We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice but not certainly not a 5 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Falcon Point Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Falcon Point Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Avon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice but not certainly not a 5 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have Interval and expect nice rooms. This room was indeed nice but certainly needs some work (ex. ceiling in bathroom is peeling). Our TV/DVD didn't work so we called in a request to have someone come and look. We got the anticipated "women can't work electronics" and a snippy attitude. When he couldn't fix it either, we got "Oh, I can't get it to work either". Wow, that's why we called. Finally, with some other help, that was fixed. Just didn't need the attitude. Oh, while the maintenance guy was here, we mentioned that the drawer in the fridge wouldn't shut properly. Response? "Oh yeah, does that sometimes." The rooms are nice though, and has everything we need. Customer service needs some adjustment is all. Mumbling responses and not very helpful. If you're coming for the room, this is a nice spot. If you're coming expecting some service, go somewhere where people are at least glad to have you stay at their resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    42
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
33
35
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed three nights in a studio condo at Falcon Point. We asked
for a quiet room and a view, and we got both! The condo is large for
a studio and the kitchen is separate. The condo was clean and attractive.
Also, the location was good, being close to the rec center and the ski
shuttle. Although we didn't use it, Falcon Point had an indoor pool and
exercise room. The staff was friendly and helpful. Cookies are a nice
touch in the afternoon. We'd stay again!

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room on the back side where it's quieter and you can see Avon Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Four of us stayed a week in early Feb. for a ski trip (Interval exchange) and were very happy with Falcon Point. We had a 2BR down the end of the hall and had nice view of mountain and lake. Really enjoyed the size, especially since we had about eight friends over to watch the Super Bowl. Plenty of room for all to hang out. Bedrooms were on the smaller side but still big enough. The fixtures, furniture and carpet were a bit dated, as others noted, but definitely acceptable. Kitchen was nice, but could have used a few more pots and pans...still acceptable. The location was very convenient to both Avon and Beaver Creek Resort and on the regular free shuttle route (10 mins. to mtn.) just a short walk away. Also just a short 15 minute drive to Vail. I'd go back to Falcon Pt.

Room Tip: If a 2BR is required, end of hall is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fishgolfNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The room was spacious enough with the stocked kitchen, dishwasher, 2 burner top, and table. It was nice to have a full kitchen stocked with pots/pans, plates, cups and utensils for cooking in unit. Also there are free lockers for skis and equipment in garage along with a drying station for boots etc. Not too far a walk to the Gondola behind the Sheraton, about 5-7 mins. Nice view of lake from our room. We even got a bonus fireworks show since they couldn’t have the fireworks on the 4th of July, they held them in February.

We did have great customer service and very friendly encounters at the front desk when checking in and when asking for directions to the Gondola and places we could walk to for dinner. The other guests were also very friendly and welcoming.

There was a sauna and an indoor/outdoor pool with 2 outdoor hot tubs as well as 2 grills in the pool area.

Despite all these pros, the quality was lacking. The shower curtain had mildew on it, the door handle/keybox on the outside of the door to our room was barely attached to the door and would come almost all the way off when you pulled on it and we didn’t have a humidifier in the room, which was posted on-line as an amenity. I will say that as soon as we called these 3 problems in, we had housekeeping and a utility guy at our door within 5 minutes. House keeping brought us a humidifier and changed out our curtain for a brand new one and the door handle was re-attached to our door.

There was also a lack of outlets in the room. My boyfriend and I both had laptops and cell phones that needed to be charged, but we struggled to find outlets convenient to the desk or bed. There is free garage parking, but be very careful if you have a car that is low to the ground. We had a Malibu and bottomed out the car when driving in and out, even though we went very slowly.

The rooms just felt as though they needed some updating and refreshing. All in all it was a fine stay and the customer services was great. It’s too bad the quality was poor, because this could be a great location at a great price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We traded our timeshare through interval international for this condo. We were pleasantly surprised upon our arrival. Although an older facility it has been recently updated. The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The room had recently been renovated with new furnishings, kitchen and bathrooms. The size of the unit, we had a 2 bedroom, was one of the largest we had ever stayed in on a trade. We were a family of 5 with 2 big teenage boys. We had a first floor corner unit that was big and bright. We enjoyed the outdoor whirlpool each day after skiing. The underground garage was useful to keep our skis and boots in to keep them warm. First floor laundry was convenient. The location is 5 minutes from Beaver Creek Mountain and 10 miles from Vail. Overall convenient location for anything in town including supermarket and restaurants. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone doing a trade and looking for a week of fun in the Avon/Beaver Creek area.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor corner room if available. Bright, large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BSLAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at Falcon Point the 2nd week of January in a 2BR unit. The place is a little older, but very well maintained. Units have been/are being renovated. On the plus side, the kitchen is huge. Probably the biggest of any timeshare we have stayed in. The living area is also nice sized for 4-6 people. Bedrooms were decent sized, bathrooms and dining area were on the smaller side, but worked fine for our group of 4.
Laundry facilities are on 1st and 5th floors. Would prefer it in my room, but still worked out fine for a midweek wash. There are 2 gas grills by the pool/hot tub area. Also have pool table and ping pong table. Did find it strange that the exercise room did not open until 8 AM. By then we were getting ready for the slopes, so did not use.

Location is really convenient. About a 3-4 minute walk to the ski shuttle and 5-8 minutes to numerous bars/restaurants. Overall, a nice quiet place to stay in Avon while taking advantage of the slopes at Beaver Creek. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

These are very nice condo units. We stayed in a one bedroom (#403) on the south side of the building with a balcony and wood burning fireplace. The view of the lake from the living area/balcony was perfect, with the sun setting behind it in the evening. We were disappointed that we couldn't use the fireplace due to a county wide burning ban, but the weather was so nice that it really didn't matter. The unit was VERY clean and had a nicely updated kitchen with great appliances and all manner of cooking utensils, pots/pans, etc. The bathroom was spotless too, but small, with only one sink and a noisy fan loud enough to wake me up in the adjacent bedroom. Our bedroom had a king size bed with a comfortable pillow top mattress and large flat screen tv (also a nice large flat screen in the living area).

The condo complex is located by a pretty little lake with a walking path around it. Easy access on and off I-70 and a short drive to Vail, Leadville, Aspen, etc.

All in all, a great weekend stay. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat and enjoyed ourselves immensely.

Room Tip: I don't think you could beat room 403. Great views, all updated and nicely laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceansaway77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
0.4 mi away
Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge
#4 of 8 in Avon
3.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek
2.2 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#2 of 20 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#8 of 20 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeside Terrace
Lakeside Terrace
#12 of 20 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Point Resort

Property: Falcon Point Resort
Address: 175 Lake Street, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falcon Point Resort is located next to Nottingham Lake in Avon, Colorado. We are a timeshare property with Studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom units, all of our units have kitchens. We have a family style clubhouse with a small gym, men's and women's restrooms, a large TV room with pool table, ping pong and foosball. Our pool is a swim in and out along with two hot tubs and 2 BBQ grills for our guests. Come visit us year-round for the many activities Colorado has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Falcon Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Point Hotel Avon
Falcon Point Resort Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing