We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samhitakasha Cob House Organic B&B
Nearby Hotels
Colona Castle(Lakeside)
$170
$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Steenberg Hotel(Constantia)(Great Value!)
$170
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tudor Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$56
$50
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence(Constantia)(Great Value!)
$124
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Noordhoek Hotel(Noordhoek)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$260
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$80
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$495
$467
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
52
4
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
4
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 57 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Welcoming and accommodating family who ALL (adults and children!) took efforts to make us feel at home. Amazing to stay in the cob house during an incessant Capetonian downpour - it's as solid as any modern house, but somehow more 'earthy'. Muizenberg is also a perfect location from which to access Cape Town.

Room Tip: Only one room!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed here in January 2012 for two nights and had a brilliant time. The accommodation is beautiful and kept clean and in top condition. It kept cool despite the hot weather and was a peaceful haven for us, nice and quiet in the evenings and at night. The location is great, close to the beach and cafes etc and only a short drive or train journey from central Cape Town and other bays further down the coast. Simric and Carey provided excellent hospitality, with good local recommendations and an amazing breakfast each morning. Even beyond the call of duty they drove us to the train station when we were running late! We would highly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We visited Samhitakasha Cob House in December and stayed there for 3 nights. We found the room really special, both in its outer form and in its interior. All very carefully crafted and designed to the highest standards of organic construction.
Our hosts were very friendly and hospitable and made our stay very enjoyable. Only the overall location could be slightly better - but if you come with a car, this is not a problem. There is also a metro train nearby.
The host family has a dog - he is ok but this should be known to the guests.
All in all a place that we would really recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravelBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

A very unique natural room with lots of space. The bed is ‘very’ comfortable and stylishly made of re-claimed wood. It was interesting to read and view the house construction - of which is decorated in its own distinctive way.

Staying here will reduce your carbon footprint as they re-use waste water and use organic materials across the board. Great selection of organic teas too!
Like a lot of neighbourhoods there are a few local vocal dogs – but we did only stay one night – earplugs might help you from being woken too early.

The host was more than happy to tell us about the local area and good places to eat. You can even relax in the room (on the sofa) and read lots of local literature to help you plan.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loupey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed three nights in late November at the Samhitakasha Cob House in Muizenberg , South Africa . It is a very unique place made of natural materials. If you stay here be sure to read about the house’s construction. At the Cob House, you are basically renting a room and a bath with an outside entrance. Bathroom products such as soap and shampoo are provided and they are organic. We had brought our own, but weren't aware that the house utilized this "grey water" for their garden so it was imperetive to utilize the products they provided in our case. This got me to thinking about what exactly is in the soaps and shampoos that I use on a daily basis.

The room is spacious and welcoming; all of the furnishings are organic fibers. The bed is extremely comfy. Simric and Carey could not be more hospitable hosts. They were paitient and gracious as we asked multiple questions on places to go and how to get there. We opted to get breakfast and it was great. In the mornings at a time of our liking, either Carey or Simric brought us breakfast through a connecting door. It is about the best organic and natural breakfast we ever had. Fruit, cereal, yogurt, bread, jams, honey and peanut butter. We were told that Samhitakasha means “place of unity” in Sanskrit. We couldn’t agree more.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestotravel35801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews