We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the Westfjords”
Review of Bjarmaland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bjarmaland
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Bjarmaland was a nice B&B. Good breakfast, comfortable beds, and clean. We stayed in the room that also had a bathroom. Very nice. I would stay here again. Our host wasn't the most welcoming (not even a smile), but we didn't care that much.
This is a great jumping point to see many westfjord sites in the south. It takes forever to get around here, but is worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KRTravelers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 25 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

There aren't a lot of places to stay in the Western Fjords, but this guest house is an excellent choice. A short walk away is a restaurant, the view across the fjord is lovely and the hospitality is cordial and warm. Best part, for us, was a hidden community hot pot, about 2km up the roard on the right side (not the big swimming center which is likely very nice). At the hidden place we used, you bask outside watching the glow of the sun on the hills. It was so good that I went back the next morning before breakfast to bask again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xml167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed here for one night as part of our two week trip round the West Fjords. When we arrived, there was no-one around, but a number had been left for us to contact them. The owner (well one of the five sisters who own it) turned up very soon after that.

The room was delightful, very clean and comfortable. We had the one with private shower and WC, but the others had shared facilities. We also had access to the kitchen and lounge, which was great to relax in. There was TV and DVD player and several DVDs if you were minded to watch TV instead of the great scenery.

Further along the road (past the swimming pool) by about km is a good little hot pot, used by the locals. We met several and it was all very convivial. There's also a small restaurant in the village that serves reasonable food. No sign of the supermarket that's meant to be there, so if you're self-catering, be sure to stock up en route. There is a petrol station there, so that might sell some foodstuffs.

The owner had picked blue berries, which we had for breakfast. They were lovely. We also had some locally smoked rainbow trout and some locally produced rainbow trout pate. it was a nice local touch and they were both very enjoyable.

Overall, a lovely little spot and I'd certainly recommend it to anyone staying in that area.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the room with shower and WC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank madamedefarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I found this place by good accident. It´s certainly a well kept secret in Westfjordur area in Iceland and I (we) definitely recommend this guesthouse.
Owners are the nicest people I met on our Journey, prices are really moderate and conditions are very good. They have there several bathrooms, kitchen where you could cook, really big sitting room with all kinds of table games, DVD-s etc. Almost all rooms have their own tv, extremely comfortable beds and the atmosphere in this house is just SO nice overall. I was so amazed I forgot to take a photo inside.
One thing more - just around the corner is lovely swimming pool!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank eestisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank UrsulaG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talknafjordur
5.0 mi away
Fosshotel Westfjords
Fosshotel Westfjords
#1 of 1 in Patreksfjordur
238 reviews
5.0 mi away
Guesthouse Stekkabol
Guesthouse Stekkabol
#1 of 2 in Patreksfjorour
74 reviews
19.1 mi away
Flokalundur
Flokalundur
#1 of 2 in Patreksfjorour
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel West
Hotel West
#1 of 6 in Patreksfjordur
42 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hotel Sandafell
Hotel Sandafell
#1 of 2 in Thingeyri
37 reviews
19.7 mi away
Vio Fjoroinn
Vio Fjoroinn
#1 of 1 in Thingeyri
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bjarmaland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bjarmaland

Address: Bugatun 8, Talknafjordur, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Westfjords Region > Talknafjordur
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Talknafjordur
Price Range: $151 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bjarmaland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing