We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley
Nearby Hotels
$97
$95
ComfortInn
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bachelor Gulch Condos(Beaver Creek)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveler rating
219
214
77
38
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
214
77
38
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchengas grillliving roomjacuzzi tubsun deckvideo gameswasher dryerfree underground parkingpost officetraveling with kidslarge bathroomcharter sportsfitness roomski lockerssmall marketair hockeyski shop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
468 - 473 of 564 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed for only one night, but the accommodations were great! The resort is very nice. Check-in was a breeze and our rooms (we had 2) were great! There was a mini-fridge in both units which is great when you are traveling with kids. The bathroom was nice as was the bed - very comfy. The only downside is, there is no air conditioning & if your room is facing the street, it can be noisy to open your window at night. They did provide nice fans in the rooms which helped. Most of the hotels that I have stayed at in the Vail/Avon & Beaver Creek areas do not have a/c - that is just common in the mountains. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PreferTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2010

We agree, a great place to stay in the mountains. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I read everything online prior to going to the Mountain Vista. We had a mountain view, which I requested prior to arriving. It cut down on the noise. The room was comfortably decorated and nice, and it was very clean. No sign of excessive wear and tear.

The amenities suich as pots, towels, etc. were minimal and I had to ask for a couple of extra things, but they were brought up right away.

Not much in the way of resort amenities or lobby amenities, not many places to "hang out" in the resort. The concierge was OK, but they didnt have trail maps of Beaver Creek (I will give them the benefit of the doubt, it was the end of the season). Internet in the room was sketchy at best and really slow and annoying. It was really hard to do anything in the room on the internet because it was so slow and would time out. Loading the trail map from the Beaver Creek website took forever in the room.

The grill was a nice feature and we did use it. Parking is underground, a nice feature since it snowed so much while we were there. The grocery store was close and really big, but its pretty far if you have lots of groceries and are thinking of walking to it. There are some really good restaurants within walking distance, but the resort is located in an area with a lot of parking lots, think office complex, not sidewalks and lawns.

The biggest complaint I have is the temperature. It was really hot inside our room and we had to keep our windows open while we were in the room. It was 19 degrees outside, so it made for a delicate balancing act of how much to crack open the window.

Regarding skiing, the resort was 9 miles from Vail and very close to Beaver Creek. It did take two buses to get to the slopes of Beaver Creek. However, we drove to and parked in the free lot and took one bus up to the top. It was pretty simple. The other option is to take the bus to near the Westin, walk over the tracks, and take the gondola up. I wish the resort had a shuttle to the slopes. It would be a nice feature.

We absolutely LOVED Beaver Creek and Vail and the whole area and are going back next year (staying at a different place). I would highly recommend a family vacation in the area. It is awesome, and my kids had an awesome time. There is something to do for everyone. Regarding the Sheraton, if you dont mind the heat turned up, the rooms and the resort were fine for a ski area. No complaints as to cleanliness (and I am particular) or decoration, size or layout.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrlawgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2010

Your review has provided us with some really detailed feedback and we thank you for taking the time. We were pleased to have you describe the resort as comfortably decorated, nice and very clean. It is especially thrilling having a self described "particular" person say they had no complaints about cleanliness. In July of this year we spent $78,000 upgrading our high speed internet. If you were to return you would be pleased with the speed of the connection. From your comments we couldn’t tell if you had a chance or even knew to visit Avon's beautiful Nottingham Park and Lake located just behind the Sheraton next to the Avon Recreation Center. In the winter with the lake frozen the city clears the snow off the lake and allows free ice skating. The park also offers some of the best sledding hills around. The problem you described with the heat appears to have been identified as a zone valve problem requiring repair in several of our villas. We are currently in the process of inspecting every villa and making necessary repairs. We are sorry to hear you will stay at a different place this next year, and hope at some point will allow us the opportunity to provide your accommodations again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We just got back from spring skiiing at Beaver Creek and Vail. We own with Marriott and exchanged to get this property. I was concerned after reading some of the reviews about Mountain Vista. I must say most of the negative comments were unfounded during our stay.

We had a full size one bedroom with a full kitchen. The rooms are smaller than your average time share but there were only three of us so it wasn't to bad. The toliet did stop up once and maintenence responded right away and resolved the issue. Are the rooms hot.....ABSOLUTELY....this is true..we opened the windows when we left for skiing so the room would be nice and cool when we returned. The only truely negative thing I can say about the rooms is that the walls are paper thin. We could hear the loud people next to us almost every night.

The location of the property is great. We did not take the shuttle. We drove to Beaver Creek and Vail and utilized the Valet parking service. I did hear people in the lobby complain about the shuttle.

Wireless internet.....forget it unless your in the hotel lobby. The connection is free but only works from the lobby. At about 7a.m. every morning the lobby was full of laptop users...

Overall we had a great stay and would stay there again if we had the chance. We found a great bakery (Avon Bakery) in town that had fresh bagels and breads that was only a few blocks away by Burger King. We also ate at Beaver Creek Chophouse Spago's and the Dusty Boot. All of these were pretty good and worth visiting.

On a side note we went snowmobiling with White Mountain Tours and it was truly an awesome experience. We climbed to approximately 12500ft above sea level and the views were fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smnlefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

My were a group of 6 old friends that had 2 units & after traveling from NJ & MD we were hoping to spend time together catching up on life and take in some beautiful Colorado landscapes. After arriving, we were disappointed to learn that our units would not be connected but down the hall from each other and that due to a busy week .. there were no connecting units available for a few days. After then requesting if our units could at least have a view of BeaverCreek mountain we were again denied. But determined to not let this fact disappoint the group we moved in. Although the thermostats were as low as they could go ... the units were extremely hot and stuffy. We spent the week with the bedroom window and the slider in the living room open. There is a free standing humidifier in each unit that did help to add some humidity to the units and also helped deter the street noise which was non stop all day & night. The heating units in the bedrooms would all of a sudden start knocking and making very loud noises in the middle of the night. Although the maintenance man tried to bleed the lines .. the noise continued. We all skiied on very very little rest. The roof hot tub was a good idea but i9t was very small and the jets were not always working properly so it turned into a small rooftop pool ... Although Erin the Manager & Diana were very & as helpful as possible friendly ... the rest of the staff was not overly helpful and at times sorta rude. The units in general were ok ... but could use a freshen up .. We definitely missed having a stove but was resourseful with the grill that was n the terrace. The location was close to the mountain and the town of Avon had many ammenities but we will probably choose another location for our group skiing rendezvous.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellsbellsny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

It was a nightmare week at this Sheraton Mountain Vista. There was no room at the neighboring Westin, so they put us up here. No restaurant, so no food, unless you count the market that sold cold sandwiches until 6:00 p.m. Also, we weren't told there would be NO CLEANING the entire week. They come in once a week and change the towels - that's it. The heating unit in our bedroom wouldn't go below 90 degrees so we had horrible nights. And for two nights in a row, the smoke alarm went off, the batteries were low, and someone came to change them but apparently didn't do it correctly so we were woken up AGAIN the next night by the beeping. Also, you could smell everyone's cooking in the other suites. Our place smelled of curry the entire week. No lighting for my daughter to do her homework project. There is supposed to be free WiFi but we couldn't get a connection for more than 20 seconds at a time, and that took at least 15 minutes to connect. We had to go to the lobby to get on the internet.

The hotel staff was very friendly and kept apologizing but we will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisatraveler0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews