We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret”

Beaver Creek Nordic Center
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I had never xc skied before and gave it a shot. I'm hooked! The staff was great, the included group lesson was great, and I'm loving a new sport. There are so few people taking advantage of McCoy park that you have it all to yourself.

Helpful?
2 Thank sequitur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    6
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Discover Snow Shoeing”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beaver Creek's Nordic Center offers a different way to enjoy the mountain! Resort staff encouraged me to try snow shoeing (downhill skiing is not an option this season), so I warily signed up for a nature tour. The friendly staff, beautiful views and great workout made for a terrific experience. I will definitely add it to my list winter sports!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GWUGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Desert, Maine
Level Contributor
221 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“really helpful and friendly”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

personal, quick and friendly service gets you out the door and on the mountain fast either for equipment, lessons or info about the nordic trails. Love it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JH928S4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail,CO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best kept secret.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Everytime I enjoy McCoy Park it always amazes me that very few people are up there. What a gem this is. The scenery : top of the world, and trail system is easy to navigate. If you can WALK, you can snowshoe, so for those looking for something to do here other than skiing, this is a must. Pack a backpack with a picnic lunch & head over to the yurt!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank vailrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,TX
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Snowshoeing in the winter in McCoy park!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

For anyone in the area that wants to enjoy the snow but can't (or doesn't want to) ski/snowboard, I highly recommend going to the BC Nordic Center and renting some snowshoes and going up Strawberry lift to McCoy park. It is unbelievably beautiful and gives visitors the sense of 'getting up on the mountain'. The people that work there are friendly and helpful and will answer questions about the park and the various trails.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JennerTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaver Creek Nordic Center also viewed

 

Been to Beaver Creek Nordic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing