We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing atmosphere”
Review of Cucina Labia

Cucina Labia
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Muizenberg
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Built in 1929 to reflect the spirit of 18th century Venice, Casa Labia is the former Muizenberg residence of Count and Countess Natale Labia. Cucina Labia occupies the ground floor and outside areas of Casa Labia. Many parts of the restaurant have views of False Bay. In keeping with the heritage of the Labia family, our menu is influenced by Italian cuisine. The venue is also used for weddings and other events.
hout bay
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Our group of friends (The Decadent Club) had our year end lunch at Casa Labia last Sunday and everybody enjoyed it. The service was casual but very friendly and attentive and the atmosphere great. The food was, as always, good but we would have liked some more starters, however the desserts made up for it. Well done Casa Labia and we will certainly be back!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hanns b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    32
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, reasonable food, awful service.”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We went to Casa Labia on a Sunday lunchtime. The house and the location were beautiful. We arrived early so that we could look round the house. Unfortunately the upstairs was closed so we were finished quicker than expected. Our table wasn't free yet so we had coffee in one of the historic rooms sitting on the period furniture which was nice. However it was at this point that we had the first hint of the service shambles that was to follow with the waitress spilling coffee and trying to sort it in a fawning but ineffective way.
We had been recommended to go for brunch and perhaps should have done so as that seems to be their strength. The lunch menu was fine but unexciting and the main course was adequate but certainly nothing special. The dessert was much better. However the service was comically bad. The young woman in charge seemed pleasant, knowledgable and efficient. However the staff under her were generally poor. Many of them were young and seemed under trained. Our waitress though was much older but clearly not suited to a career in catering and the terrible standard of service (starting off with the spilled coffee and ending with her inability to work the credit card terminal with several other examples of general uselessness in between) really spoiled the afternoon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sentimental_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An elegant Italian”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

A gem of a place on the edge of Muizenberg & ideal for brunch before or after a stroll along the sea wall. The hidden courtyard is a beautiful spot for a relaxing coffee. The staff are very pleasant & charming.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterDeering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Distinctive location, friendly service”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Went there for a leisurely brunch. Food was good but what really made the place stand out was the great location with magnificent views of False Bay. The restaurant is in a splendid historical stately home packed with beautiful art. Service was friendly and attentive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne_Toms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Casa Labia cafe, Muizenberg”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This iconic house in Muizenberg blows my mind away!
We went for lunch on Tues 3rd September.
The parking is a challenge but once you go up the steps to this beautiful old home you are transported into a different era. The view from the entrance of the Muizenberg beach is amazing. The restaurant or café is situated at the back, with a court yard which is sheltered from the wind.
We took a walk around the terrace between our courses. Magical gardens and fountains and views, lovely for weddings or big functions.! We had lunch there, swift service, and smart table settings. I love having proper napkins! We ordered 1) a hamburger sans bread which was home made and delicious, tasty and succulent, nice salad on the side, My partner had Prima Vera pasta - quite divine. Judy Badenhorst is the brain child behind the menu and she does it to her usual magnificent standards. This is a GEM on the False Bay coastline. The Art Gallery upstairs and the formal rooms with their décor are well worth the visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cucina Labia also viewed

 
Muizenberg, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
Muizenberg, Cape Town
 

Been to Cucina Labia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing