We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressions of my stay in a backpackers”
Review of Stoked Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stoked Backpackers
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressions of my stay in a backpackers”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I don't normally stay in backpackers. I've heard too many hair-raising stories of theft and riftfaf. That bubble was burst when I booked into Stocked Backpackers for my weeklong stay while attending the SA Longboard Championships this year held in Kommetjie/Muizenberg, Cape Town.
The reception area is small but welcoming. The 7 bedroomed suite was extremely clean
It overlooks Surfer's Corner in Muizenberg and is a short walk to the beach if you want to have a surf. Parking is adequate and has security all night.
Inexpensive meals are served in the cafe-like restaurant at receptiona and the food was very good.
There is a lovely balconey with a grear view and a large communal kitchen which was kept very clean and neat.
Satelite TV was available 27/7.
All in all I would recommend this backpacker as an extremely inexpensive over-night or extended period stay. I would definitely stay there again.
Ted Preciado

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedsurf1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    16
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
9
52
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

When my daughter told me she'd booked me into a backpackers for 12 nights, I was a bit hesitant but boy, was I impressed when I arrived!! My private room was immaculate with crisp white linen on a very comfortable double bed and the en suite was spotless. The shower head could do with upgrading but that's the only negative I could find.

The communal kitchen/living areas are well appointed and the adjacent terrace has one of the best views in Muizenberg! Downstairs, the café serves tasty vegetarian snacks and great coffee. The staff are helpful and friendly, and the on-site manager even got up at 4.30 am to make sure I got off to the airport safely - thanks Henry!! Added extras include
free internet, a tour desk and 24 hour access through PIN coded security gates.

The location is first class - you're right next to the beach and you're spoiled for choice when it comes to cafes and restaurants! The railway station to Cape Town or further down the coast is right next door, the supermarket is 5 minutes walk and the bottle shop is only 2!! Stoked is practically perfect in every way and I would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley3134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just popped in for a looksee, and I love it. Wish I didn't live right around the corner! ;)
Welcoming and spotless, and smack bang in the middle of surfer/ antique/ nature-lover's paradise.

Delicious coffee, too.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Candice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stoked Backpackers is definitely one to visit and for good reason contributed to a lovely few days for us in Cape Town. Even though we arrived relatively late from the Garden Route, Henly received us with a big welcoming African smile and with great pleasure showed us around the entire backpackers ensuring we find a room fitting our needs, of course bragging with the lovely view overlooking the long stretch Muizenberg beach and the bay with Simons Town to the right (with the Cape Point National Park and Penguin viewing just a short scenic drive away!!)! The beds are great, soft white linen and heaters in the room that made all the difference coming back after visiting one of the superb restaurants in the area on a cold but cozy evening out. In the morning we were greeted with the aroma of coffee and home baked cookies...and it was just as good as it smelled, also offering amazing breakfast!!! The owners are relaxed, friendly people that interact with their guests as if long time friends and have that colourful world traveler authenticity about them, knowing whats important to every visitor! I would recommend Stoked to any person that would like to experience the warm water and warm-hearted side of Cape Town. This is definitely the best place to do some Surf lessons if it's new on your agenda, soft lovely waves just keep rolling in!!! For us from the country side, even the trains passing regularly added a lekker traveling feel to our experience!! (Also one of the cleanest backpackers around...and we've visited them all). THANX GUYS, STAY STOKED!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocomo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Nice place right behind the beach, you can't go wrong. Rooms are quite upmarket for the backpacker circuit, friendly owners and staff, safe, good location, great food.You're on the edge of CT here so nightlife is more limited, but theres a few gems and more friendly atmosphere in general.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Me and my friend stayed for 1 weekend.
We enjoyed our stay in a very clean dorm, which had a simply designed bathroom (shower/toilet).
Kitchen, deck + lounge (with tv) made us feel almost at home.
The location is great to enjoy Muizenberg Beach/Surfers Corner and long walks along the coast up to Kalk Bay.

Stoked Backpackers Café is a great spot to enjoy some nice chat with the friendly staff and roommates or drown yourself in coffee.

We had a great weekend there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is the best hostel I have ever been to. I keep going back there just for a coffee or to chat with the lovely people who work there because it is just so nice.
If you are ever in Muizenberg, come here. The most chill place ever :)

Room Tip: The maisonette beds are very nice, almost like a private room at a very very affordable price
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muizenberg
African Soul Surfer
#2 of 10 in Muizenberg
104 reviews
The Muize Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Muizenberg
105 reviews
Bluebottle Guesthouse
#4 of 15 in Muizenberg
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surfers Corner Apartments
#1 of 10 in Muizenberg
114 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#7 of 127 in Cape Town Central
513 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 127 in Cape Town Central
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoked Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoked Backpackers

Property: Stoked Backpackers
Address: 175 Main Road | Surfers' Corner, Muizenberg 7945, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Muizenberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Muizenberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoked Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a great backpackers or hostel in Muizenberg? You’ve come to the right place! Stoked Backpackers is literally a stone’s throw away from Surfers’ Corner in Muizenberg, Cape Town. This popular swimming beach is a blue flag beach, which means it gets top marks for safety, cleanliness and amenities. The beach break produces great waves, making it a hot spot for surfers. In fact, Muizenberg is one of the World’s Best Surf Towns, according to National Geographic, who say, "A great surf town is the nearly magical sum of consistent waves, inviting accommodation, friendly locals, fun nightlife, delicious food, and plenty of activities should the ocean go flat." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Stoked Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing