We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, Great staff and owners, Great fishing!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elk Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lost Lake Wilderness Lodge
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We just got back from four days of fishing Lost lake and the connecting lakes over May-long weekend. The new owners and staff have really turned this lodge around. Having been there 10 years ago I was skeptical and somewhat reluctant to return, but after being convinced by the others in my party, it was a great decision.
Tony and his wife are very hands on, friendly, and determined to make your stay a good one. They are attentive to guests requests and suggestions. The food at the lodge was excellent, especially the fish we caught that they prepared for us in addition to the dinner that was already being served.
Fishing was outstanding! Caught close to 40 fish, Smallmouth Bass and Pike, all a good size with some huge Bass. The boats and motors are new and easy to operate.
If I had one thing I could change, it would be nice to have the option of a trolling motor as some of the days we fished it was windy and difficult to maintain positioning.
All in all, I had a great time, and will be returning every other year to enjoy Lost Lake.
Rich McCoun-Kentucky

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 81 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

We spent a few nights up at Lost Lake in late Sept 2012. This post is a little late but here it is!

Weather was poor unfortunately, so fishing was VERY limited…lots of wind and rain that week.. somehow, there was time a a bit of a break in the weather to get in some grouse hunting, which is what I preferred anyway! Our host was very hospitable and took us out to some logging roads to track down some grouse… and we found them. Pretty easy up there as northern ontario is loaded with them pretty much everywhere..

Cabins were cozy and cleand and scenery was spectacular.. But seemed like every time we wanted to fish, it would rain or wind would pick up. We did manage some pike on Lost Lake then headed over to the trout lake and fished from shore and caught brookies… great place, but if you want to mostly fish go in late spring and summer..

I'd recommend it if it's in your budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rob R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Well, what can i say what already hasn't been said. Myself along with my friend Ivan, booked a week trip in August/13 and what a trip it was. All though ii was a very hot dry week, the fishing was still productive. We fished 4 different lakes( Lost Lake, Wigwam, Bloom, Sigs Lake). We caught TONS of smallmouth bass, a few pike, and at least 2 dozen Brook Trout. We also saw some Bald Eagles. The scenery is breathtaking, and some of the lakes feel like no one has ever been on them. Tony and Mellissa are great hosts, and the cabins are clean with everything one would need. The food is very good, and plentiful. I really like the idea of having various beverages as i tend to drink a few pops in one meal. The price is very fair, and i didn't feel ripped off nor cheated at all. I already booked another tip for this May. Thank you for a great time, and see you soon
Raul

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank raulsantos2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We lost a day and a half to rain but made the best of it. Tony and Melissa gave us a DVD player and they have a good stock of movies to borrow. We fished four of the many lakes available. Although it was typical late summer fishing we caught enough fish to keep us occupied. I would like to return earlier in the season. Meals were very good and we had plenty to eat at every meal. Boats and motors were well maintained and we didn't experience any problems. Tony took us for a fantastic ride back into a clear cut area one evening. It was nice to see and learn about the logging industry of the area and you would not believe the amount of blue berries. We picked and ate so many our mouth s were blue. We went up Highway 11 (Eastern Route) which I would recommend as we returned Highway 144 to Sudbury and Highways 69 to 400. That was 64 miles farther and almost 2 hours longer some of the time was due to construction. We would definitely return to Lost Lake Lodge. Friendly and helpful service from Tony, Melissa and Gary made for a great time. A nice fire pit and plenty of firewood just outside the door made for some great camp fires.

Room Tip: All the cottages are close to the shoreline and offer a great view of the lake. I don't remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank zlatnariba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just got back from five days at a little piece of heaven - Lost Lake Wilderness Lodge.

After reading some of the rave reviews before we got there, we were a little concerned that the Lodge was too good to be true. Our fears faded quickly. The Lodge was everything that we had hoped it was.

Check in was a breeze - cabins were very clean and tidy - the beds were comfortable - the view was fantastic - we had a brand new Crestliner with a Yamaha 9.9 electric start motor - the outer lakes had older boats with Mercury motors and were all very reliable.

Fishing for our 5 days was slow - that's why they call it Fishing and not Catching - but we caught enough to keep us interested. They provided all the minnows and worms that we needed.

The portages to the other lakes were neither difficult nor long.

The meals - what can I say - were delicious. The Friday night "fish fry" was perhaps the highlight, and having pie and ice cream with every supper didn't hurt either. At breakfast, you'd make your own lunch sandwiches to take with you in a cooler they provide you with. The dining room fridge is full of drinks, and there is always fresh fruit and "baking" available.

Night time brought out some great star gazing as the skies were free of "light" pollution.

I can't say enough about the people. Owners Tony and Melissa, their son Logan, Gary, their right hand man, and Cooper who thinks he's a person. All were friendly, outgoing and more than obliging to make your stay memorable and relaxing.

Tony and Melissa are doing a great job and continue to make improvements to the Lodge. The project on the go now is to replace most of the docks.

It was great to have Gary around to offer some tips about where to fish and tell some stories.

Logan and Cooper will keep you busy all day if you let them playing catch (or for Cooper - fetch).

The Lodge was everything we were looking for and more.

Before we left, we made a reservation for 2014 and are looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our stay at Lost Lake Lodge was an amazing experience. After reviewing many lodges we chose Lost Lake because of the many lakes available, but what made the trip so much fun was how nice the hosts were. Tony and Melissa went above and beyond treating us like family.
With the weather in the 30s every day we thought the fishing would be quiet with such hot weather. We ended up catching plenty of pike and bass. We found one spot that for an hour was one fish after another. The hiking and portaging through all the different lakes was a great adventure.
As a finicky eater I was nervous about the food however, Tony and Melissa treated us like family members and took great pride in the meals they served.
Gary was always available and even Logan and Cooper the dog were friendly. Can't wait to go again next year. Thanks again for a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Zack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

my wife & i have been to lost lake several times but we have to say , this time was the most fun we ever had . we caught fish every day , in any lake we went to , we got to stay the week in the original cottage that was built on lost lake. ( which is no. 4 ) but we have to say the service from tony , melisa & garry was exceptional , they were always there for our every needs & when they found the fire wood getting down it was replenished before we got back from fishing. thank- you for a great week and we are recommending lost lake to all our friends & family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lost Lake Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Lake Wilderness Lodge

Address: Highway 560 West, Elk Lake, Ontario P0J 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Elk Lake
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Elk Lake
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lost Lake Wilderness Lodge is a drive to lodge with remote lakes without the cost of flying in. With nine beautiful and private cottages that are your starting point to fish and explore ten serene and clean lakes, filled with a variety of healthy fish species. Here at LLWL we have 6 species of fish for you to tackle. They are Northern Pike, Walleye, Smallmouth Bass, Brook Trout, Rainbow Trout, and Lake Trout. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lost Lake Wilderness Lodge Elk Lake, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing