We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing backpackers and cafe”
Review of Stoked Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stoked Backpackers
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was by far one of the best places we've ever had the pleasure of staying at. The rooms are large extremely clean and really well laid out. Even though there was 6 beds in our dorm, due to the lofted beds and rooms it never felt cramped, and the beds were nice and comfortable. The kitchen was extremely clean and offered a wonderful view of the ocean as well. The staff was wonderful, kind and always willing to help out with everything we needed for our volunteer trip and side adventures. Then there was the cafe. Breakfast lunch and dinner were all great and the girl who cooks the food is always coming up with great unique new meal ideas. Overall we loved this place and can't wait to come back and stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Stoked Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 116 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

A beautifully clean and ideally located Backpackers. Next door to the train station and overlooking the surf break. It it's close to restaurants and the town centre. Vibey cafe downstairs, Friendly staff. Very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I had and overnight stay at Stoked on my fiance birthday.
Wow was I overwhelmed by the way the staff welcomed us.
The rooms was in a pristine condition.
I will advise anyone to make use of STOKED accommodation when they in and around Muizenberg Cape Town.
You feel like you at home away from home
To Tara the Manageress a big thanks for making us feel at home.

Room Tip: book the room with your own small balcony ,you see the sunrise and have the beachview,the sound of w...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here during the SA Longboard Champs. It's walking distance to the beach and staff is very friendly. The balcony view over Corner beach is great and must be awesome in summer. The communial area gets a bit crowded now and then, but all in all still fun.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurferDudeCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I don't normally stay in backpackers. I've heard too many hair-raising stories of theft and riftfaf. That bubble was burst when I booked into Stocked Backpackers for my weeklong stay while attending the SA Longboard Championships this year held in Kommetjie/Muizenberg, Cape Town.
The reception area is small but welcoming. The 7 bedroomed suite was extremely clean
It overlooks Surfer's Corner in Muizenberg and is a short walk to the beach if you want to have a surf. Parking is adequate and has security all night.
Inexpensive meals are served in the cafe-like restaurant at receptiona and the food was very good.
There is a lovely balconey with a grear view and a large communal kitchen which was kept very clean and neat.
Satelite TV was available 27/7.
All in all I would recommend this backpacker as an extremely inexpensive over-night or extended period stay. I would definitely stay there again.
Ted Preciado

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tedsurf1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

When my daughter told me she'd booked me into a backpackers for 12 nights, I was a bit hesitant but boy, was I impressed when I arrived!! My private room was immaculate with crisp white linen on a very comfortable double bed and the en suite was spotless. The shower head could do with upgrading but that's the only negative I could find.

The communal kitchen/living areas are well appointed and the adjacent terrace has one of the best views in Muizenberg! Downstairs, the café serves tasty vegetarian snacks and great coffee. The staff are helpful and friendly, and the on-site manager even got up at 4.30 am to make sure I got off to the airport safely - thanks Henry!! Added extras include
free internet, a tour desk and 24 hour access through PIN coded security gates.

The location is first class - you're right next to the beach and you're spoiled for choice when it comes to cafes and restaurants! The railway station to Cape Town or further down the coast is right next door, the supermarket is 5 minutes walk and the bottle shop is only 2!! Stoked is practically perfect in every way and I would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley3134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just popped in for a looksee, and I love it. Wish I didn't live right around the corner! ;)
Welcoming and spotless, and smack bang in the middle of surfer/ antique/ nature-lover's paradise.

Delicious coffee, too.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank Candice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muizenberg
African Soul Surfer
#2 of 10 in Muizenberg
106 reviews
The Muize Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 14 in Muizenberg
111 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#2 of 128 in Cape Town Central
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 128 in Cape Town Central
505 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#8 of 128 in Cape Town Central
538 reviews
Surfers Corner Apartments
#1 of 10 in Muizenberg
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoked Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoked Backpackers

Address: 175 Main Road | Surfers' Corner, Muizenberg 7945, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Muizenberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Muizenberg
Price Range: $18 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoked Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a great backpackers or hostel in Muizenberg? You’ve come to the right place! Stoked Backpackers is literally a stone’s throw away from Surfers’ Corner in Muizenberg, Cape Town. This popular swimming beach is a blue flag beach, which means it gets top marks for safety, cleanliness and amenities. The beach break produces great waves, making it a hot spot for surfers. In fact, Muizenberg is one of the World’s Best Surf Towns, according to National Geographic, who say, "A great surf town is the nearly magical sum of consistent waves, inviting accommodation, friendly locals, fun nightlife, delicious food, and plenty of activities should the ocean go flat." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Stoked Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing