We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch!”
Review of The Feathers

The Feathers
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Feathers
Ranked #5 of 8 Dersingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We are extremely familiar with this establishment having been regulars on and off for 40 years through all the ups and downs! I can only comment on the pub side because being residents of Dersingham have never needed to stay there but know the much needed refurbishment is very much a "work in progress" and it does seem to be taking a very long time!
We made a snap decision to have a midweek lunch and were very glad we did so. We both had the hake (a very under-rated fish for some reason) and could not fault it. It was served with garlic mash and PROPER BROCCOLI not that dreadful imposter that tends to be churned out everywhere! Food and drink both served by friendly barman Sam!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Extrafussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 217 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had dinner here so this review only covers the restaurant.
The staff were cheerful and welcoming. The restaurant had a comfortable atmosphere and was full.
I had pigeon with mushrooms. Good flavour but not cooked enough for me: I like 'rare' but this was raw.
The steak pie was excellent and worth the trip all on its own. The vegetable accompaniment was generous and cooked properly.
The men's lavatory needs cleaning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarvinSteppingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My family went away for new year just gone with some friends and bought tickets for the new years eve party at the feathers which cost us £25 each, our friends had already been to the last year's one and said how brilliant it was so were really looking forward to it, what a disappointment it was and a complete waste of money. Canapes & nibbles were served at intervals before the main food was served but our table seemed to be missed out most times when they were brought round. When the food was served nobody came to tell us we just saw others coming back with plates so made our way towards a very long queue, when we got to the table, there were already quite a few empty plates so thought there would be replenished one's but I was wrong and to top it off they had ran out of clean cutlery so had to wait for more to be brought in, if u like chicken drumsticks, very hot & spicy beef strips and empty mussel shells with small bowls of salad and dry French sticks you have paid £25 for, all well and good, but we will not be wasting our hard earnt cash there again, what a big disappointment although we had a good time enjoying each other's company.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank babsilees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Staff were very helpful and friendly, breakfast was absolutely delicious, and although the room was slightly disappointing, the bed was very comfortable, with good linen. We really enjoyed our stay, weren't ever rushed, and made to feel at home. With a young, boisterous baby in tow this made all the difference! A very family-friendly hotel, we will go again. They even sent back something we had left immediately, phoning twice to try and arrange it, despite me saying we would happily collect it.

Room Tip: Family room is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabel963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here when picking up my partner's son prior to travelling on towards Essex.
The staff were amazing and obviously making every effort in difficult circumstances to make the best of the facilities for the guests eg clean towels, toiletries, nice biscuits etc Unfortunately we used half the towels to soak up the water from the leaking shower which didn't seem to like distributing hot water - my partner had to fix the toilet tank twice so it would flush.
There was frost on the inside of the unheated bathroom/toilet room and the radiator didn't work properly in the bedroom. To top it all the carpet was the kind that you wouldn't want to walk barefoot on and having tried to put some clothes in the wardrobe the door fell off!!
The breakfast which was the only part we ended up paying for was good!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank travellertrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I went for lunch with a party of 18, having ordered from the menu about a week before. Despite having prebooked we waited about an hour for the food to arrive. The food was underwhelming, with greasy limp chips. We were put in a "function room" from which all soft furnishing had been removed, turning it into an echo chamber, so that by the time the food arrived everyone was hoarse from trying to make themselves heard above the din. The waitress was doing her best but we received no apology or adequate explanation for the incredibly slow service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TollyLurcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed there last weekend while visiting family and the Sandringham Craft Fair. There were one or two blips but the staff went out of their way to solve any problem. Food very good, friendly atmosphere - we will go back when we visit Norfolk again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dersingham
3.1 mi away
The Ffolkes Hotel
The Ffolkes Hotel
#11 of 15 in King's Lynn
55 reviews
5.5 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
952 reviews
5.5 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
857 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,106 reviews
2.8 mi away
Queen Victoria Inn
Queen Victoria Inn
#1 of 3 in Snettisham
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers

Address: 71 Manor Road, Dersingham, King's Lynn PE31 6LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn > Dersingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dersingham
Price Range: $92 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century coaching inn with rooms above for bed and breakfast. We are sat on the edge of Sandringham estate and only ten minutes to the beach. Good pub food sourced locally with a nice selection of real ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Feathers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Feathers Dersingham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing