We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good BBQ”

Montana's Smokehouse
Ranked #17 of 46 Restaurants in Avon
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Delafield, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good BBQ”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We decided to venture to this restaurant because we heard about it on WSKE radio they were going to have a country artist performing. The restaurant offers a large menu of salads, sandwiches and entrees. They also offer three different sauces. I ordered the herb roasted chicken/brisket combo. The chicken fell off the bone and the brisket was tender. The blackberry habanero sauce only tasted of habanero. I didn't get any other flavor other than heat. The mild sauce was smokey. My husband ordered the catfish and rib combo. He usually doesn't order ribs in a restaurant because he says no one makes them than I do. He was pleasantly surprised. He loved the blackened catfish. He said the ribs came in a close second to mine. Each entree came with two sides. The service was excellent, but the restaurant wasn't very busy. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    108
    41
    29
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy! ”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We ate there with our family of six (4 kids ages 2-8). Our waiter had a great personality and was very informative and helpful. Kids meals are only $5 (only negative kids pop is $2.50). We all ate the brisket and pulled pork meal, pulled pork sandwiches and grilled cheese .... all were great and we took home leftovers! The must is the Brussels sprouts and the parmesan fries .. oh yes! Very good! We will be here over a week and we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great BBQ great beer great price”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Ate here for lunch. Had the pork rib a and brisket combo with cornbread, beans, and fries. The brisket was to die for, the ribs good also. The sauces had good flavor. The beans were a bit spicy but good for my taste and the fries were skinny cooked well with a dash of Parmesan. Great beer selection, corona light on tap is perfect on a warm summer afternoon. Would eat here again. Platters are big enough to share for sure.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Archeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, MO
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Boiled meat”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I have had BBQ from many places and various styles of BBQ, but this was a first. I usually don't write reviews about restaurants because taste buds vary greatly, but the food was so bad, I decided to write a review. I had pork ribs and brisket combo with Cole slaw, potato salad and cornbread. The meat had zero taste. The ribs and brisket tasted like boiled meat that was thrown on a BBQ. There was no smokey flavor. The BBQ sauce couldn't hide the bland taste of the meat. The cornbread was hard and chewy. The coleslaw and potato salad were not bad, but nothing to write home about. Eat at your own risk of disappointment.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whoop1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, FL
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Had to try BBQ”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We enjoyed our lunch. The 1/2 chicken plate was excellent as was the blue chip crusted cat fish. You'll also like the large cornbread and slaw. We both ordered the sautéed brussel sprouts and think they needed to be cooked longer. A bit too chewy for us.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana's Smokehouse also viewed

Avon, Beaver Creek
Avon, Beaver Creek
 

Been to Montana's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing