We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ticino

Ticino
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Brilliant Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

We were staying at the comfort in in Avon and decided we could not be bothered with taking the car out to go for our evening meal, ticinos is a few minutes walk from the hotel. From the entrance throughout the small shopping mall the place did not look much but fortunately we went in anyway. Once inside, it is very cozy, the staff is extremly friendly ( father and son). We like to try different places to eat when we are on vacation and very rarely eat Italian as my mum is Italian ( and nothing is as good as my mums cooking). We ended up eating here 3 times in the week. Everyone in the restaurant was raving about the food. We tried to sample different things each time we went. The gorgonzola pizza is wonderful, the gnocchi is second best to my mums, I always find it to be too soft, but this had a bit of bite to it. The marinara and rosa sauces were excellent, and the meatballs, again, second best to my mums. We had a bottle of the house red wine ( California cab, I
think it was called something like north coast), which was an unpretentious, very drinkable wine. Can highly recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    121
    29
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great thin crust pizzas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

Ticino is a small little restaurant. Family run. We're basically pizza snobs, so I was dubious when we found this place online. The pizzas are about 12 inches and can be easily split between two people. Our group ordered four pizzas for four people..... Good thing we have a fridge at the Westin Villas!! The pizza crust is crispy, the sauce has great flavor, the toppings are good. I had the carne and all the meats were flavorful. We also had a margharita which was also good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrittTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful pizza/pasta at moderate prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Based on previous reviews, we chose to take our Italian food-loving friends to Ticino during our recent stay at Beaver Creek. Forewarned about its hard to find location, we parked out front and detoured around the building until we saw its neon sign. Seating inside is limited, but, luckily, it was off-season so we didn't have a long wait. Everyone was happy with their entrees. The pizzas were deemed delicious - I especially liked my Gorgonzola pizza. And, the overall favorite homemade pasta topping was the "la rosa" sauce. Too bad we were too full to try the tiramisu!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy-FloMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Both the food and the service were excellent. The quality of food (fresh ingredients and authentic Italian preparation) stood out. The mushroom soup was delicious and so was our Pizza / salad / pasta. The location was a bit difficult to find (in Avon Center, Avon) - however, it was well worth it. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dhoda_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We ate there 6 times over the 3 weeks we stayed in Avon (August 2011). We tried the pizza, the specials, the items on the a-la-carte and the build your own pasta - all were excellent.
The staff were friendly and very efficient. The owner chatted to all the diners to check that everything was ok with their meal.
Very highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ticino also viewed

 
Avon, Beaver Creek
 

Been to Ticino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing