We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique & Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vin 48

Vin 48
Reserve with OpenTable
Vin 48 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Gluten Free, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Free Avon restaurant shuttle from Beaver Creek, call (970) 949-1938 for details.
Description: Open table 2011, diners choice most notable wine list, top 50
Level Contributor
249 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Unique & Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We came here for dinner and were pleasantly surprised how good the foods are. From the “small plates” on the menu, we chose the grilled kale salad and warm goat cheese for starters. Both were unique and delicious. For the main course, we had the seared duck breast and the grilled Scottish salmon from the “large plate” selection. The duck breast was exactly what I had expected. According to my husband, the salmon was cooked to perfection – juice and tender. However, I don’t understand why the chef chose to pair the duck breast with escargot. Though I like both, they don’t seem to belong to the same plate. I would rather have the escargot as a starter. In addition, my only complaint about my food is that the bed of vegetable under the duck tasted fishy. If this was intentional, is should made known since not everyone likes fishy taste.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Waverunner2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    118
    42
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We ate here as our farewell to Beaver Creek and just loved it. When we arrived the staff remembered that we were having a special dinner and gave us a choice of tables...I was impressed that they actually recalled it was a special night for us. The wine list was fabulous and we loved the various food options--we had some who mixed small plates (generous portions for small plates) and those who enjoyed large plates. Our server was super and she gave us good recommendations and was attentive but not lingering. We all agreed that Vin 48 was "the" favorite dinner while in town...would recommend to anyone visiting the area. I wish we had found sooner so we could have tried out the bar area with huge wine by the glass options!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We ate here twice during a week-long stay, once at the bar and once in the dining room. Both meals were consistently very good. We enjoyed the small plates, especially the mussels with chorizo, the pork cheeks, the kale salad, and the pork belly. The decor is modern, attractive and well lit. Very friendly and attentive service, excellent choice of wines. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Otto1494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent wine advice, amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Like the title says, of all the restaurants we tried over a week at Beaver Creek, Vin 48 was one of our favorites. Amazing scallops, lots of wines to choose from and excellent advice. A little busy, but in a way that proves they run a great restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vin48 don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This restaurant was a real winner! We had half dishes as well as full entrées and one dish was better than the next. There were no complaints and all we could think of was how lucky we were to have stumbled upon this restaurant! Our server with Patrick and he was truly a pro!

We had duck done to perfection, scallops seared beautifully, Bison carpaccio which was beyond tasty and a goat meat dish that was a delectable surprise! Our deserts of gelato and cheese cake with chocolate covered strawberries made this a very memorable visit to Beaver Creek in Avon, Colorado.

The restaurant was lovely and quiet enough to hear conversations easily! If you are skiing or vacationing in the area, don't miss this restaurant!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank juneidzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vin 48 also viewed

Avon, Beaver Creek
Avon, Beaver Creek
 
Avon, Beaver Creek
 

Been to Vin 48? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing