We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we could have wished for!”
Review of Dove Lodge

Dove Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dove Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Dersingham B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we could have wished for!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a well designed detached house in a quiet location at the end of a cul de sac. It was built by the present owners specifically as B & B holiday accommodation. It has three bedrooms for guests. Our room had a good sized shower room en suite. The beds were extremely comfortable. Everything that we could have wanted was provided down to chilled filtered water and a supply of mints!
Exceptional value for money. Our hosts were most helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chipstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

As a keen birder (birdwatcher), the county of Norfolk offers many attractions and it's necessary to have accommodation in the right location. Dove Lodge is perfectly situated and I've used it as a base twice now.
Snettisham Beach is just minutes away and the reserves at Titchwell and Cley are within easy driving distance and so Dove Lodge ticks those boxes perfectly.
However, the real bonus is that the B&B is WELL above average in terms of facilities, cleanliness and frendliness.
It's hard to imagine two more dedicated proprieters than Doug and Mo. Doug is keen to proundly talk about the building of the house and the installation of the facilities and he knows every single nut and bolt, switch and shelf in the place because he fitted them all himself...!!
The standards of cleanliness are exceptional and Doug and Mo are organised to the point where disorganised visitors might even feel intimidated..!!
They were very understanding when feeling unwell one morning, I was unable to manage the cooked breakfast ordered the evening before and paracetamol tablets were provided in short order together with bags of sympathy and the offer of another nights accommodation if I was unable to drive.
I can't recommend the place highly enough and Dove Lodge's details are in my phone for when I'll need to stay there next.

Mark S

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
710 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Well there are B/B's and B/B's up and down the country and we have stayed at several over the years whenever we have had a party/wedding/reunion or other occasion in England for a short break.This is our second visit to Dove Lodge and we are very pleased to say that it has again proved to be a very pleasant and welcoming stay. The place is kept spotlessly clean by Mo and Douggie who are the best of hosts. Mo bakes lovely bread and provides an assortment of home made jams for breakfast- which is a unique experience- not only do you get a really substantial meal to eat but the added entertainment of Douggie- which is absolutely second to none. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and kept very clean. You have tea and coffee facilities- plus biscuits and mints, handcream and an assortment of bathroom treats,rooms are topped and tailed daily with the cleanest of linen and towels provided.Both Mo and Douggie really do go out of their way to be as helpful as possible- we can guarantee that you will not go wrong in booking Dove Lodge for your stay. Should we have the opportunity to return to Norfo lk again we will definatekly stay at thie establishment- it really feels like home. Thanks Douggie and Mo
xx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Amazing stay, clean, great company, nice and quiet. Will be staying again for sure. Love Doug and Mo. Doug was sooo friendly, nice guy. People like Doug are very far and few between. His family are lucky to have him!

See you soon

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LutonMcKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We fell upon Dove Lodge quite by accident - Doug get that signage sorted out!!

From the time they opened the door when we enquired if they had a room to the time they waved us goodbye it was like being at home. Doug and Mo are the perfect hosts, making you feel so very much at home. The rooms and the dining room are spotless and so well maintained. There are so many little extras; the water and the milk in the fridge on the landing which you help yourself to, the biscuit jar in the room, the chocolate biscuit and mints left with your cups - the ilst is endless. At breakfast you have a wonderful selection of cereals and a perfctly cooked English brakfast and the to finish an amazing choice of Mo's homemade jams and marmalades. We have stayed in many hotels and BB's but the standard set by Doug and Mo far exceeds any of them. Before we left we had a tour of their wonderful garden and left with some rhubarb - Mo had heard us say how much we loved it.

We are so glad we stumbled on Dove Lodge and have booked to return in September this year and I know we will be returning time and time again. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jilly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2012

There is not a lot that I can add to the previous comments from other guests. We had a thoughly good rest. Doug and Mo were the perfect hosts. Nothing too much trouble for them. On top of that we found out that Doug and I had served together in the army so we had plenty to remenice about. The property is situated at the end of a very quiet cul-de-sac so there was no traffic noise. All in all a very nice stay. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Great room clean great service and Doug was the flavour of the house
Breakfast was excellent home produce and nothing was to much trouble

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilSTring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dersingham
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
9.0 mi away
Premier Inn
Premier Inn
#4 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashdene House
Ashdene House
#1 of 8 in Dersingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Lodge

Property: Dove Lodge
Address: 21 Woodside Avenue, Dersingham, King's Lynn PE31 6QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn > Dersingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dersingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dove Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dove Lodge is a friendly Bed and Breakfast in the pretty village of Dersingham, near to Royal Sandringham in Norfolk. Situated in a quiet avenue off the Hunstanton road, Dove Lodge boasts one Twin Room and two Double Rooms. All rooms are with en-suite and televisions, beautifully decorated and furnished to a high standard. The stairs and hallway are complemented by attractive oak beams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Lodge Dersingham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing