We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuine Italian comfort food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ticino

Ticino
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Genuine Italian comfort food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had dinner here with a table full of Italian Americans from back east, we ALL enjoyed our evening at Ticino's. The owner met us at the door and made us feel welcome on a cold and snowy night, and we were HUNGRY from a full day of skiing. We ordered a pizza as an appetizer, thin crust, with the right amount of mozzarella and a good tomato sauce. The entrees came out together (busy place) and were all nicely done, pretty large portions, but great for hungry skiers. Really good wines by the bottle at probably the most reasonable prices in the valley. The restaurant is on the small side but if you time your visit should be no problem. If you're tired of mediocre food and crappy service at outrageous prices at many of the other restaurants in Avon, give Ticino's a shot, it's well worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PauluchfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    121
    29
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
University Place, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Italian, Quaint Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

The friendly staff and atmosphere add to the food. If you're really into Italian, this is average but if Olive Garden is your norm, then this will certainly exceed your expectations. The spaghetti carbonara was delicious. The noodles weren't quite al dente but still good. Did not get asked if I wanted another glass of wine so the service was spotty. The food made up for it! I would recommend for reasonable priced Italian in Beaver Creek - walked over from the Westin.

Helpful?
Thank SNH15708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
“Authentic and quality food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We were so delighted to spend our Christmas Eve at Ticino! This family-owned restaurant was able to accommodate our family even though they had multiple reservations. We had the salmon, three different homemade pastas, salad, and cannoli! The food had excellent quality and beautiful ambiance. We had a wonderful time!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Incredible italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Don't let the location fool you. This restaurant had the best Italian food we have ever had in the Beaver Creek area (also much cheaper than in the village). Our waitress was part of the family of the restaurant and was so nice and helpful. All of their pasta is homemade and everything is very fresh. We split a Caesar salad and spaghetti with bolognaise and meatballs and it was more than enough for two people. The salad was wonderful and the meal was heavenly. The homemade sauce and meatballs were to die for, as well as the homemade pasta. The bread they served before our meal was very fresh as well and delicious. Wish we had room for dessert, as we heard the tiramisu is amazing. The restaurant was very small and cozy and decorated very nicely. It was very homey.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patty168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great first night restaurant to make you feel right at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Walked over to the perfect family run Italian restaurant on our first night in Avon. We couldn't be more pleased with what we found and experienced. Homemade pasta, cozy/charming atmosphere and fantastic owners who spent time to tell us about their "baby"...Ticino. We learned about how Charles, Sasha and Sabina came to opening up this wonderful restaurant and some of their family history. They made us feel like we were sitting at their family table. Had the asiago appetizer, fresh homemade penne topped with sausage and papparadelle pasta with salmon and a wonderful bottle of Super Tuscan wine (100% sangiovese...can't beat that). Don't miss this quaint Italian restaurant, you won't regret it. Have to go back for the taramisu (heard it's to die for)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn and Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ticino also viewed

 
Avon, Beaver Creek
 
Avon, Beaver Creek
 

Been to Ticino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing