specials. To be fair to the restaurant they have a very extensive wine list of excellent wines and many of the wines you don't normally see in restaurants, or are limited release wines.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PauluchfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Subpar evening for this excellent restaurant”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten at this excellent restaurant many times over the years and were a bit disappointed in a subpar experience last night. To begin with, I felt rather unwelcome at the reception desk. The regular receptionist/owner continued to talk to an employee for a long time without acknowledging us visually or verbally and then passed menus to a lackey to seat us without a hint of welcome. We liked our table in the wine cellar area and had very competent service. The huge, varied wine list by the glass/half glass was excellent as usual. My beet/goat cheese salad was very good as we're my lamb sliders. Unfortunately, the luscious looking accompanying fries were close to inedible because they were so salty. We will be back but with less enthusiasm than usual.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
601 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“A good reason to leave BC Village”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We usually do not leave Beaver Creek Village to dine during our ski vacations, but we wanted to try something new that Tuesday. I'm so glad we drove into Avon because Vin48 was GREAT.

Staff was excellent. The friendly host checked our coats; our busser made small talk and ensured we had water and bread and dipping sauces whenever we requested it; and our server was smooth, knowledgeable, organized, and seemed to genuinely care about our experience even as his other tables grew occupied. An observation of the staff that night was they were all male, at least from where we sat.

Food... well, I loved everything we tried. As foodies who strive to try everything, having the option of small plates made so much sense to us. Grilled baby octopus was perhaps the weakest dish we tried (nothing wrong, but we've had better octopi at Mizuna in Denver and Aqui Esta Coco in Chile), yet we still gobbled them all up. The seared scallops, on the other hand, were among the best I've had; tender, medium-sized, and perfectly cooked. We loved the 7x ranch marinated skirt steak with the roasted turnips - the turnips were delicious, tender, and I'm encouraged to buy more turnips at home. The artisan cheese plate was very generous and served on a long wooden board with a variety of nuts and dried fruits; we delighted in the selection as each cow, goat, and sheep cheese each had its own distinct personality.

My wine was tasty, and they do have several by-the-glass options, which I appreciate as we always have a designated driver. Vin48 also offers non-alcoholic sodas and coffees.

Overall, prices were actually reasonable. We were stuffed at the end of the meal.

The restaurant is easy to find, though the front entrance is not obvious. Our dining room off to the right had an industrial, minimalist feel to it with tall ceilings, bare concrete floors and walls, and dashes of red. Floor-to-ceiling windows overlooked the parking lot, but it snowed light powdery stuff that night, lending a bit of magic and warmth to the room. The bathroom was nicely appointed and modern, but the bare, high-ceilinged room seemed to magnify all sounds... ahem. The bar area looked neat, as did the open kitchen, and we could hear the chef calling out orders including ours.

We'd love to go back. RECOMMENDED.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aerofaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vin 48 also viewed

Avon, Beaver Creek
Avon, Beaver Creek
 

Been to Vin 48? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing