We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing getaway, would like to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kaliviani Traditional Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kaliviani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing getaway, would like to return”
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Stayed in Kaliviani at the recommendation of a guy who sold us some souvenirs in Hania....he said that Falasarna woudl be a bit windy and he was right. Once we had seen that for ourselves we returned and drove into the beautiful Kaliviani. We liked the look of the Gramvoussa restaurant and he recommended Kaliviani as a place to stay. We ended up staying for 3 nights for EUR40 a night...as it happens, less than we paid for our single night in a hotel in Hania. Wonderful views and a peaceful feeling. Drive to Balos Bay and Elafonissi from here...and Falasarna is right next door. The benefit of staying here is havng restaurant Gramvoussa, the best restaurant we ate at, walking distance away. Stumble back home in the dark and wake up 8 hours later to that wonderful view of the sea. This is peaceful Crete, and we liked it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust-amritsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    47
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
125
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salonica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Sitting at the edge of a hill in the small picturesque village of Kaliviani, Kaliviani hotel is attractive on account of its simplicity. During our tour of Western Crete, me and my friends were told about it as a nice hotel near Balos Lagoon, so we booked our rooms there.
Kaliviani hotel proved to be beyond our expectations.
The rooms boast a cosy rustic feel in the interior and view to an infinity of sea and sky bluer than in any dream- what a view first thing in the morning!
For us, recuperating from one excursion and planning the next, it had been an indispensable staging post.
Its restaurant serves a high standard of traditional Cretan cuisine at a very reasonable price in a delightful authentic setting; tables and chairs are situated outside on the grand terrace surrounded by colourful flowers. The warmth and hospitality of the staff is touching and adds even more to the attractiveness of the whole establishment.
What is more? Well, its outstanding characteristic is the bar, the garden bar..
There, in an enchanting atmosphere, sheltered by the trees, surrounded by paintings and pieces of art expressing various scenes from different countries, lying on one of the hammocks and gazing into the vastness of the starry sky, you can enjoy music from all over the world and feel so far away from everything..
Definitely, a place to go back to and we will!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melipan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Pleasant and soft acceuil. The truth gout holidays. The cooking is delicious, especially the yaourth in the honey and the Mountain tea! Rooms are unpretentious and comfortable. It is also the first hotel with a valid internet connection in spite of the visit of several 4-star hotels. Lost in the Cretan West, the Kaliviani hotel is to be discovered.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxi1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Kaliviani hotel is that rare bird on Crete island - a small (5 rooms) family run hotel that hasn't decked itself out in feathers of tasteless luxury.
I have arrived to the tiny but scenic village of Kaliviani as an overnight guest (had spent 2 days in Elafonissi which is quite near and was heading to Chania), took one look at the bedroom, the view and the restaurant menu and decided on the spot to stay two nights. If I could, I would have settled in for a month!
The room was large, well furnished and impeccably cleaned, with its own balcony overlooking the sea. The scenic simply idyllic, the atmosphere was relaxing and peaceful -perfect for family vacations- but also charming and seductive. If you want a romantic getaway, there is something magic about Kaliviani hotel that can not be described, only experienced. But what sets this hotel ahead of every other I have stayed, was the warm hospitality of Giannis and Eftihia - from the very first moment I arrived, I was made to feel special.
To make a long story short, I don't know of any better place to sit and watch the golden sunset on the sea, sipping draught beer and looking forward to a hearty dinner, gramboussian lamb cooked with sage and honey.......

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaNefeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2010

It was the best vacations i had for the past few years. Giannis and his family were more than friends to us and the facilities were excellent.
The best feeling was the way they made us feel during our stay, the amazing food of Mrs Eftihia and a unique bar that you woudn't find even in the bigest city.

Thank you very much

Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank inglezan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaliviani
0.7 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
412 reviews
3.2 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Kissamos
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olive Tree Apartments
Olive Tree Apartments
#2 of 2 in Kaliviani
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kissamos
345 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mirtilos Studios & Apartments
2.6 mi away
Christina Beach Hotel
Christina Beach Hotel
#6 of 16 in Kissamos
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaliviani Traditional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaliviani Traditional Hotel

Property: Kaliviani Traditional Hotel
Address: Kaliviani, Kaliviani, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos > Kaliviani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kaliviani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kaliviani Traditional Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kaliviani Traditional Hotel is a family-run guest house in Crete, nestled in the countryside of northwest Crete, in the traditional village Kaliviani, offers spacious rooms enjoying views to the sea. Our spacious rooms renovated in 2014, have been designed with a traditional style and modern amenities, all guestrooms features queen size beds with orthopedic mattresses, private balcony hair dryer and safety deposit box. Free Wi-Fi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Kaliviani Traditional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing