We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as rave reviews” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olive Tree Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Olive Tree Apartments
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kaliviani
Certificate of Excellence
Vic. Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as rave reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked basic studio & basic it was. Big enough but maintenance sadly lacking. Had to ask for several repairs.don't expect to cook meals-- equipment very basic. Shower was awfull-- hand held next to toilet, floor floods.neighbours dog very noisy.NO HOT WATER-- Luke warm at best. Room near pool is noisy. No towels for pool. Not half as good as other accom. We stayed Santorini & Crete,for 1 mth. Senior couple. Welcome reception good.

Room Tip: Book early for better rate. Ask for not the downstairs room close to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerrakisConstantinos, General Manager at Olive Tree Apartments, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear guest,

I am so sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. My staff and I reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue in the Studio open plan you occuppied.
With any review I do like to stick with the facts and it is very hard to comment when the reviews are negative.
We do have 6 apartments and every room varies in shape and size due to the nature of this country side building. The rooms do vary, some are large, some are small, some have 2 bathrooms, some have small bathrooms, some just have showers. The only way to ensure a bigger bathrooms is to upgrade to a Maisonette Apartment 1st floor, but you knew already the size of the bathroom from the photos of the Studio on venere.com.

In addition, we are re-evaluating our inspection processes to ensure these type of issues do not occur in the future. Again, we are terribly sorry that your 2 overnights experience with Olive Tree Apartments was not a good one, but invite you to give us another try. We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience.

Perrakis Constantinos
Accommodation manager
Olive Tree Apartments
Kaliviani village, Kissamos
Chania, Crete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    25
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
285 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The apartments are situated at the edge of a small village on the gramvousa peninsula. It was ideal for visiting the Blue Lagoon. The apartment was comfortable - on two levels with three balconies giving a choice of sun or shade. There was a lovely pool but unfortunately it was a little chilly when we were there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerrakisConstantinos, General Manager at Olive Tree Apartments, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Olive Tree Apartments Kaliviani – and for taking the time to share such excellent feedback with us. We’re so pleased that you enjoy our ambience. Our staff makes every effort to provide warm, exceptional service always, and we hope that’s what most sets us apart.
Thank you again for your comments; we look forward to the chance to host you again.

Perrakis Constantinos
Accommodation manager
Olive Tree Apartments
Kaliviani village, Kissamos
Chania, Crete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
czech
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Quality and cheap accommodation in the west of Crete. Very helpful owner Costas, until we arrived at 22.30 hours, waiting for us, entertained us raki, carried luggage and offered us for our price more and more expensive apartment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerrakisConstantinos, General Manager at Olive Tree Apartments, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review - we appreciate your comments and feedback. I appreciate that it is the attention to detail that is important, many thanks and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the end of this month!

Yours sincerely
Perrakis Constantinos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortara, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We went at Olive tree Apartments after a long trip through the island.
We have been received by Costas who give us a very pleasent impression.

We arrived at 21 o'clock and, without any forewarning, he placed us in a very nice room.

The room was really clean and not expensive (15 € each person - 4 people).
Costas, also, offered us some drinks and give us enough time to familiarize with the apartment.

I was very impressed by the place and I would suggest it as a particular and a pleasent place where spend some time. it's also really near to Ballos (a magnificent beach).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerrakisConstantinos, Manager at Olive Tree Apartments, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks so much for your feedback. We’re honored that you chose Olive Tree Apartments for your visit to West Crete. We love hosting families and become as excited as they are when we know they're having fun.
We take customer service and feedback very seriously and try to learn from customers comments.
We can learn much more from comments made directly at the time. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Perrakis Constantinos
Accommodation manager
Olive Tree Apartments
Kaliviani, Kissamos, Chania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Olive Tree Apartments is situated in Kaliviani, a small and characteristic village in the very north-west of Crete, the less turistic part yet. It's a perfect place to stay if you want to relax and also if you desire to discover some of the most beautiful beaches of the island!!! For this, of course, you have to have a car....
When we arrived Costas welcome us with a cold drink, a nice and friendly smile and all the information we needed about the area around...he's the perfect host!
We stayed in a beautiful and romantic apartment, balconies with olive trees, sea and sunset view...daily cleaning and free Wi-Fi made it perfect!
We love Greece and this place perfectly represents the hospitality and kindness that this amazing country and its people can offer!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frog_Mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerrakisConstantinos, Manager at Olive Tree Apartments, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks so much for your feedback. It’s music to our ears to know that you and your husband view our hotel as a home away from home. All of us strive every day to ensure our guests feel that very same warmth, comfort and familiarity during their visits. We're honored that you continue to choose Olive Tree Apartments, and we all look forward to welcoming you back again. We hope your next visit is equally as wonderful...and filled with happy memories!

Perrakis Constantinos
Accommodation manager
Olive Tree Apartments
Kaliviani, Kissamos
Chania, Crete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

First the positive stuff
- beautiful place in true greek countryside
- really good value for money (large rooms, beautiful views, impeccable service etc.)
- and good location with an easy reach to beautiful beaches and spots in Crete.

HOWEVER to live here, you really need a car to do anything at all, go to the supermarket or the beach for example. That's the reason why this hotel is NOT for the lazy tourist who wants everything to be easy to reach. Unfortunately, we are lazy tourists and this hotel did not suit us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivetreeapts, Manager at Olive Tree Apartments, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear family Ourabia,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our committment to investing in our property will continue this winter with renovations to our apartments and reception area. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Kissamos!
Best Regards

Perrakis Constantinos
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

There is no better place to stay if you want to visit the west coast of Crete: really profesional service, very warm welcome, very functional and fully equipped apartments and wonderful location close to the Balos Beach. We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jooasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerrakisConstantinos, Manager at Olive Tree Apartments, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review. We're flattered and thrilled that you enjoyed our amenities and, above all, that the service exceeded your expectations. That is our goal on a daily basis – and all of us will continue striving to provide exceptional service always!
We hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future – it would be our pleasure.

Perrakis Constantinos
Accommodation manager
Olive Tree Apartments
Kaliviani village, Kissamos
Chania, Crete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaliviani
0.8 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Kissamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kissamos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mediterranean Studios Apartments
2.3 mi away
Nautilus Bay Hotel
Nautilus Bay Hotel
#6 of 16 in Kissamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Viglia Beach Apartments
Viglia Beach Apartments
#1 of 1 in Gramvousa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Tree Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Tree Apartments

Property: Olive Tree Apartments
Address: Kaliviani Village | Kissamos, Kaliviani, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos > Kaliviani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kaliviani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Olive Tree Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olive Tree Apartments comprise of 2 one bedroom apartments and an open plan studio, one pool view maisonette and a charming sea view maisonette in Chania (plus the grand maisonette sea view) welcoming guests in an atmosphere of warmth since 2002. The 6 rooms of Olive Tree can accommodate 15-20 people in a tranquil and charming environment. Under the ownership of Stelios Milonakis and his wife Angela Fenwick this small vacation rental offers a genuine home away from home experience for travellers seeking quality and affordable accommodation in the island of Crete in Greece. The unique hospitality is infused in the hotel's homelike rooms, studios and apartments, breathing the essence of authentic island life. These cosy and affordable rooms and apartments in Chania, Crete are set in a scenic location right at the entrance of the picturesque village of Kaliviani in Kissamos. Their strategic location allows guests to enjoy some quality time with their family and friends in a haven of relaxation or set off for an amazing day on the beach of Balos or the spellbinding town of Chania situated nearby. Ranging from 45 to 75 m² the Olive Tree Apartments are ideal for tailored long stay vacations or short term vacations for guests seeking a private affordable accommodation with all needed facilities. The Olive Tree Apartments offer some of the finest sea view rooms in Chania fitted with all modern conveniences. Very functional and fully equipped these charming rooms ensure a relaxing stay in a haven of tranquility. The dazzling pool allows for refreshing breaks from the sun and quiet outdoor lounging while the strategic location gives guests the opportunity to completely unwind or discover some of the most enchanting regions of Crete situated nearby. A concierge service is available to cater to every need, arrange exclusive services and transfers and give guests the opportunity to enjoy a holiday of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Olive Tree Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing