We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some problems but great overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Some problems but great overall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

The Good Stuff:

1. Location - this is pretty much ski in ski out. The hotel is right next to the gondala that takes you to the chair up to Bachelor Gulch. Within 10 minutes, you're right in the middle of the ski area. Dead easy to ski to both Beaver and Arrowhead (very quiet slopes).

2. Proximity to Avon - far more amenities than Beaver Creek. It's not as exclusive, so it's cheaper. There is a regular bus service into Beaver that takes 5 minutes or 15 (if you get the one that goes via the parking lots). So you can have a night out in Beaver if you wish.

3. Great staff - everyone was friendly and knowledgeable from the girls on reception (shout out to Andrea), the restaurant (Angel), the bar (Teddy and Carlos) and all the guys in the ski locker who look after your gear.

4. Facilities - 3 hot tubs, big pool, great gym. The Avondale bar and restaurant is very good.

5. Rooms - very comfy bed, we had a kitchenette which was handy.

6. If you don't use housekeeping, you get a voucher to spend in the hotel complex.

The Bad Stuff

1. The bathroom was freezing despite numerous attempts by staff to warm it up. There is no underfloor heating or heated towel rail. Hats off to Westin for trying to be green, but these would have been sensible touches!

2. Very stuffy bedroom - despite the above, it was really difficult to get a pleasant environment in the room. It was very, very dry despite us having the humidifier going constantly. We both slept badly through our 10 night stay and woke with dreadful headaches feeling like we had bad colds. We did wonder whether there was a carbon monoxide leak but the monitors were all working. We were fine outside.

3. Static electricity. Please don't laugh but you could have run a tv from the electricity I produced in that room! Every time I turned over in bed, you could see the electricity run through the sheets and hear it crackle. By morning, I would touch something metal and practically spark! It's a feature of the thin air apparently, but I would have thought the hotel would use natural fibres to try to limit it!

4. $20 resort tax per day for use of the ski locker and pool etc. Ouch.

5. The restaurant is separate to the hotel so check if you have an inclusive rate. If not, you're looking at $15 plus tax. It's good but if money is tight, you may be better going to Joes.

6. Housekeeping - as other reviews have noted, this is a problem. On the days we had housekeeping, it was very slack. Only the bed was made. Bins were not emptied, toiletries and coffee not replenished. Bit poor really.

But all in all, a great hotel and I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Avon / Beaver.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GallopingLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    235
    77
    39
    35
See reviews for
375
358
38
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

Love the food! Love the View! Love the place!

Great service, and a fair price for beaver creek, I can not see why anyone would go anywhere else. I can not say enough about the work out room as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alantaskiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

I stayed here for 5 nights with my family for a ski trip. While the hotel was new and quite pleasant, I would not rush back.
Here is why:
1. The service was less than excellent. The ski concierge did not remember our names, not after 5 days, they seemed disgruntled a bit. The maid service was inconsistent--some days they would replenish our bottles of shampoo, other days they would not. None of this was a big deal, but it defines the difference between a 4-star hotel and a 5-star one.
2. The location is just okay. The "town" of Avon does not have much to it, and is not very nice. You have to take a shuttle into Beaver Creek to go out at night. While it says it is "ski-in, ski-out" and it is, there is a gondola that takes you to the backside of the mountain and you have to ski to the main area (or hop on a bus there). It would be much better to be in the town of Beaver Creek or Bachelor Gulch.

The restaurant in the hotel is very good, and overall we had a very nice stay. If I were to return to Beaver Creek, I would prefer to stay at the Park Hyatt or Ritz Carlton as they are in better locations and have better service.
However, for the money, the Westin is a good value.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromNYCtoTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

This is our second stay at the Riverside Westin. We also stayed in July 2009. Overall the facility is fantastic. Rooms are immaculate, beds are comfy. Our lesson learned is that the "heated" 84-degree pool is really meant for exercise, not for leisure. It is near torture to have to take our young kids for a swim. They don't care if their lips turn blue. The hot tubs are great but too hot for young ones.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southridingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

Got a pretty good rate for the one bedroom penthouse suite. This included free wireless internet, free valet parking, a small welcome gift, and use of spa. The suite had wonderful views in three directions, was quiet, and rather expansive. In addition to the master bedroom with large master bathroom (separate bath and shower; two sinks) we had a 3/4 bath, a large dining/living room with gas fire place, and a large kitchen with breakfast bar. The kitchen had great appliances including top notch microwave, dish washer, full size refrigerator/freezer, toaster, blender, double sink, ice maker in the fridge. There were two late model flat panel TVs, one in the living room over the fireplace (gas, electric on/off) and the other smaller one in the master bedroom. There was a small room off the master bedroom with closets, a desk, great views, and a sofa bed (my large teen age son slept there as he had his 'own' room then). There was also a stacked clothes washer and drier. An awesome situation for a ski vacation.

The food at the hotel restaurant was good to excellent though pricey. There was a small market/deli for quick drinks and sandwiches on the way to the slopes. There was an outdoor heated lap pool (incredilbe) as well as outdoor whirlpool/hot tub. The room service was very good. The maid service was also good and they responded to special requests quite well. The bell service and front desk were also quite helpful. The concierge was helpful but rather insistent on pushing sales for the nearby Westin Villa property which was a turnoff.

The hotel has a ski valet where they store all your gear and are helpful. There is also a ski store for rentals and to purchase equipment. They were customer focused and quite helpful with questions and equipment adjustments.

The property is technically not ski in/ski out. There is a gondola 30 feet outside the ski valet that takes you to a major lift onto the mountain and it is very convenient. The big drawback to that approach is you have to plan your way back to that side of the mountain carefully as the ski day comes to an end. This was not a big deal though and we all loved the easy access.

There are a lot of nearby food choices from Burger King and Dennys to upscale restaurants in the Beaver Creek, Vail, and surrounding town areas.

We would come back in a heart beat and we would time it the same way...just before everyone else's spring break. The slopes were nearly empty. Almost forgot, bring Fido, the hotel is pet friendly (we saw about 6 dogs).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValueEquation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

Second year in a row spent Presidents Weekend ski trip with 8, 11, 13 and 16 year old kids at this resort and was fantastic.Two bedroom suite is huge for the big group. Kids loved outdoor pool, adults loved on premise ski rental, ski valet and gondola outside door. Brunch was excellent. Bell staff was exceptional. Very expensive but worth ever penny.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOB-Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

Stayed here in January this year.Can't beat the location- right next to the Gondola to the Beaver Creek ski slopes.The self-contained suite was lovely & had plenty of room for me. husband & 16 year old daughter.Outdoor hottubs with views of the mountain, day spa, fitness centre & beautiful lobby with library & fireplaces (& fabulous outlook) meant the hopeless skier in the family (me) had as great a time as the rest of the family who stayed on the slopes all day.The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.A very long way from Australia, but we all thought it was well worth the trip, even if one of us did dislocate an elbow (no fault of the hotel!).Will be going back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
2.1 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
1.9 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#3 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge
#4 of 7 in Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Resort and Spa
7.8 mi away
Sonnenalp
Sonnenalp
#1 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Property: Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
Address: 126 Riverfront Ln, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain is in the heart of the Vail Valley, CO and was recently named the #2 Resort US Mainland by readers of Conde Nast Traveler. The Beaver Creek hotel features direct access to skiing and year-round mountain activities. Home to Spa Anjali, named #2 Resort Spa by Conde Nast Traveler readers, relax where mother nature nurtures. Revive at Maya, a Richard Sandoval Signature restaurant due to open in June of 2013. Experience total renewal in a spacious studio suite or one, two or three bedroom condominium with breathtaking view of Beaver Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Riverfront Hotel Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort And Spa
Westin Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing